FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY



You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Career Information

Career Information


 Books

Catalog
Keyword and subject searches in the Library's catalog are good starting points when first exploring a topic. Search results can be narrowed with facets such as topic, era, language or region. Facets are located on the right hand side of the results screen.
[Details]

WorldCat (OCLC)
A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[Details]

 Articles

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Business Source Premier is a full-text, scholarly and trade article database covering a wide range of topics including management, marketing, accounting, finance, economics, international business, operations management and management information systems.
[Details]

Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[Details]

ProQuest Business Periodicals (ProQuest)
Simultaneously search all business & industry periodicals available through Proquest Central, including the ABI/Inform databases, concentrated publications on the pharmaceutical, banking, computing and telecommunications industries and Canadian, Asian and European business news.
[Details]

Regional Business News (EBSCO)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 80 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
[Details]

 Employers and Industries

Career Center Library
Access all the online resources brought to you by the Villanova Career Center.
[Details]

CareerTV
View employer produced recruitment videos and career management instructional videos.
[Details]

Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[Details]

Mergent Online
Provides 15 years of detailed financial statements for international and U.S. companies. Enables customized viewing and output to retrieve company reports and financials into software applications such as Word, Excel or Adobe, and enables accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables. Also provides access industry and country profiles.  LIMITED TO 4 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.
[Details]

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Best known for performance and financial data on mutual funds, Morningstar Investment Research Center is also a great source for company data and analyst reports.
[Details]

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)
Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industry trends, corporate activities, and investments. For non-business students, the service includes a Financial Education section with tools for understanding personal finance.
[Details]

ReferenceUSA
Directory with US private and public company reports. Also includes household data.
[Details]

Value Line Investment Survey
Designed to help investors analyze and select stocks by performing a broad range of functions including sorting, filtering (screening), graphing and reporting on individual stocks and groups of stocks.
[Details]

 Wages and Salaries

Occupational Employment and Wages
[Details]

Salary.com
Salary.com is a leading provider of on-demand human resources software that help businesses and individuals manage pay and performance. We help employers and employees achieve greater results in the workplace. Salary.com's on-demand, software-as–a-service business model means clients and partners have no capital investment, no costly maintenance fees and access from any location with an Internet connection.
[Details]

 Occupations

O*Net Online
"The O*NET system serves as the nation's primary source of occupational information, providing comprehensive information on key attributes and characteristics of workers and occupations."
[Details]

Occupational Outlook Handbook
"The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives."
[Details]

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
REF-CAREERS HF5381.E52 2005
[Details]

Career Guide to Industries
"The Career Guide to Industries is a companion to the Occupational Outlook Handbook, which provides information on careers from an occupational perspective."
[Details]

Bureau of Labor Statistics Office of Occupational Statistics and Employment Projections
"The Office of Occupational Statistics and Employment Projections develops information about the labor market for the Nation as a whole for 10 years in the future."
[Details]

 Graduate School

Linda Hauck is the subject librarian for Career Information (Department Webpage) and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

lhauck Linda Hauck
Business Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 222
610-519-8744



 


Last Modified: Monday, March 11th, 2013