Books
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
ProceedingsFirst (OCLC)Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Articles
JSTORA searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
[
Details]
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to articles from over 3000 journals and series published internationally, as well as monographs, collections, and various types of reference works.
MLA Directory of Periodicals [
Details]
Project MuseSearchable collection of recent full-text humanities, social science and mathematics journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
[
Details]
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)Provides citations to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
[
Details]
PAIS International (ProQuest)The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
[
Details]
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[
Details]
American Periodicals Series - APS Online (ProQuest)Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
[
Details]
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[
Details]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
[
Details]
NewspapersNewspaper articles are often a good source of primary information on historical events in Africa, especially in reference to nations on the Western side of the Cold War.
[
Details]
African RenewalAn online journal published by the UN.
[
Details]
African Journal on Conflict Resolution"In launching a new academic journal focusing on conflict transformation in Africa in 1999, ACCORD [African Centre for the Constructive Resolution of Disputes] fulfilled a long-held ambition to contribute to the intellectual development of thinking, writing and dialogue in the field of conflict management on the continent of Africa. Articles are longer and more in depth than those found in Conflict Trends, and of an overtly academic nature. However, readership is not limited to academic institutions, and literary style has deliberately been kept accessible and straightforward."
[
Details]
African Population Studies"Etude de la Population Africaine/African Population Studies is a bilingual journal (French and English) published two times a year in April and October by the Union for African Population Studies. It publishes dependable and timely information emanating from original research on African population, development and related fields."
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
America: History and Life (Ebsco)A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
[
Details]
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)An annotated reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes journal articles, book reviews and dissertations.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
Emerald Journal Database (Emerald) [Full-text journal articles on management and economics. This database can also be searched. Villanova subscribes to a portion of the journals offered full-text in Emerald
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of the African diaspora origins, experiences, and culturePresents knowledge about who African Diaspora peoples are and where they live; tries to understand the kinds of cultural transformations they have engaged in; to document their leading ideas; and to provide future researchers with information that can lead to further inquiry.
[
Details]
Newspapers
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Philadelphia InquirerContains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
[
Details]
African American Newspapers: The 19th CenturyIncludes the complete text of major 19th century African American newspapers such as
The Christian Recorder (1861-1902)
, Freedom's Journal (1827-1829)
, The North Star (1847-1851), and
Frederick Douglass' Paper (1851-1863).
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[
Details]
Web Sites
Africa Water AtlasPublished by United Nations Environment Programme, 2010.
AfricaBib.orgAfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over thirty years of Africana research.The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database) and African Women's literature (African Women Bibliographic Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa Bibliographic Database).
AfricaFocusThe heart of the website consists of issues of the AfricaFocus Bulletin. The site also features convenient regularly updated news feeds from the BBC's Africa service and AllAfrica.com
AfricaMap-BetaAn open source web mapping system that is currently under construction. It is built to assist academic research and teaching as well as the general public and supports discovery, investigation, analysis, visualization, communication and archiving of multi-disciplinary, multi-source and multi-format data, organized spatially and temporally.
African Journals Online - AJOL"AJOL is a database of journals published in Africa, covering the full range of academic disciplines. The objective of AJOL is to give greater visibility to the participating journals, and to the research they convey." Journals are scholarly in content and peer reviewed.
African UnionHomepage of the AU, this contains current topics of research and importance to Africa and to those nations involved in Africa.
AfrobarometerThe Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa. Afrobarometer surveys are conducted in more that a dozen African countries and are repeated on a regular cycle.
Amnesty InternationalThe library tab offers AI reports on various countries and themes.
CIA - The World FactbookThe online Factbook is updated bi-weekly.
The U.S. government’s complete geographical handbook, featuring full-color maps and flags of all nations and geographical entities. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. (Bartleby.com)
Doctors Without BordersMSF(medecins sans frontieres)features a country search and information about the agency's activities in Africa and around the globe.
Foreign Governments Resource Page -University of MichiganA quick way to find official government websites for countries around the world, including Africa.
HRR FoundationHotel Rwanda Rusesabagina Foundation works to find aid for orphan's of Rwanda's 1994 genocide and it's aftermath.
Human Rights WatchReporting on the alleged and actual human rights violations taking place around the world. You can search by country or region.
International Maritime Bureau (IMB) Piracy Reporting CentreA specialized division of the International Chamber Of Commerce (ICC), IMB was created in 1992. One of the IMB’s principal areas of expertise is in the suppression of piracy. The Centre is based in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It maintains a round-the-clock watch on the world’s shipping lanes, reporting pirate attacks to local law enforcement and issuing warnings about piracy hotspots to shipping. The IMB is a non-profit making organisation, established in 1981 to act as a focal point in the fight against all types of maritime crime and malpractice.
