You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Chemistry


ACS Style Guide

References chapter


Chemistry and Engineering News

Chemistry World

News about chemistry can also be found in these general science publications



Major Databases

SciFinder Scholar is the most comprehensive chemistry database.  You must create a personal login. Email Alfred Fry if you have problems.

Reaxys is a database of chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to the journal and patent literature of chemistry.  This database combines the content formerly found in Beilstein and Gmelin.

Scopus is the most comprehensive multi-disciplinary database of peer-reviewed literature.  Also good for citation analysis.

Science Citation Index, part of Web of Science, allows you to focus on high quality journals. Also good for citation analysis.

Classic PubChem or New PubChem

PubMed is good for biochemistry topics.

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database from the Royal Society of Chemistry.


Single publisher journal collections


Villanova has access to every Springer book from 2011 and written in English, including many books on chemistry and materials science.

All of these books, as well as electronic books from other publishers and physical books can be found using our catalog:

Enter a topic to search for our catalog:


Patent Information

Chemical patent information can be found in both SciFinder Scholar and Reaxys but for more comprehensive patent searching use

US Patent and Trademark Office

European Patent Office


Other Resources

ACS Directory of Graduate Research is the most comprehensive source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

PubChem provides information on the biological activity of small molecules.

afry Alfred Fry
Science Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 224

Looking For an Article?

Search by DOI:

Find online or in print by journal title or ISSN:

Request an article from InterLibrary Loan

Get an article from our print journals electronically

Request a print volume of a journal from Remote Storage

Still can't find it? Email Alfred Fry

Zotero Logo.png


Journal Citation Reports is the source for journal impact factors.


Last Modified: Wednesday, September 30th, 2015