Article Databases
Web of KnowledgeSearch Web of Science, Biological Abstracts, Medline, and Zoological Record through a combined interface.
[
Details]
PubMedPubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Click for downloadable instructions.[
Details]
Biological Abstracts (Thomson Scientific / ISI Web Services)Biological Abstracts is a comprehensive database that directs you to information covered in life sciences journals. Coverage begins 1969 to present.
[
Details]
Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Allows searching of articles based on citations and cited references.
[
Details]
Animal Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)Provides a survey of all important journals dealing with the biology of particular taxonomic groups. Significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology, are covered.
[
Details]
AGRICOLA -(AGRICultural OnLine Access)Provides book and article citations to agricultural literature. Some links to full-text documents online.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
[
Details]
Google ScholarFor information about showing links to full text (FindIt button) and exporting to RefWorks and EndNote from Google Scholar please see our
Google Scholar topic guide[
Details]
Zoological Record (Thomson Scientific / ISI Web Services)Animal biology and biodiversity research literature.
[
Details]
ScopusProvides abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals in all major disciplines. Covers nearly 18,000 titles from over 5,000 international publishers, including coverage of 16,500 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences (including arts and humanities).
[
Details]
Background Information
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
OmniFile Full Text Mega (EBSCO)Provides indexing, abstracting, and selected full text to the Wilson databases for Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, and the Social Sciences. Also includes selected full text to the Wilson databases for Art, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science.
[
Details]
Dictionaries, etc.
Encyclopedias
Course Resources
E Books
Plant SciencesA comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of plant sciences, from forensic botany to genetic engineering, from wheat to kudzu. Includes articles on careers related to plant sciences and important individuals, as well as topics from acid rain to wood products. Amply illustrated with full-color photos and line drawings. A glossary illuminates scientific terms.
[
Details]
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North AmericaPresents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.
[
Details]
GeneticsA comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of genetics, from Mendel to the decoding of the human genome. Explains the workings of genes and chromosomes, genetic diseases, and biotechnology. Also covers the ethical, legal, and social issues connected to genetic science. Includes full-color photos and line drawings, a glossary of scientific terms, and coverage of careers in the field.
[
Details]
Oxford Companion to the BodyThe Oxford Companion to the Body is a fascinating and authoritative guide to every aspect of the body. It provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them. Interwoven with this coverage of the science of the body, are entertaining and informative articles on social and religious attitudes to the body, and its significance for artists, philosophers and writers.
[
Details]
World of Microbiology and ImmunologyAn encyclopedic guide to concepts, theories, discoveries and pioneers in the fields of microbiology and immunology, for students and other researchers. Addresses current ethical, legal and social issues with special emphasis given to biological warfare and terrorism. Topical and biographical entries are alphabetically arranged and cross-referenced. Includes photographs and illustrations.
[
Details]
Images
AP Images (AP)The Associated Press, is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP's mission is to be the essential global news network, providing distinctive news services of the highest quality, reliability and objectivity with reports that are accurate, balanced and informed. For more than a century, AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment.
[
Details]
CDC Public Health Image LibraryCreated by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. We welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.
[
Details]
Wikimedia CommonsWikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language.
[
Details]
Journal Collections
BioOneBioOne is a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals.
[
Details]
General Science Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes articles from U.S and British publications on anthropology, astronomy, biology, computers, earth sciences, medicine and health, etc. Includes articles, reviews, biographical sketches and letters to the editor.
[
Details]
IngentaConnectA comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service. Table of contents to more than 28,000 publications (6000 are full-text). Years of coverage vary with the journal. Includes publications in all major disciplines; especially strong in the sciences and social sciences. Online access to the journals to which Falvey Library subscribes is free. Register only if you want to set up a Table of Contents (TOC) alert or to save your searches.
[
Details]
JSTORA searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
[
Details]
ScienceDirectProvides citations and abstracts of articles in over 1800 journals (mainly scientific, technical and medical). Full-text is available only to the 327 titles to which Villanova University subscribes.
[
Details]
Research Tools
EndNoteEndNote citation management software. Collect and organize citations and use integrated tools to incorporate citations into Word documents
[
Details]
EndNote WebThe syncable online version of the popular EndNote reference management software.
[
Details]
RefWorksNever type a bibliography again! RefWorks will help you easily gather, manage, and store bibliographic citations for all types of information, as well as generate footnotes and bibliographies.
[
Details]
Council of Science Editors Name-Year Sequence[
Details]
Last Modified: Tuesday, April 9th, 2013