FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY



You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Business Databases

Business Databases

Jump To


 Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[Details]

Accounting & Tax Periodicals (ProQuest)
Based on the Accountants' Index, this quintessential tool for professionals provides current accounting, taxation, and financial management information. National and international in scope, key publications focus on accounting policies and standards, state and national tax legislation, corporate and individual taxation, compensation and pension plans, and corporate financial management, as well as profiles of accounting firms, CPAs, and management consulting firms.
[Details]

Advertising Age Datacenter
News, reports and statistics about the advertising industry
[Details]

Advertising Redbooks

The Advertising REDBOOKS online database provides current detailed data on advertising agencies, advertiser profiles for companies with estimated spend and contact information for personnel.



[Details]

Alibaba.com
A database of suppliers, Alibaba.com is one of the world's largest marketplace for global trade and is the leading provider of online marketing services for importers and exporters and a destination for buyers and sellers to find trade opportunities and promote their businesses online. Please identify yourself as a student whenever requesting price quotes. Alibaba.com offers free user registration but this information is not required in order to request a quote. Limited contact information is required of those asking for prices so feel free to use the library's contact information instead of your own.
[Details]

Audit Analytics
Audit Analytics data includes detailed categorizations of issues and is considered be the best primary data source for tracking and analysis of public company disclosures related to the audit, compliance, and governance.
[Details]

Banking Information Source (ProQuest)
Search essential banking industry publications providing information about the financial services industry, banking, and industry trends.
[Details]

Better Business Bureau (BBB) Information System
This free database provides reliability reports for North American companies.
[Details]

BizMiner
BizMiner offers "Sole Proprietor and Start-Up" and "Industry Financial Reports" with average income statements, cash flows, balance sheet and financial ratios for benchmarking and projections for smaller private enterprises. Offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. It is searchable by keyword, SIC code or industry cluster.
[Details]

Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)
Contains business magazines and scholarly journals for more than 510 publications back to 1995.
[Details]

Business Expert Press
Applied concise ebooks on marketing, management, operations, accounting and managerial finance by experts for non-experts
[Details]

Business Regional News (Ebscohost)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
[Details]

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Business Source Premier is a full-text, scholarly and trade article database covering a wide range of topics including management, marketing, accounting, finance, economics, international business, operations management and management information systems.
[Details]

CQ Researcher (SAGE)
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is based on a common structure: overview, background, current situation, pro/con section, special focus, chronology, bibliography and next step.
[Details]

Cabell’s Directories of Publishing Opportunities
Provides the publishing guidelines of journals in the following areas: accounting, management, marketing, educational curriculum and methods, educational psychology and administration, and psychology. Includes address for submission, review information (such as type of review, acceptance rate) and type of articles (current issues, literature reviews, etc.).
[Details]

Canadian Business & Current Affairs - CBCA - Complete (ProQuest)
This product includes all the content present in the Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) databases. Information is present from all areas including: current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles, all with a Canadian focus. Full text is available within these areas. CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in Canada.
[Details]

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles; furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
[Details]

Computer Science Index (EBSCO)
Covers computer science at the highest scholarly and technical levels. Subjects areas include artificial intelligence, expert systems, system design, data structures, computer theory, computer systems and architecture, software engineering, human-computer interaction, new technologies, social and professional context, and much more.
[Details]

Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio
Economic indicator datasets and global macroeconomic time series for economists.  Quality reports, interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for he management and HRD professionals.
[Details]

Congressional Publications (ProQuest)
Provides access to every facet of U.S. Legislative activity: hearings transcripts and submitted testimony, committee reports, bills, public laws, congressional member public interest group ratings, selected committee prints, congressional documents, the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the U.S. Code.
[Details]

Data-Planet
Search and browse for datasets on topics ranging from banking to criminal justice to economic indicators to health to labor to natural resources and transportation gleaned from government agencies, private exchanges and international organizations. Statistical Datasets supports customized graphing, mapping and even some common statistical functions.
[Details]

EDGAR
EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval service for SEC filings is free and available to the public.
[Details]

