Accounting Standards
FASBOffers the full text precodification standards: FASB Staff Positions (FSPs), Emerging Issues Task Force (EITF), FASB Pronouncements including Statements of Accounting Standards (FAS), Statements of Financial Accounting Concepts (CON), FASB Interpretations (FIN), and FASB Technical Bulletins (FTB).
[
Details]
FASB Accounting Standards Codification Professional ViewStudent access to the professional view with enhanced search and cross reference features in managed by the Accounting Dept. Contact Linda Hauck (linda.hauck@villanova.edu or 610-519-8744) for the student user name and password.
"The Codification is the single source of authoritative nongovernmental U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (US GAAP). The Codification is effective for interim and annual periods ending after September 15, 2009. All previous level (a)-(d) US GAAP standards issued by a standard setter are superseded. Level (a)-(d) US GAAP refers to the previous accounting hierarchy. All other accounting literature not included in the Codification is nonauthoritative."
[
Details]
FASB GAAP CodificationRegister for access to the Basic view of FASB standards codification effective Sept 2009.
[
Details]
GASBSummary and status of GASB Statements, Concept Statements and Interpretations with full text of Exposure Drafts for comment.
[
Details]
International Accounting Standards BoardSummaries of Standards and Interpretations issued by the IASB available here.
[
Details]
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Public Company Accounting Oversight Board"The PCAOB is a private sector, non-profit corporation, created by the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 to oversee the auditors of public companies in order to protect the interests of investors and further the public interest in the preparation of informative, fair and independant audit reports."
[
Details]
RIA CheckpointRIA has federal, state and international tax codes, regulations, cases, and administrative rulings with explanations and commentary. [Individual registration required for Villanova Community Members, Contact the Research Support desk for assistance].
[
Details]
SECSecurities & Exchange Commission accounting releases include Staff Accounting Bulletins on disclosure for public companies, Accounting and Auditing Enforcement Releases (also called Litigation Releases).
[
Details]
The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)A resource dedicated to the accounting profession. Some features are restricted to members. Professional Resources tab provides links to the text of AICPA accounting and auditing standards as well as a wealth of additional professional information.
[
Details]
Articles
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)he most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[
Details]
Accounting & Tax Periodicals (ProQuest)Based on the Accountants' Index, this quintessential tool for professionals provides current accounting, taxation, and financial management information. National and international in scope, key publications focus on accounting policies and standards, state and national tax legislation, corporate and individual taxation, compensation and pension plans, and corporate financial management, as well as profiles of accounting firms, CPAs, and management consulting firms.
[
Details]
Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)Contains business magazines and scholarly journals for more than 510 publications back to 1995.
[
Details]
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Business Source Premier is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
[
Details]
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
RIA CheckpointRIA has federal, state and international tax codes, regulations, cases, and administrative rulings with explanations and commentary. [Individual registration required for Villanova Community Members, Contact the Research Support desk for assistance].
[
Details]
Books
Falvey Library CatalogThe Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
[
Details]
EBSCOHost eBooksA collection of current imprint digital books covering a wide range of subjects.
[
Details]
Business Expert PressApplied concise books on marketing, management, operations, accounting and managerial finance by experts for non-experts
[
Details]
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Dictionaries, etc.
Oxford Business ReferenceAccess to the definitions included in Dictionary of Accounting, Dictionary of Business, Dictionary of Economics, Dictionary of Finance and Banking, Dictionary of Human Resource Management and the Handbook of International Financial Terms.
[
Details]
Company and Industry
AuditAnalytics"Audit Analytics data includes detailed categorizations of issues and is considered be the best primary data source for tracking and analysis of public company disclosures related to the audit, compliance, and governance."
[
Details]
MarketLine Company ProfilesRecently rebranded from Datamonitor to MarketLine company reports cover both U.S. and foreign companies in a wide range of industries. Typically reports are 15-20 pages and provide a description of the business, company history, key personnel, products and services and competitors. Datamonitor industry reports are available from ReferenceUSA and OneSource
[
Details]
Frost & SullivanIndustry research, trends and economic analysis for energy, building, aerospace & defense, healthcare, electronics, communication technologies, chemicals and industrial processes sectors.
