FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY



You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Computing Sciences

Computing Sciences


 Books

WorldCat (OCLC)
A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[Details]

RedLightGreen
[Details]

A to Z Of Computer Scientists
Ref QA.76.2.A2.H46 2003 1st Floor Falvey Reference Shelves
[Details]

Jargon: An Informal Dictionary Of Computer Terms
Ref QA.76.15.W56 1993 1st Floor Falvey Reference Shelves
[Details]

The Computer Glossary
Ref QA.76.15.F733 2001 1st Floor Falvey Reference Shelves
[Details]

Encyclopedia Of Computers And Computer History
Ref QA.76.15.E52 2001 1st Floor Falvey Reference Shelves
[Details]

Encyclopedia Of Computer Science
Ref QA.76.15.E48 2000 1st Floor Falvey Reference Shelves
[Details]

Dictionary Of Computer Science, Engineering And Technology
Ref QA.76.15.D5258 2001 1st Floor Falvey Reference Shelves
[Details]

 Articles

Computer Science Index (EBSCO)
Covers computer science at the highest scholarly and technical levels. Subjects areas include artificial intelligence, expert systems, system design, data structures, computer theory, computer systems and architecture, software engineering, human-computer interaction, new technologies, social and professional context, and much more.
[Details]

MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society)
The best database of mathematical literature. Start here unless your topic is about mathematics education.
[Details]

IEEE Xplore
Published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners, the IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content including journals, magazines, conference proceedings, technical standards, e-books, and educational courses. IEEE Xplore provides Web access to more than 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
[Details]

Inspec
Inspec includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics.
[Details]

Science Citation Index Expanded (Thomson Reuters)
Do geneaology searches forwards and backwards for cited references. Subject searching also on Web of Knowledge. Coverage begins 1945 to present. Click for downloadable guide to cited reference searching.
[Details]

Compendex
Compendex® is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1969.
[Details]

ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
[Details]

 Dictionaries, etc.

 News Feeds

IEEE Xplore
Published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners, the IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content including journals, magazines, conference proceedings, technical standards, e-books, and educational courses. IEEE Xplore provides Web access to more than 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
[Details]

RSS Reader
Download the RSS Reader Software above to view the following feeds
[Details]

WFAA Computer Corner News
[Details]

Topix.net Computer Science News
[Details]

NC State University IT News
[Details]

BBC Tech News
[Details]

CNET Technology News
[Details]

Infoworld Tech News
[Details]

Yahoo! Tech News
[Details]

CNN Tech News
[Details]

Eureka Tech News
[Details]

New York Times Tech News
[Details]

PCWorld Tech News
[Details]

Washington Post Tech News
[Details]

 E Books

IEEE Xplore
Published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners, the IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content including journals, magazines, conference proceedings, technical standards, e-books, and educational courses. IEEE Xplore provides Web access to more than 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
[Details]

Free Online Books
[Details]

FreeTechBooks
[Details]

Handbook of Applied Cryptography
[Details]

IBM Redbooks
[Details]

ITpapers
[Details]

The Online Books Page: Call Numbers Starting With QA
[Details]

PLT Online
[Details]

USENIX: Compendium of Best Papers
[Details]

Electronic Colloquium on Computational Complexity (ECCC)
The purpose of ECCC is rapid and widespread communication of techniques and research on computational complexity. To achieve this goal, technical reports are reviewed, published, and archived. The collection of reports, that dates back to 1994, may be browsed by year or searched by author, title, or abstract keywords. ECCC also contains collections of monographs, lecture notes, lectures, survey reports, and theses.
[Details]

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of current imprint digital books covering a wide range of subjects.
[Details]

 Style Guides

 Bibliographies

The Collection Of Computer Science Bibliographies
Getting information from a variety of sources, this site claims over 750,000 references to computer science articles from publications all over the world. A few of the categories include compiler technology, parallel processing, and logic programming.
[Details]

Annotated Computer Vision Bibliography
Compiled and maintained by Keith Price of the University of Southern California, this resource, which has been on the Internet since 1994, covers computer vision, image processing, and related subjects. A table of contents is divided into twenty-one subjects. Each of these subjects is further classified and is linked to the bibliographic entries. Besides the classified table of contents, there are several other modes of entry: keyword, author, title, journal, conference, online availability, and KWIC. When available, links to the full text are provided, but there are very few annotations.
[Details]

BibFinder: A Computer Science Bibliography Mediator
BibFinder is a computer science bibliography search engine. It simultaneously searches the Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies (CSB), the DBLP Computer Science Bibliography, the ACM Digital Library, ScienceDirect, CiteSeer, and Google. The results are compiled, making it possible to view papers in more than one format.
[Details]

Bibliography of Automated Deduction
Hosted by ORA Canada, the focus of this bibliography is automated deduction for the years 1970-1995, however, earlier classic work is also included. It covers over 3,100 citations from journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, and dissertations. The bibliography may be browsed by author, and there is a search facility.
[Details]