EconLibrary
An online database that contains over 500,000 bibliographic references from 500 leading journals of accounting, economics and finance. EconLibrary's bibliographic references can be rapidly searched by author, keyword in title, journal or year, or combinations using the databases' Boolean logic searches." Falvey subscribes to the combined Economics Literature Database.
[Details]

EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, working papers and dissertations from 1969 to present based on the Journal of Economic Literature's subject classification and supported by the American Economic Association (AEA). This enhanced version of EconLit includes the full text of all AEA journals and roughly 600 other scholarly journals.
[Details]

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Commerce Reports, Country Reports and Market Indicators and Forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit offer monthly and annual in depth analysis, data and ratings for the infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns for over 200 countries.
[Details]

Emerald Journal Database
Searchable database of full-text journal articles on management and economics. Villanova subscribes to a portion of the journals offered full-text in Emerald.
[Details]

Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) delivers deep, rich company and industry information, alongside the relevant news, research and analytics for developing markets.
[Details]

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[Details]

European Patent Office (from EI Village)
This database provides a full-text patent and mosaic image search of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), European Patent Office, and Patent Abstracts of Japan.
[Details]

FED in Print
Welcome to Fed in Print, the central catalog of publications of the US Federal Reserve System.
[Details]

Financial Times
The distinctively salmon colored UK based Financial Times is recognized as a leading source for global business news.  The web edition provides access to the same outstanding reporting found in the print edition (available via ABI Inform and Lexis-Nexis) and also additionally has multimedia content, company tear sheets, interactive charting, and educational features such as a dictionary of financial terms, and recruitment tool.  For mobile access via iPad or iPhone visit app.ft.com.  For mobile access via Android devices visit m.ft.com.  Subscription courtesy of Villanova School of Business.  Register with your Villanova email address.
[Details]

Foundation Directory Online Professional
Excellent source for learning about non-profits via grant, grantmaker, company and 990 (non-profit tax form) searches.
[Details]

Gale Directory Library
Digital platform for Gale directories. Our holdings include Business Rankings Annual, Market Share Reporter, Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, Encyclopedia of Associations - National Organizations of the U.S., and Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media.
[Details]

Global Financial Data
Global Financial Data features historical data on worldwide stock exchanges, bond indices, intraday data, futures data, interest rates, population data, and much more. All data is clearly defined, easy to read, and readily downloadable into Excel.
[Details]

Global New Products Database (Mintel)
Global New Products Database (GNPD) monitors new product activity in consumer packaged goods markets worldwide.
[Details]

HeinOnline
General scholarly legal database with current U.S., foreign and international law, law review articles, legal classics and historical documents. Provides fully-searchable and image-based text of over 500 law journals, Supreme Court Reports, Treaties in Force, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1977-2003) and the Federal Register (1936-1994).
[Details]

Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest)
Features profiles of more than 40,000 companies. Database includes: company overview, history, officers and board members, competitors, products and operations, auditors, rankings, historical financials and much more. Hoover's in-depth company records available via Lexis-Nexis Academic. 
[Details]

IBIS World
U.S. and global industry market research reports.
[Details]

IEEE Xplore
Published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners, the IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content including journals, magazines, conference proceedings, technical standards, e-books, and educational courses. IEEE Xplore provides Web access to more than 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
[Details]

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) offers several time series and other types of aggregate data that consist mainly of raw data derived from surveys, censuses and administrative records. The data holdings contain studies and files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Click here for searching tips.
[Details]

JSTOR
A searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
[Details]

Journal Citation Reports [2004- ] (Web of Science)
Provides access to journal publication information for science and social science jourals, including information such as No. of Citations, Half-life,ic information and cited references from the
[Details]

Leadership Directory
[Details]

Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[Details]

MarketLine Company Profiles
Recently rebranded from Datamonitor to MarketLine company reports cover both U.S. and foreign companies in a wide range of industries. Typically reports are 15-20 pages and provide a description of the business, company history, key personnel, products and services and competitors. Datamonitor industry reports are available from ReferenceUSA and OneSource
[Details]

