Article Databases
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs OnlineA resource that aggregates dispersed content about theory and research in international affairs. CIAO includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, full-text journal articles and policy briefs, and teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features. Advanced searching capability is present and results can be sorted by date and relevance. CIAO also provides links to international affairs Internet sources. All sections of CIAO are updated monthly.
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)An annotated reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes journal articles, book reviews and dissertations.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - WPSA (ProQuest)This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. The database is simultaneously searchable with other ProQuest databases such as ProQuest Newspapers.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
PAIS International (ProQuest)The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
CQ Global Researcher (current reports cease Nov., 2012)CQ Global Researcher explores international perspectives in a digestible, easy-to-access format featuring popular sections such as "Current Situation," "Issue Questions" and "Pro-Con." Maps, charts, and other explanatory graphics are included as well. CQ Global Researcher is published monthly, with each report also available in magazine-style PDF format covering a pressing political, social, environmental, or regional issue from around the globe. Each original report is written by a seasoned journalist with years of international experience.
(FINAL Global Researcher report: November, 2012)
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)Commerce Reports, Country Reports, Country Profiles (last published in 2008) and Market Indicators and Forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit offer monthly and annual in depth analysis, data and ratings for the infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns for over 200 countries.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)Covers sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Journals published by sociological associations, groups, faculties and institutes, and periodicals containing the term "sociology" in their titles are abstracted fully.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Business Source Premier is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from the journal literature in the physical and social sciences. Search by article title word, journal title, author, cited author or reference, or address word (e.g. author's institution). Coverage begins 1956 to present.
JSTORA searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
ICPSRInter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research holdings include several time series and other types of aggregate data, its holdings consist mainly of raw data derived from surveys, censuses, and administrative records. The data holdings contain some 6,000 studies and 450,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Click for searching tips.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals IndexIndexes articles, book reviews, documents and literary works about Latin America, the Caribbean Basin, and Hispanics in the U.S., from over 400 social science and humanities journals.
Oxford Islamic Studies OnlineOffers unrivaled online access to the history and culture of Islam and provides full-text access to great Oxford reference and scholarly works, including The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, two classic interpretations of the Qur'an, a Concordance of the Qur'an, and What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam.
News
BBC World ServiceProvides international news, analysis and information in English and 32 other languages. Also includes a BBC "
News and analysis in your language" section.
Guardian.co.uk - UK National newspaperThe Guardian and Observer newspapers and guardian.co.uk website are published by Guardian News & Media (GNM).
Deutsche-WelleGermany’s international broadcaster that produces television, radio and online content in 30 languages. It provides a European perspective to its global audience and promotes intercultural dialogue.
Reuters.comInternational multimedia news agency, providing investing news, world news, business news, technology news, headline news, small business news, news alerts, personal finance, stock market, and mutual funds information available on Reuters.com, video, mobile, and interactive television platforms.
Al Jazeera - AJE24-hour English-language news and current affairs TV channel headquartered in Doha, Qatar. The station broadcasts news features and analysis, documentaries, live debates, current affairs, business, technology, and sports. The channel aims to provide both a regional voice and a global perspective to a potential world audience of over one billion English speakers who don't have an Anglo-American worldview.
Newspaper articles and sources
ProQuest NewspapersIncludes coverage of 27 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
Internet Public Library NewspapersOnline newspapers from around the world.
Statistics
World Health Organization (WHO) - Data and statisticsData and statistics from WHO, the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system.
World BankOf particular interest are the tabs for "countries" and for "data and research".
World Bank Data & ResearchThe World Bank also know as the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development is a cooperative that provides technical and financial assistance to developing countries. Reports and data on health, infrastructure, trade, environment, education, debt, corruption, and industrial and agricultural development.
Pew Hispanic CenterThe Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos’ growing impact on the nation.
Pew Global Attitudes ProjectThe
Pew Research Center’s Global Attitudes Project conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. Nearly 300,000 interviews in 59 countries have been conducted as part of the project’s work.
United Nations (UN)Official United Nations web site in English
UN Data: a world of informationThe United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA)provides search and download capability for a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.
UN Development Millennium Goals"The eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) – which range from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions. They have galvanized unprecedented efforts to meet the needs of the world’s poorest."
UN Economic Commission for AfricaIncludes publications on HIV/AIDS, sustainable development, trade, and social policy analysis.