[
Details]
Global Market Information Database (Euromonitor)This resource is a database of demographic, economic, lifestyle, and consumer market information for over 350 markets and 207 countries. Statistics cover consumer lifestyles, retailing, and consumer market sizes and forecasts. The data includes 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. Lifestyle indicators for 71 countries, lifestyle reports for 65 countries, and country profiles for 250 countries are also included.
[
Details]
Hoover's Company Records (ProQuest)Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering public and non-public companies and key executives.
[
Details]
IBIS WorldU.S. and global industry market research reports.
[
Details]
ISI Emerging MarketsAggregator of company and industry reports for developing countries.
[
Details]
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Mergent OnlineProvides 15 years of detailed financial statements for international and U.S. companies. Enables customized viewing and output to retrieve company reports and financials into software applications such as Word, Excel or Adobe, and enables accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables. Also provides access industry and country profiles. LIMITED TO 4 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.
[
Details]
Mergent WebReportsFeatures the full text of all of
Mergent / Moody's Corporate Manuals from 1909 to the present. Once you enter the database select the option for "
Corporate Manuals" and begin your search.
[
Details]
Morningstar Investment Research CenterBest known for performance and financial data on mutual funds, Morningstar Investment Research Center is also a great source for company data and analyst reports.
[
Details]
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industry trends, corporate activities, and investments. For non-business students, the service includes a Financial Education section with tools for understanding personal finance.
[
Details]
ReferenceUSADirectory with US private and public company reports. Also includes household data.
[
Details]
UniworldAmerican Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
[
Details]
Value Line Investment SurveyDesigned to help investors analyze and select stocks by performing a broad range of functions including sorting, filtering (screening), graphing and reporting on individual stocks and groups of stocks.
[
Details]
Venture Capital & Private Equity FirmsDirectory of venture capital firms.
[
Details]
Laws
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
RIA CheckpointRIA has federal, state and international tax codes, regulations, cases, and administrative rulings with explanations and commentary. [Individual registration required for Villanova Community Members, Contact the Research Support desk for assistance].
[
Details]
Financial Statements
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios REF HF5681.R25 T68[
Details]
Annual Statement Studies REF HF5681.B2R6[
Details]
AuditAnalytics"Audit Analytics data includes detailed categorizations of issues and is considered be the best primary data source for tracking and analysis of public company disclosures related to the audit, compliance, and governance."
[
Details]
BizminerBizminer offers "Sole Proprietor and Start-Up" and "Industry Financial Reports" with average income statements, cash flows, balance sheet and financial ratios for benchmarking and projections for smaller private enterprises. It is searchable by keyword, SIC code or industry cluster.
[
Details]
D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios REF HF5681.R25 I533[
Details]
Mergent OnlineProvides 15 years of detailed financial statements for international and U.S. companies. Enables customized viewing and output to retrieve company reports and financials into software applications such as Word, Excel or Adobe, and enables accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables. Also provides access industry and country profiles. LIMITED TO 4 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.
[
Details]
Morningstar Investment Research CenterBest known for performance and financial data on mutual funds, Morningstar Investment Research Center is also a great source for company data and analyst reports.
[
Details]
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industry trends, corporate activities, and investments. For non-business students, the service includes a Financial Education section with tools for understanding personal finance.
[
Details]
International
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)Commerce Reports, Country Reports, Country Profiles (last published in 2008) and Market Indicators and Forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit offer monthly and annual in depth analysis, data and ratings for the infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns for over 200 countries.
[
Details]
IAS PlusFrom Deloitte & Touche, a rich collection of current studies and guides to International Financial Reporting Standards issues.
[
Details]
International Accounting Standards BoardSummaries of Standards and Interpretations issued by the IASB available here.
[
Details]
Videos
Last Modified: Thursday, September 13th, 2012