MarketResearch
Provides marketing reports for many industries and demographic reports on a variety of age groups. Documents are formatted as Adobe Acrobat or PowerPoint files.
[Details]

Mergent Online
Provides 15 years of detailed financial statements for international and U.S. companies. Enables customized viewing and output to retrieve company reports and financials into software applications such as Word, Excel or Adobe, and enables accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables. Also provides access industry and country profiles.  LIMITED TO 4 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.
[Details]

Mergent WebReports
Features the full text of all of Mergent / Moody's Corporate Manuals from 1909 to the present. Once you enter the database select the option for "Corporate Manuals" and begin your search. Access to current reports for 24 broadly defined industries. Portal for quick access to annual reports.
[Details]

Mintel Reports
Mintel's published market research has been helping leading businesses achieve their goals for over 30 years. As a globally recognised market analyst, Mintel produces hundreds of reports into European, UK-specific and US consumer markets every year. Each report that Mintel publishes provides a unique overview of a market's dynamics and prospects, giving you the knowledge to devise informed and profitable marketing strategy.
[Details]

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Best known for performance and financial data on mutual funds, Morningstar Investment Research Center is also a great source for company data and analyst reports.
[Details]

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)
Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industry trends, corporate activities, and investments. For non-business students, the service includes a Financial Education section with tools for understanding personal finance.
[Details]

New York Times Historical [Fulltext from 1851-1999]
New York Times reporters often covered news and happenings between the CIA and various African governments, especially during the Cold War era.
[Details]

OECD iLibrary
Full text access to all of the books, periodicals, statistics and working papers produced by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development since 1998. Statistics are available via pdf files or via interactive databases with downloadable Excel or comma delimited text. Metadata is easily accessible. Books, periodicals and working papers may be searched by title or subject fields or in full text. Browsing by publication type or thematic subject is also available. SourceOECD comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing all our monographs and reports; 24 periodicals; a reference title; and the OECD statistical databases.
[Details]

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
A reference work providing almost 60,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2009. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.
[Details]

Oxford English Dictionary
The world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150. Based on the 1989 2nd edition, a 20-volume set, with additions from 1993-1997 and the 3rd edition (in progress) from 2000-. Approximately 1,000 new and revised entries will be released quarterly online.
[Details]

PAISArchive [1915-1976]
Retrospective database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Provides selective subject and bibliographical access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and other English-language materials published around the world. Contains more than 700,000 records, originally published in the PAIS Bulletin, 1915-1976.
[Details]

Passport Euromonitor
Formerly the Global Market Information Database, this resource is a database of demographic, economic, lifestyle, and consumer market information for over 350 markets and 207 countries. Statistics cover consumer lifestyles, retailing, and consumer market sizes and forecasts. The data includes 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. Lifestyle indicators for 71 countries, lifestyle reports for 65 countries, and country profiles for 250 countries are also included.
[Details]

Pharmaceutical News Index (ProQuest)
Search the definitive database of pharmacological news, research, and regulatory information. Covers the most important specialized publications in the pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industries.
[Details]

Philadelphia Business Journal (American City Business Journals)
Searchable full text access to Philadelphia Business Journal and their Book of Lists with a 10 year archive of content.  With 39 additional cities covered in the Business Journals, this is a great source for intelligence about local business conditions and trends.
[Details]

Philadelphia Inquirer
Contains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
[Details]

Polling the Nations
The database includes 18,000 surveys and 600,000 questions on more than 7,000 topics. Scope is international, from the United States to more than 100 other countries.
[Details]

ProQuest Asian Business & Reference
Find the latest business and financial news from the Eastern Hemisphere. Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and many more.
[Details]

ProQuest Business Periodicals (ProQuest)
Simultaneously search all business & industry periodicals available through Proquest Central, including the ABI/Inform databases, concentrated publications on the pharmaceutical, banking, computing and telecommunications industries and Canadian, Asian and European business news.
[Details]

ProQuest Computing
Search top computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.
[Details]

