Books
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
Women Writers Project [1400-1850]Full-text pre 1850 women's writing in English, or in English translation. Covers various genres and issues.
[
Details]
Library CatalogThe Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
[
Details]
Cambridge Histories OnlineCambridge Histories Online brings the familiar and well respected history reference works from Cambridge University Press to your desktop. This new digital collection includes 250 histories published since 1960. Among the titles currently available online are the Cambridge History of the Bible (3 vols.), the Cambridge Ancient History (19 vols.), the Cambridge History of the English Language (6 vols.) and the New Cambridge Modern History (14 vols.) to name but a few.
[
Details]
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and CultureThe Cambridge Companions series offers specially-commissioned collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists. Addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism, this online collection contains over 1100 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 100 volumes. Each volume also includes a substantial bibliography and other elements such as glossaries and timelines.
[
Details]
Past Masters (Intelex)Contains full-text of scholarly editions of many philosophers, theologians and literary writers: Anselm, Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine, Austen, Chesterton, Descartes, Dewey, Feuerbach, Fichte, Foucault, Francis of Assisi, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Kierkegaard, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Marx and Engels, Merleau-Ponty, Newman, Nietzsche, Ockham, Pascal, Pierce, Plato, Poinsot, Royce, Santayana, Schopenhauer, Shelley, Spinoza, Synge, Wittgenstein and Wollestonecraf, as well as collections for British Philosophy 1600-1900, The Continental Rationalists, The Latin Background: 1100-1550, and The Romantic Age.
[
Details]
Articles
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to articles from over 3000 journals and series published internationally, as well as monographs, collections, and various types of reference works.
MLA Directory of Periodicals [
Details]
Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews in 37 languages. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 1,400 journals from more than 80 countries and is updated quarterly. Extensive indexing includes personal and proper names along with subject terms; there is also the capability to search for the authors of book reviews.
[
Details]
ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)ATLA Religion Database is the leading international database indexing citations in all scholarly fields of religion. ATLA Religion Database includes over 350,000 article citations from 1,400 journals, over 150,000 essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and over 350,000 book review citations
[
Details]
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
Primary Sources
Early English Books Online (EEBO)Full-text page images of over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, and Thomason Tracts which cover titles printed in English between 1473-1700. For searchable text of selected titles see Early English Books Online -Text Creation Partnership
[
Details]
Women Writers Project [1400-1850]Full-text pre 1850 women's writing in English, or in English translation. Covers various genres and issues.
[
Details]
Past Masters (Intelex)Contains full-text of scholarly editions of many philosophers, theologians and literary writers: Anselm, Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine, Austen, Chesterton, Descartes, Dewey, Feuerbach, Fichte, Foucault, Francis of Assisi, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Kierkegaard, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Marx and Engels, Merleau-Ponty, Newman, Nietzsche, Ockham, Pascal, Pierce, Plato, Poinsot, Royce, Santayana, Schopenhauer, Shelley, Spinoza, Synge, Wittgenstein and Wollestonecraf, as well as collections for British Philosophy 1600-1900, The Continental Rationalists, The Latin Background: 1100-1550, and The Romantic Age.
[
Details]
Biographies
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography OnlineA reference work providing 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.
[
Details]
Literature Resource Center (Gale)Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors.In-depth coverage of the most studied authors. Cross searching capability between LRC and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
[
Details]
American National Biography OnlineBiographical resource on more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. All articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of World Biography (Gale)Includes entries of approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.
[
Details]
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)Includes full-text profiles of persons, living and deceased, and prominent in many professions including literature, art, music, film, politics, education and history. The up-to-date bibliographies include links to book and articles about the person and in some citations there is a photograph of the person.
[
Details]
Style Guides
Encyclopedias
Oxford English DictionaryThe world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150. Based on the 1989 2nd edition, a 20-volume set, with additions from 1993-1997 and the 3rd edition (in progress) from 2000-. Approximately 1,000 new and revised entries will be released quarterly online.
[
Details]
Literature Resource Center (Gale)Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors.In-depth coverage of the most studied authors. Cross searching capability between LRC and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of ReligionProvides cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. This new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries updated as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.
[
Details]
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas[
Details]
Augustine Through the Ages: An Encyclopedia1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
All Things Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia of Shakespeare's World2 volumes
4th floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Shakespeare's Work and World: An Encyclopedia for Students3 volumes
4th floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the BibleAvailable online and in print
2nd floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology[
Details]
New Catholic EncyclopediaA scholarly presentation of persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities. This work covers topics such as abortion, divorce, cloning, and reproductive technologies.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Philosophy 2nd ed.The Encyclopedia contains more than 2,100 entries including 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought throughout history.. Among the many topics covered are African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more.
[
Details]
Course Resources
Last Modified: Tuesday, January 17th, 2012