Data sets - GEO Data Portal - United Nations Environment ProgrammeThe GEO Data Portal is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 450 different variables as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP. Display them on-the-fly as maps, graphs, data tables or download the data in different formats
UNESCO Institute for StatisticsEurostat"Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level. By harmonising statistics from the European statistical system (ESS) to a single methodology, the statistics are made comparable"
African Population Studies"Etude de la Population Africaine/African Population Studies is a bilingual journal (French and English) published two times a year in April and October by the Union for African Population Studies. It publishes dependable and timely information emanating from original research on African population, development and related fields."
Populaiton Reference BureauIts stated mission is to inform people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empower them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations.
Population Index [1986 - 1998]A searchable and browsable annotated bibliography database of books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics.
Laws
Global Legal InformationIncludes links to many useful and reliable sites for legal information available for each of the world's nations.
[
Details]
World Legal InformationThe World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) is a free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility developed collaboratively by the following Legal Information Institutes and other organisations: Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII); British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII);
Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII);
Hong Kong Legal Information Institute (HKLII);
Legal Information Institute (Cornell) (LII (Cornell));
Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (PacLII);
Wits University School of Law (Wits Law School).
[
Details]
Contemporary International Literature links
Words Without BordersWords without Borders translates, publishes, and promotes contemporary international literature. Every month, this online magazine publishs eight to ten new works by international writers. In addition to producing the magazine, Word Without Borders partners with publishing houses to release print anthologies.
Asia SocietyFounded in 1956, Asia Society is a leading global and pan-Asian organization working to strengthen relationships and promote understanding among the people, leaders, and institutions of the United States and Asia. Asia Society seeks to increase knowledge and enhance dialogue, encourage creative expression, and generate new ideas across the fields of arts and culture, policy and business, and education.
AfricaBib.orgAfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over thirty years of Africana research.The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database) and African Women's literature (African Women Bibliographic Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa Bibliographic Database).
Muse Inda - the literary ejournal linksStarted and run by a group of writers, Muse India is a literary e-journal with the primary objective of showcasing Indian writings in English and in English translation to a broad-based global readership. The journal publishes both creative and critical writing and offers a wide range of literary forms—poetry, short fiction, essays, conversations with writers, book reviews and the like. Besides presenting the work of more established authors, Muse India will also promote talented new and young writers.
Web Sites
AfrobarometerThe Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa. Afrobarometer surveys are conducted in more that a dozen African countries and are repeated on a regular cycle.
Arab Cultural Trustal-hakawati is the Arabic word for “the storyteller”. al-hakawati Arab Cultural Trust is an independent non-profit educational organization, registered in May 2006. Management and staff are located in Beirut, Lebanon, and New Jersey, USA. al-hakawati is a free educational resource and reference, made possible by the Arab Cultural Trust. The content of al-hakawati covers the 22 Arab states, members of the Arab League. The content is arranged thematically in ten sections, each with several subsections. New entries are regularly added.
Catholic Relief ServicesCatholic Relief Services carries out the commitment of the Bishops of the United States to assist the poor and vulnerable overseas.ChangemakersChangemakers is a global online community that supports everyone’s ability to be a changemaker by inspiring, mentoring, and collaborating with other members of the community at every level of changemaking. Changemakers hosts collaborative online competitions to identify and connect the best social innovators and implementers.
Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative (ECAI)The Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative (ECAI) is an international project to develop and distribute digital data on historical and archaeological resources managed by Internationa and Area Studies at University of California- Berkeley.
Global Gateway - World Culture & ResourcesThe Library of Congress's effort to provide consistent, in-depth, high-quality access to its extensive international research collections.
Institute for Global Interdisciplinary StudiesInstitute for Global Interdisciplinary Studies- Area StudiesThe Area Studies Unit encompasses the language and Cultural Studies programs that are from particular geographic areas. The programs included in this unit are:
Institutue of International Education (IIE)An independent not-for-profit founded in 1919, IIE is among the world's largest and most experienced international education and training organizations. We are committed to delivering program excellence to a diverse range of participants, sponsors, and donors.
KwintessentialLoose guidelines meant to assist in bettering understanding of a country's social/business culture or etiquette.
LatinbarometroLatinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that involves some 19,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants. Latinobarómetro Corporation researches the development of democracy and economies as well as societies, using indicators of opinion, attitudes, behaviour and values. Its results are used by social and political actors, international organizations, governments and the media.
Pew Research Center"The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling and social science research; by reporting news and analyzing news coverage; and by holding forums and briefings. It does not take positions on policy issues."
United Nations - Global IssuesThis website offers an overview of some of these global issues, and links to other resources where you can get additional information from the United Nations.
Voice of the Shuttlemeta site
Villanova Cultural Studies Department links
Last Modified: Thursday, November 8th, 2012