ProQuest European Business
Find the latest European business and financial information. Includes quality resources such as The Economist, Fortune, European Business Journal, and many more.
[Details]

ProQuest Snapshot Series
The Snapshot International Series of reports is designed to provide an instant overview of a market, and the data is supplied in both graphical and tabular format for ease of interpretation and analysis.
[Details]

ProQuest Telecommunications
Search the full text of top telecommunications industry publications. Includes magazines, journals, and newsletters for the latest in this fast changing industry.
[Details]

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
[Details]

RIA Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters)
RIA has federal, state and international tax codes, regulations, cases, and administrative rulings with explanations and commentary. (Individual registration required for Villanova community members; contact the Information/Reference/Circulation Desks for assistance.)
[Details]

ReferenceUSA
Directory with US private and public company reports. Also includes household data.
[Details]

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
First-time users must register. The Roper Center has a large archive of public opinion information. It contains nearly 500,000 questions and responses from national public opinion surveys going back to 1935. Among the many survey sources are Gallup, Harris, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, ABC, CBS, CNN and NBC. The archive includes full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses using RoperExpress.
[Details]

SRDS (Kantar Media)
Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) media planners directories for consumer magazines, newspapers, and out of home advertising.
[Details]

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Provides citations and abstracts of articles in over 1800 journals (mainly scientific, technical and medical). Full-text is available only to the 327 titles to which Villanova University subscribes.
[Details]

Social Sciences Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)
Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from the journal literature in the physical and social sciences. Search by article title word, journal title, author, cited author or reference, or address word (e.g. author's institution). Coverage begins 1956 to present.
[Details]

Sports Business Research Network
Statistics, articles and reports on sporting goods, participation, fans and facilities.
[Details]

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Search
An official source, OSHA.gov, contains information on the United States Commerce Department Industry Classification.
[Details]

Statistical Insight (ProQuest)
Indexing and abstracting (with select full text from 2007) of statistical resources from U.S. state government, business and research institute statistical publications. Tables for U.S. government and business reports.
[Details]

ThomasNet Register of American Manufacturers
Contains directory information on United States Companies, Services, and Products. Falvey owns the print version of the Register. Ask for it at the Reference Desk.
[Details]

US Patent Full-text and Image Database
The database consists includes information about all US patents (including utility, design, reissue, plant patents and SIR documents) from the first patent issued in 1790 to the most recent issue week. Patents from January 1976 to the present offer the full searchable text, including all bibliographic data, such as the inventor's name, the patent's title, and the assignee's name; the abstract; the full description of the invention; and the claims. The display of each patent's full-text includes a hyperlink to obtain full-page images of each page of the patent. Information from Certificates of Correction and Reexaminations is not included in the full-text database per se, but can be found as pages attached to the full-page images of the original patent. Patents from 1790 to December 1975 offer only the patent number and the current US patent classification in the text display, and can be searched only by those fields. However, this limited text display also includes a hyperlink to obtain full-page images of each page of the patent.
[Details]

United States Patent and Trademark Office: Trademark database
The US Patent and Trademark Office Trademark Database contains the full bibliographic text of pending and registered trademarks.
[Details]

Uniworld
Search American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States directories.
[Details]

Value Line Investment Survey
Designed to help investors analyze and select stocks by performing a broad range of functions including sorting, filtering (screening), graphing and reporting on individual stocks and groups of stocks.
[Details]

Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms
Directory of venture capital firms.
[Details]

WARC
Case studies, news and data on global marketing and advertising.
[Details]

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
Access and registration approved by James Jablonski of the Finance Lab. Data research platform for AuditAnalytics, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CBOE, Option Metrics, Risk Metrics,  TAQ, TRACE, Thomson Reuters 13f and other business data sets.
[Details]

WorldCat (OCLC)
A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[Details]

ebrary
E-books covering a wide range of subjects.
[Details]

Linda Hauck is the subject librarian for Business Databases and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

lhauck Linda Hauck
Business Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 222
610-519-8744



 


Last Modified: Thursday, March 13th, 2014