Books
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
ProceedingsFirst (OCLC)Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Oxford Islamic Studies OnlineOffers unrivaled online access to the history and culture of Islam and provides full-text access to great Oxford reference and scholarly works, including The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, two classic interpretations of the Qur'an, a Concordance of the Qur'an, and What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam.
[
Details]
Articles
ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)ATLA Religion Database is the leading international database indexing citations in all scholarly fields of religion. ATLA Religion Database includes over 350,000 article citations from 1,400 journals, over 150,000 essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and over 350,000 book review citations
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
America: History and Life (Ebsco)A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
[
Details]
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)-Selected Parts, Daily Report, 1974-1996To be released in eight parts, the collection, provides perspectives about more than 100 countries outside of the U.S, featuring transcripts of foreign news broadcasts translated into English from materials selected by the CIA for distribution to U.S. policymakers and security analysts. The first series of this historical archive features the Middle East, Africa (Sub-Saharan) and South Asia.
[
Details]
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)An annotated reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes journal articles, book reviews and dissertations.
[
Details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)This is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
[
Details]
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.
[
Details]
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to articles from over 3000 journals and series published internationally, as well as monographs, collections, and various types of reference works.
MLA Directory of Periodicals [
Details]
Mideast Wire.comA daily email newsletter offering a concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
[
Details]
Social Sciences Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from the journal literature in the physical and social sciences. Search by article title word, journal title, author, cited author or reference, or address word (e.g. author's institution). Coverage begins 1956 to present.
[
Details]
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
[
Details]
Newspapers
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
The Times Archives 1785-1985The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
[
Details]
ProQuest NewspapersIncludes coverage of 27 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.
[
Details]
Guardian.co.uk - UK National newspaperThe Guardian and Observer newspapers and guardian.co.uk website are published by Guardian News & Media (GNM).
[
Details]
Encyclopedias
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryProvides cross reference searching in encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research including arts, business, social sciences and sciences.
[
Details]
Oxford concise dictionary of world religions[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War IIThe Encyclopedia consists of three general categories: "Roots of War," eight essays outlining the major types of conflicts, "Cold War Confrontations," a general category of articles, Organizations, Alliances, Conventions, and Negotiations and a third category of articles about Organizations, Alliances, Conventions, and Negotiations of the international community dealing with threats to security, resolve conflicts, maintain peace, and punish war criminals. Includes
Biographical Thumbnails, Glossary and
Master Bibliography[
Details]
Encyclopedia of United States National SecurityThis interdisciplinary, two-volume encyclopedia is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to some of the more complicated and abstract questions concerning world politics and national security. including views about national security from historical, economic, political, and technological perspectives.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Ed.[
Details]
Shi'ite Encyclopediaby the Digital Islamic Library Project
[
Details]
Islam and Islamic Study ResourcesInformation for the study of Islam, Qur'an, hadith, the Sunnah, Shi'ism and Heterodox Movements Sufism, Islam in the modern world, militant Islam, jihad, Islamist or extremist Muslims, and terrorism, Islam in Iraq, Muslim women, Islamic art, architecture, music, as well as Islamic history, theology, philosophy, and Arabic and other Islamic languages such as Persian, and religion in general.
[
Details]
Oxford Islamic Studies OnlineOffers unrivaled online access to the history and culture of Islam and provides full-text access to great Oxford reference and scholarly works, including The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, two classic interpretations of the Qur'an, a Concordance of the Qur'an, and What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam.
[
Details]
Oxford Dictionary of Islam[
Details]
News
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
ProQuest NewspapersIncludes coverage of 27 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.
[
Details]
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[
Details]
Mideast Wire.comA daily email newsletter offering a concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
[
Details]
BBC World ServiceProvides international news, analysis and information in English and 32 other languages. Also includes a BBC "
News and analysis in your language" section.
[
Details]
Middle East WireThis resource has been moved to the "articles" tab on this same subject page.
[
Details]
Al Jazeera - AJE24-hour English-language news and current affairs TV channel headquartered in Doha, Qatar. The station broadcasts news features and analysis, documentaries, live debates, current affairs, business, technology, and sports. The channel aims to provide both a regional voice and a global perspective to a potential world audience of over one billion English speakers who don't have an Anglo-American worldview.
