Article Databases in Communication
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)The database combines two earlier databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. This database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present.
Communication Abstracts (EBSCO)Abstracts articles from journals, conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents. Includes scientific research and government policies. Distinct from ComAbstracts and ComIndex, Communication Abstracts is produced at Temple University and provides abstracting coverage of books and journals in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies).
Film & Television Literature IndexA comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
CIOS/ComAbstractsThe ComAbstracts database contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field.
ComIndex (CIOS)Indexes articles in major professional journals in the communications field. Complemented by ComAbstracts.
Other Databases
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)Covers sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Journals published by sociological associations, groups, faculties and institutes, and periodicals containing the term "sociology" in their titles are abstracted fully.
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to articles from over 3000 journals and series published internationally, as well as monographs, collections, and various types of reference works.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews in 37 languages. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 1,400 journals from more than 80 countries and is updated quarterly. Extensive indexing includes personal and proper names along with subject terms; there is also the capability to search for the authors of book reviews.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Business Source Premier is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
JSTORA searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
GenderWatch (ProQuest)A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
Play Index (EBSCO)This index provides bibliographic citations over some 30,000 plays published individually or in anthologies and collections going back to 1949.
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.
Sloan Work & Family Research Network
PsycINFO 1872-current (ProQuest)Indexes journals, dissertations and some books in the fields of personality psychology, social psychology, educational psychology and more.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.
CIOS ComAnalyticsComAnalytics provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication (journalism, mass communication, speech, communication studies, media studies, rhetoric, etc.). It is the only national system that covers the communication field comprehensively, that properly classifies the field's programs, and that uses metrics validated against relevant external benchmarks (ISI journal impact ratings and rankings from the NCA study of doctoral program reputation). It is the only system that allows individual scholars to benchmark their own performance.
Encyclopedias
Books
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)Indexes book reviews published in U.S., Canadian and British periodicals, covering over 7,000 adult and children's books each year. Includes English-language fiction and nonfiction.
Book Review Index OnlineA comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (EBSCO)This database covers some 300,000 books, citing more than 1.5 million book reviews. Master records for each book include the title's essentials (author, descriptive summary, publisher, publication year, page count, ISBN, indicator of illustrations, and more) plus links to review excerpts and review citations. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, presenting the most evaluative passages of the review, and most have at least two. These excerpts, together with the descriptive summaries of the books, deliver a complete picture of how the book was received at the time it was published.
ChoiceReview OnlineReviews scholarly publications suitable for university library collections. The reviews are arranged by academic department and the “reviewers are primarily teaching faculty… selected for their subject expertise.” More than 22,000 print and electronic publications are examined each year, of which about 30% are reviewed.
Google BooksSearch the full text of digitized books contributed by libraries and publishers. View either brief exerpts, bibliographic information or if not protected by copyright the full text.
Newspapers
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
Philadelphia InquirerContains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
Regional Business News (EBSCO)This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
GenderWatch (ProQuest)A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
New York Times - Media & AdvertisingTop stories in media and advertising from the New York Times.
Blogs
Data Sets
American FactFinderA search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the Census Bureau. American FactFinder 2 can be used to retrieve data from the 2000 and 2010 Census, American Community
Surveys (ACS), Population Estimates and the Economic Census and Surveys, including 2010 redistricting data, street address and zip code data searches.
ICPSRInter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research holdings include several time series and other types of aggregate data, its holdings consist mainly of raw data derived from surveys, censuses, and administrative records. The data holdings contain some 6,000 studies and 450,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Click for searching tips.
Polling the NationsThe database includes 12,000 surveys and 250,000 questions on more than 3,500 topics. Scope is international, from the United States, to more than 60 other countries.
Statistical Insight (Proquest)Provides the index and abstracts to American Statistics Index (U.S. government statistical sources). Contains over 100,000 statistical publications and is searchable by subject, category, title and author.
The Gallup PollEach annual volume contains findings of more than 500 daily Gallup Poll reports.
Print resource
REF HN90.P8 G35
Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchFirst-time users have to register. The Roper Center has a large archive of public opinion information. It contains nearly 500,000 questions and responses from national public opinion surveys going back to 1935. Among the many survey sources are Gallup, Harris, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, ABC, CBS, CNN and NBC. The archive includes full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses using RoperExpress.
Pew Research Center"The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling and social science research; by reporting news and analyzing news coverage; and by holding forums and briefings. It does not take positions on policy issues."
Annenberg Public Policy CenterResearch and data sets on political communication, information and society, media and children and health communication. Registration required for some data sets.
Kaiser Family FoundationPrivate health care policy and advocacy organization that conducts primary research including surveys, case studies and focus groups on media and health. Disseminates news and reports conducted by others related to health and media such as television, advertising, public education campaigns, internet and social media.
Films
Film & Television Literature IndexA comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
US Conference of Catholic Bishops Office of Film & BroadcastingBrief synoposes of films accompanied by USCCB rating for artistic merit and moral suitability as well as Motion Picture Association of America ratings.
MaGills Survey of CinemaREF PN1993.45.M3, .M32, .M34 and REF PN1993.75.M33
National Film RegistryA division of the Library of Congress, the National Film Registry preserves selected American films.
Internet Movie DatabaseDirectory and news on TV and feature films
Media/Culture ReviewsFrom the University of Queensland, Brisbane, a online publication devoted to analysing and critiquing media and culture.
DocuSeek Film & Video FinderUse this web site to identify documentary and educational film.
Film CommentFrom the Film Society of Lincoln Center. Analysis and critiques of films and the people who make them. Full text available through Proquest/ABI Inform.
Bryn Mawr Film InstituteLocal venue for independent, art, documentary and repetory cinema.
Free DocumentariesSite that streams documentaries.
Rotten TomatoesPopular site for ranking and rating popular and new movies.
Media Directories
Web Sites
adViews: Digital archiveAdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. These commercials were created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). Founded in 1929, Benton & Bowles was a New York advertising agency that merged with D'Arcy Masius McManus in 1985 to form DMB&B. Major clients included are Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post, among others. Commercials will be added in phased batches over several months in 2009. The commercials are a part of the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles Archives found at the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in Duke University's Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
Maynard InstituteFor 30 years, the Robert C. Maynard Institute for Journalism Education (MIJE) has helped the nation's news media reflect America's diversity in staffing, content and business operations. Through its professional development programs, the institute prepares managers for careers in both business -- and news -- sides of the journalism industry.
Commercial ClosetGLAAD’s Advertising Media Program, incorporating The Commercial Closet Association, is a program of the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD). GLAAD is dedicated to promoting and ensuring fair, accurate and inclusive representation of people and events in the media as a means of eliminating homophobia and discrimination based on gender identity and sexual orientation.
On the MediaThe official webpage of the NPR radio program, On the Media. "On the Media explores how the media 'sausage' is made, casts an incisive eye on fluctuations in the marketplace of ideas, and examines threats to the freedom of information and expression in America and abroad. For one hour a week, the show tries to lift the veil from the process of "making media," especially news media, because it's through that lens that we literally see the world and the world sees us."
The Living Room CandidateThe Living Room Candidate contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952, when Madison Avenue advertising executive Rosser Reeves convinced Dwight Eisenhower that short ads played during such popular TV programs as I Love Lucy would reach more voters than any other form of advertising. This innovation had a permanent effect on the way presidential campaigns are run. From the Museum of the Moving Image.
Course Resources
Last Modified: Wednesday, November 23rd, 2011