International Monetary FundPublications of the IMF are available from their website.
New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD)"The NEPAD strategic framework document arises from a mandate given to the five initiating Heads of State (Algeria, Egypt, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa) by the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) to develop an integrated socio-economic development framework for Africa. The 37th Summit of the OAU in July 2001 formally adopted the strategic framework document."
Nordic Africa InstituteAn Uppsala, Sweden based center for research, documentation and information on modern Africa in the Nordic region.
Observatoire de l'AfriqueFormed in 2007, it is a network of European and African institutes and experts on peace and security issues in Africa. It is open to ad-hoc collaboration with other organizations. The ambition of the ‘Observatoire de l’Afrique’ is to promote open and constructive dialogue and debate, and to provide useful analysis to a wide range of policy makers.
Religion in AfricaThis is a page of links maintained by Stanford University
Sustainable AfricaA digital-commons project of the AllAfrica Foundation with support from Rockefeller Foundation and Carnegie Corporation of New York.
UN Development Millennium Goals"The eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) – which range from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions. They have galvanized unprecedented efforts to meet the needs of the world’s poorest."
UN Economic Commission for AfricaIncludes publications on HIV/AIDS, sustainable development, trade, and social policy analysis.
US Department of State - African AffairsCurrent and historical data on the U.S. African Relations.
USAID - Sub Saharan AfricaUSAID's page on the charitible efforts made toward Africa's Sub-Saharan regions.
Vital Climate Graphics Africa - UNEPFrom the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), organizing and transforming available environmental data into credible, science-based information products, delivered through innovative communication tools and capacity-building services targeting relevant stakeholders.
Voice of the Shuttlemeta site
Volunteering in Sierra LeoneA friend of mine is doing volunteer work in Freetown, Sierra Leone. This is his blog. Villanova University, Falvey Memorial Library, and myself take no responsibility for whatever he happens to post.
World BankOf particular interest are the tabs for "countries" and for "data and research".
World Food Programme (UN)Contains information on how the UN delivers food to particular areas and under particular conditions. Plenty of development issues relating to hunger are covered in a myriad of .pdf reports available here.
Statistics
Biographies
Biography in Context (Gale)A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people from around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas and throughout history. Access to more than 330,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles available from more than 250 magazines as well as more than 20,000 images, and in-depth coverage of key events.
[
Details]
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale)Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works, that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
[
Details]
American National Biography OnlineBiographical resource on more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. All articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of World Biography (Gale)Includes entries of approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.
[
Details]
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)Includes full-text profiles of persons, living and deceased, and prominent in many professions including literature, art, music, film, politics, education and history. The up-to-date bibliographies include links to book and articles about the person and in some citations there is a photograph of the person.
[
Details]
Databases
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural Online Access)Provides book and article citations to agricultural literature
. Some links to full-text documents online. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
[
Details]
African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)The database provides students, scholars and librarians with online access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, AASC features the new
Encyclopedia of African American History: 1619-1895,
Black Women in America, the highly acclaimed
Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience, and the
African American National Biography project (estimated at 8 volumes). In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the
Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature and selected articles from other reference works.
[
Details]
AgEconAgEcon Search is a free-to-user Web site that contains the full text of working papers, conference papers and journal articles in applied economics, including the subtopics of agricultural, consumer, energy, environmental, and resource economics. Contributors include academic institutions, government agencies, professional associations, and non-government organizations. AgEcon Search is maintained at the University of Minnesota by the Dept. of Applied Economics and University Libraries, and the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association is also a main sponsor.
[
Details]
CQ Electronic Library (CQ Press)Combines many CQ Press resources for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Access is provided to Congress and the Nation (1945-2004), Historic Documents Series (1972 -), Political Handbook of the World, Supreme Court Yearbook (1989 -), Vital Statistics on American Politics and the Washington Information Directory.
[
Details]
CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is based on a common structure: overview, background, current situation, pro/con section, special focus, chronology, bibliography and next step.
[
Details]
Global Financial DataGlobal Financial Data features historical data on worldwide stock exchanges, bond indices,intraday data, futures data,interest rates, population data, and much more, there are currently 20,000 data sets available. All data is clearly defined, easy to read, and is readily downloadable into Excel.
[
Details]
Global Market Information Database (Euromonitor)This resource is a database of demographic, economic, lifestyle, and consumer market information for over 350 markets and 207 countries. Statistics cover consumer lifestyles, retailing, and consumer market sizes and forecasts. The data includes 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. Lifestyle indicators for 71 countries, lifestyle reports for 65 countries, and country profiles for 250 countries are also included.
[
Details]
PAIS International (ProQuest)The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
[
Details]
Last Modified: Thursday, May 23rd, 2013