[
Details]
AlarabiyaThe Arabic-language version of AlArabiya.net came into being on February 21, 2004. The English news website was launched in August 2007. Versions in Farsi and Urdu followed in March 2008. AlArabiya.net aspires to be the most reliable source of news and analysis about the Middle East catering to readers all over the world.
[
Details]
Guardian.co.uk - UK National newspaperThe Guardian and Observer newspapers and guardian.co.uk website are published by Guardian News & Media (GNM).
[
Details]
Arabic Media Internet Network (AMIN)Arabic Media Internet Network (AMIN) is a Palestinian non-profit organization founded in Jerusalem in 1996, striving for the development of the independent and public media sector in Palestine.[
Details]
Asharq Alawsat - The Leading Arab International DailyAsharq Al-Awsat is the world's premier pan-Arab daily newspaper, Printed simultaneously on four continents in 12 cities.
[
Details]
Web Sites
A Global Guide to Islamic ArtSponsored by Saudi Aramco World magazine - a bi-monthly magazine to increase cross-cultural understanding and broaden knowledge of the cultures, history and geography of the Arab and Muslim worlds and their connections with the West.
[
Details]
Amnesty InternationalThe library tab offers AI reports on various countries and themes.
[
Details]
Ancient MesopotamiaA resource from the University of Chicago.
[
Details]
Arab Cultural Trustal-hakawati is the Arabic word for “the storyteller”. al-hakawati Arab Cultural Trust is an independent non-profit educational organization, registered in May 2006. Management and staff are located in Beirut, Lebanon, and New Jersey, USA. al-hakawati is a free educational resource and reference, made possible by the Arab Cultural Trust. The content of al-hakawati covers the 22 Arab states, members of the Arab League. The content is arranged thematically in ten sections, each with several subsections. New entries are regularly added.
[
Details]
Archive of 2011 Egyptian RevolutionArchive of news coverage, images, videos, blogs, and more on the 2011 protests in Egypt in conjunction with the American University in Cairo and Archive-It.org.
[
Details]
Archive of Jasmine Revolution - Tunisia 2011This collection consists of websites documenting the revolution in Tunisia in 2011. Our partners at Library of Congress and Bibliothèque Nationale de France have contributed websites for this collection, and the sites are primarily in French and Arabic with some in English.
[
Details]
Archive of North Africa & the Middle East 2011Archive of events in Northern Africa and the Middle East in 2011 after the Tunisian uprising. Content includes blogs, social media and news sites about Egypt, Yemen, Sudan and other African countries. These sites contain content in Arabic, English, and French.
[
Details]
Catholic Relief ServicesCatholic Relief Services carries out the commitment of the Bishops of the United States to assist the poor and vulnerable overseas.[
Details]
David Collection (museum)This museum in Denmark, houses works of art divided into 20 sections according to specific epochs and dynasties and according to different geographic regions. Each of the 20 sections provides a historical introduction, a map, a selection of works of art, coins, and architecture.
[
Details]
Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative (ECAI) - IRAQECAI IRAQ is a temporal-spatial portal into existing digital resources about history, cultural sites, archaeological excavations and heritage preservation initiatives. Users can access these information sources using interactive, time-enabled thematic maps.
[
Details]
Gulf Center Research (GRC)The Gulf Research Center (GRC) operates on an independent, not-for-profit basis and conducts scholarly, high quality, social sciences research about the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), a political and economic union of the Arab states bordering the Persian Gulf and located on or near the Arabian Peninsula. GCC members include Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and United Arab Emirates.
[
Details]
HAMSA - Martin Luther King and the Montgomery StoryMartin Luther King and the Montgomery Story in Arabic, English and Farsi
[
Details]
ImHalal - Islamic search engine that filters out haramThe ImHalal service works like any other search facility until potentially illicit words are entered, when it rates the search from one to three on its risk of generating “haram” or forbidden material.
[
Details]
International Monetary FundPublications of the IMF are available from their website.
[
Details]
Internet Islamic History Sourcebookvia Fordham University
[
Details]
Islamic Calendar Date Converter[
Details]
Islamic Heritage Project - Harvard University LibraryThrough the Islamic Heritage Project (IHP), Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard’s renowned library and museum collections. These rare—and frequently unique—materials are now freely available to Internet users worldwide. Online materials date from the 10th to the 20th centuries CE. IHP is made possible with the generous support of Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal.
