Key Article Databases
PsycINFO 1872-current (ProQuest)Indexes journals, dissertations and some books in the fields of personality psychology, social psychology, educational psychology and more.
[
Details]
ERIC (ProQuest)The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. It indexes both journal articles and reports from government and private agencies.
[
Details]
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)ProQuest Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
[
Details]
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)Covers sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Journals published by sociological associations, groups, faculties and institutes, and periodicals containing the term "sociology" in their titles are abstracted fully.
[
Details]
Education Full Text (EBSCO)More than 400 English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the U.S. and elsewhere. Subjects include administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, government funding, and more. ERIC, the government education file, can be searched simultaneously by clicking Open Database Selection Area and selecting ERIC.
[
Details]
Psychiatry OnlineIncludes the full text of all editions of the DSM-IV-TR and full text articles of some psychiatric journals as well as a few psychiatric textbooks. American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines in both comprehensive and quick-reference formats are searchable also.
[
Details]
Other Useful Databases
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[
Details]
GenderWatch (ProQuest)A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
[
Details]
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
[
Details]
Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press)Provides an online collection of hours of video for the study of counseling, psychology, psychotherapy and social work. It includes counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, interviews and teaching and discussion guides. A detailed guide to the database can be found at
http://alexanderstreet.com/resources/Guides/CTIV%20guide.pdf.
[
Details]
Encyclopedias
Films
Psychological Tests
Web Sites
Last Modified: Thursday, November 3rd, 2011