CiteSeer
Developed by the NEC Research Institute, CiteSeer is a database containing citations to journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports in computer and allied sciences. In addition to a list of documents, an author or subject search automatically generates the search context and a list of related documents. The autonomous citation indexing feature executes a citation search similar to Science Citation Index. Many of the citations are linked to the full text.
[Details]

CogPrints Electronic Archive: Computer Science
An electronic archive containing pre-refereed preprints as well as published papers that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
[Details]

Computer Graphics Bibliography Database (graphbib)
Compiled by ACM SIGGRAPH (Special Interest Group on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques), this resources is a searchable bibliography of over 14,500 references covering computer graphics. Books, journal articles, and conference and workshop proceedings are listed. Search results can be sorted by author, year, title, or relevance.
[Details]

Computer Science Technical Reports Archive Sites
A list of academic and research institutions around the world that distribute online computer science technical reports.
[Details]

The Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
Sponsored through a partnership of the ACM, arXiv.org e-Print Archive, and NCSTRL (Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library), CoRR seeks to be the single repository to which researchers from the whole field of computer science will submit reports as a means of rapid dissemination of research results. The database is searchable by a combination of author, title, keyword, journal, subject class, and report number; or it may be perused by subject class.
[Details]

Cryptology ePrint Archive
Hosted by the International Association for Cryptologic Research, the goal of the Cryptology ePrint Archive is to provide rapid access to recent research in cryptology. On the Web since 2000, the Archive incorporated the contents of the Theory of Cryptology Library that covered 1996-1999. It may be browsed by time period or searched by keywords, author, title words, or category.
[Details]

DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
DBLP started as a bibliography for database systems and logic programming, but expanded its scope to include other areas of computer science. DBLP is currently an acronym for Digital Bibliography and Library Project. It lists over 500,000 references from major computer science journals and proceedings. The bibliography can be searched by author and title or browsed by conference, journal, and broad subject. Links are often furnished to the full text.
[Details]

DLIST
DLIST (Digital Library of Information Science and Technology) is a service of the School of Information Resources and Library Science at the University of Arizona. It is an open access, cross-institutional repository of full-text electronic resources for library and information science and information technology. DLIST may be searched by several fields including author, title, abstract, keywords, and subject, or browsed by year or subject.
[Details]

E-print Network: Computer Technologies and Information Sciences.
Developed by the U.S. Department of Energy, the E-print Network lists academic institutions, research laboratories, and individual authors that make their electronic preprints available online. It is alphabetically arranged by institution or individual. Full text is usually available. The E-print Alerts feature allows users to create personal profiles that will electronically notify the user as new information is added.
[Details]

ECS EPrints Service
Created and maintained by the University of Southampton (UK), the ECS EPrints Service is a publications database for electronics and computer science. The database may be searched by keywords or browsed by research group, year, or project.
[Details]

Electronic Colloquium on Computational Complexity (ECCC)
The purpose of ECCC is rapid and widespread communication of techniques and research on computational complexity. To achieve this goal, technical reports are reviewed, published, and archived. The collection of reports, that dates back to 1994, may be browsed by year or searched by author, title, or abstract keywords. ECCC also contains collections of monographs, lecture notes, lectures, survey reports, and theses.
[Details]

HCI Bibliography
The HCI Bibliography is a searchable bibliography on human-computer interaction. It contains over 28,500 entries from journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports as well as video materials and Internet resources. Nearly any word in the record may be searched using Boolean operators and there are several way to limit the search. Entries, which extend back to 1969, include abstracts, tables of contents, and links to the full text when available.
[Details]

Network Bibliography
Containing about 50,000 entries from journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports , the Network Bibliography covers the subjects of computer networks, performance evaluation, computer-supported cooperative work, network security, digital signal processing, and related topics. The bibliography can be searched by author, title, and keywords, and limited by publication year. Entries include full bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some links to full text.
[Details]

Networked Computer Science Technical Reports Library (NCSTRL)
NCSTRL is a collection of research reports and papers from institutions around the world awarding doctoral degrees in computer science or engineering, and some industrial and government research laboratories. NCSTRL may be searched by author, title, or abstract words and limited by institution and date. It may also be browsed by institution. Full text is usually available.
[Details]

On-line CS Techreports
This Website lists and links to over 675 sites around the world that make their computer science technical reports available online.
[Details]

The Virtual Technical Reports Center
The Virtual Technical Reports Center lists and links to institutions around the world that provide either full text or abstract of technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports.
[Details]

The Webbib Online Bibliography
Webbib is an online bibliographic search system that contains citations to journal articles and conference papers that deal with distributed systems as they relate to the Web. Citations can be displayed several ways including by author, author and publication keyword, publication date, and date added to the system. It also has author and keyword title search capability. Citations usually contain links to full text and links to its references.
[Details]

Women and Computing
Compiled by the ACM's Committee on Women and Computing, and sponsored by the National Science Foundation, this bibliography lists articles and conference papers about women and computing. It may be searched by personal name, title, keyword, journal name, and conference title
[Details]

afry Alfred Fry
Science Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 224
610-519-4283



 


Last Modified: Thursday, August 4th, 2011