[
Details]
Islamic Manuscripts at MichiganOngoing project to fully catalogue the Islamic Manuscripts Collection at the University Of Michigan, Ann Arbor. The site invites visitors to examine the digitized manuscripts and compare the results of one's analysis against the existing descriptive information and offer to supply enhancements or corrections for the manuscript.
[
Details]
Middle East Studies - Internet Resources - Islamvia Columbia University Libraries
[
Details]
MuslimHeritage.comOnline education community of Muslims and non-Muslims seeking to advance human civilisation through the study of Muslim heritage. The website contains more than 1000 peer-reviewed articles, hundreds of short reports on news and events related to Muslim heritage research, and an interactive map and timeline.
[
Details]
PSC1900 Resource GuideA collection of resources presented to the PSC1900 Research Seminar on Lebanon.
[
Details]
Persian Studies - Links and ResourcesFrom the Persian Studies program at the University of Maryland
[
Details]
Pew Global Attitudes ProjectThe
Pew Research Center’s Global Attitudes Project conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. Nearly 300,000 interviews in 59 countries have been conducted as part of the project’s work.
[
Details]
Princeton Digital Library of Islamic ManuscriptsTextual manuscripts are predominant. The manuscripts are chiefly in Arabic but also include Persian, Ottoman Turkish, and other languages of the Islamic world. They date from the early centuries of Islam through the fall of the Ottoman Empire. Most of the manuscripts originated in Arabia, Egypt, Syria, Iraq, Iran, and other main centers of Islamic civilization. But there are examples from Moorish Spain and the Maghreb in the West, to the Indian sub-continent and the Indonesian archipelago in the East, and even sub-Sahara Africa.
[
Details]
Princeton Shahnama ProjectThis website is an archive of book paintings--commonly known as Persian Miniatures--that were created to illustrate scenes from the Persian national epic, the Shahnama (the Book of Kings). The core of this archive is a fund of 277 illustrations from five illustrated manuscripts of the Shahnama. The Shahnama is a poem of some 50,000 couplets that was composed by Abu'l Qasim Firdausi over a period of several decades in the late tenth and early eleventh centuries.
[
Details]
Resources in Islamic Studiesvia CDEISI
[
Details]
Sufism, Sufis and Sufi Ordersvia University of Georgia
[
Details]
Timeline of Iranian History in the TwentiethFrom the Roshan Center for Persian Studies in the School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures (SLLC) at University of Maryland.
[
Details]
Water Resources in the Middle East: a bibliographyThis bibliography is a selective listing of books and journal articles concerned with the issue of Water Resources in the Middle East. The bibliography covers works published from 1993 to the present and is limited to the two working languages of the United Nations, English and French.
[
Details]
Blogs
IrtiqaTracks and comments on news relevant to the interplay of science & religion - including scientific debates taking place in the Muslim world.
[
Details]
Music
Art
Associations
Middle East Studies Association (MESA)The Middle East Studies Association (MESA) is a non-political association that fosters the study of the Middle East, promotes high standards of scholarship and teaching, and encourages public understanding of the region and its peoples through programs, publications and services that enhance education, further intellectual exchange, recognize professional distinction, and defend academic freedom.
[
Details]
The Islamic Manuscript AssociationThe Association is an international non-profit organisation dedicated to protecting Islamic manuscript collections and supporting those who work with them. It was formed in response to the urgent need to address the poor preservation and inaccessibility of many Islamic manuscript collections around the world.
[
Details]
Bibliographies
Islam in Sub-Saharan Africa -a bibliographyA bibliography containing over 4,300 references to secondary literature in European languages about Islam in contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa, that is from around 1960 to 2005. Many of the entries also have abstracts.
[
Details]
Water Resources in the Middle East: a bibliographyThis bibliography is a selective listing of books and journal articles concerned with the issue of Water Resources in the Middle East. The bibliography covers works published from 1993 to the present and is limited to the two working languages of the United Nations, English and French.
[
Details]
Museums
International
World Legal InformationThe World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) is a free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility developed collaboratively by the following Legal Information Institutes and other organisations: Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII); British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII);
Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII);
Hong Kong Legal Information Institute (HKLII);
Legal Information Institute (Cornell) (LII (Cornell));
Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (PacLII);
Wits University School of Law (Wits Law School).
[
Details]
Last Modified: Tuesday, January 8th, 2013