FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY


You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Economics and Statistics

Economics and Statistics


 Articles

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[Details]

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural Online Access)
Provides book and article citations to agricultural literature. Some links to full-text documents online. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
[Details]

Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)
Contains business magazines and scholarly journals for more than 510 publications back to 1995.
[Details]

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Business Source Premier is a full-text, scholarly and trade article database covering a wide range of topics including management, marketing, accounting, finance, economics, international business, operations management and management information systems.
[Details]

Current Index to Statistics
Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from core journals that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books, and other sources. This is the up-to-date CIS database.
[Details]

EconLibrary
An online database that contains over 500,000 bibliographic references from 500 leading journals of accounting, economics and finance. EconLibrary's bibliographic references can be rapidly searched by author, keyword in title, journal or year, or combinations using the databases' Boolean logic searches." Falvey subscribes to the combined Economics Literature Database.
[Details]

EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, working papers and dissertations from 1969 to present based on the Journal of Economic Literature's subject classification and supported by the American Economic Association (AEA). This enhanced version of EconLit includes the full text of all AEA journals and roughly 600 other scholarly journals.
[Details]

FED in Print
Welcome to Fed in Print, the central catalog of publications of the US Federal Reserve System.
[Details]

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)
This is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
[Details]

NBER National Bureau of Economic Research
"Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community." Excellent source for working papers and datasets.
[Details]

PAIS International (ProQuest)
The Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International database contains references for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages.
[Details]

PAISArchive [1915-1976]
Retrospective database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Provides selective subject and bibliographical access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and other English-language materials published around the world. Contains more than 700,000 records, originally published in the PAIS Bulletin, 1915-1976.
[Details]

Research Papers in Economics
"RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 57 countries and 34 US states to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. The heart of the project is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components. All RePEc material is freely available."
[Details]

Social Sciences Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)
Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from the journal literature in the physical and social sciences. Search by article title word, journal title, author, cited author or reference, or address word (e.g. author's institution). Coverage begins 1956 to present.
[Details]

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
[Details]

 Statistics

Bureau of Economic Analysis
"The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner."
[Details]

Bureau of Labor Statistics
[Details]

Census of the U.S. Economy
This is the 2002 Census of the U.S. Economy. The 1997 issue is also available online.
[Details]

Center for Economic Studies (Census)
Research and data derived from Business Dynamics Statistics, Quarterly Workforce Indicators, OntheMap, and Synthetic Survey of Income and Program Participation.
[Details]

China Data Center
Statistical database providing national, provincial, city and regional data series including national accounts, prices, employment, income, industry, foreign trade, agriculture, construction, transportation, telecommunication, and education in monthly and annual time series.
[Details]

Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio
Economic indicator datasets and global macroeconomic time series for economists.  Quality reports, interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for he management and HRD professionals.
[Details]

Data-Planet
Search and browse for datasets on topics ranging from banking to criminal justice to economic indicators to health to labor to natural resources and transportation gleaned from government agencies, private exchanges and international organizations. Statistical Datasets supports customized graphing, mapping and even some common statistical functions.
[Details]

Data.gov
Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
[Details]

Economagic
"This page is meant to be a comprehensive site of free, easily available economic time series data useful for economic research, in particular economic forecasting. This site (set of web pages) was started in 1996 to help students in an Applied Forecasting class. The idea was to give students easy access to large amounts of data, and to be able to quickly get charts of that data. This is also useful during class, so that when we use the computer and overhead projector facility in class, we can quickly retrieve series and do manipulations in class." Use with caution as original data sources are not always cited.
[Details]

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Commerce Reports, Country Reports and Market Indicators and Forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit offer monthly and annual in depth analysis, data and ratings for the infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns for over 200 countries.
[Details]

Eurostat
"Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level. By harmonising statistics from the European statistical system (ESS) to a single methodology, the statistics are made comparable"
[Details]

Federal Reserve Economic Research & Data
Data releases on banks, exchange rates, money stocks, industrial activity, consumer finance, business finance, interest rates, and flow of funds.
[Details]

Global Economic Monitor (World Bank)
[Details]

Global Financial Data
Global Financial Data features historical data on worldwide stock exchanges, bond indices, intraday data, futures data, interest rates, population data, and much more. All data is clearly defined, easy to read, and readily downloadable into Excel.
[Details]

Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970
A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in  1975 and has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own areas of interest.
[Details]

IHS Global Insight
Provides historical economic and financial data time series and includes access to U.S., regional and global macroeconomic indicators, industrial markets, foods, crops, metals, financials, housing, Federal Funds, price indices and national accounts. To access data, link to DataInsight-Web where you can search by criteria or do a keyword search, browse tables, and download results directly to Excel. Data is gathered from government agencies, private entities and international organizations such as the IMF and OECD, and updated when made available by the source. Access courtesy of the Applied Finance Lab.
[Details]

IMF eLibrary Data
International Monetary Fund (IMF) statistics on Balance of Payments, International Financial Statistics, Government Finance Statistics and Direction of Trade Statistics. Time series are presented in browsable and searchable tree. Results may be downloaded in a variety of formats.
[Details]

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) offers several time series and other types of aggregate data that consist mainly of raw data derived from surveys, censuses and administrative records. The data holdings contain studies and files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Click here for searching tips.
[Details]

International Labour Organization
The ILO is a UN organization devoted to promoting fair working standards. It is a good source for reports and statistics on global employment trends and policy.
[Details]

Liber8
Economic information portal from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis for university and government documents librarians and students. Single point of access to economic information from the Federal Reserve, other government agencies including an International Economic Statistics databases.
[Details]

OECD iLibrary
Data and metadata for OECD countries and some selected non-member countries for everything from Agriculture to Welfare.
[Details]

OFFSTATS Official Statistics on the Web
Free directory of links to official statistics on the web searchable by country or topic.
[Details]

Passport Euromonitor
Formerly the Global Market Information Database, this resource is a database of demographic, economic, lifestyle, and consumer market information for over 350 markets and 207 countries. Statistics cover consumer lifestyles, retailing, and consumer market sizes and forecasts. The data includes 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. Lifestyle indicators for 71 countries, lifestyle reports for 65 countries, and country profiles for 250 countries are also included.
[Details]

Penn World Tables
Comparable purchasing power parity and national income accounts data for 188 countries.
[Details]

Principal Global Indicators

"The PGI dataset provides internationally comparable data for the Group of 20 economies (G-20) and the five members of the Financial Stability Board that are not part of the G-20 to facilitate the monitoring of economic and financial developments for these jurisdictions. Launched in 2009 in response to the global financial crisis, the PGI website is hosted by the IMF. It is a joint undertaking of the Inter-Agency Group on Economic and Financial Statistics (IAG). It provides information on major economic indicators that is available at participating international agencies covering financial, governmental, external, and real sector data, with links to data available at websites of international and national agencies."

 


[Details]

Rodney Fort's Sports Business Data
Open access collection of sports data from University of Michigan Economics professor, Rodney Fort.
[Details]

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Site provides access to current 2012 PDF and past editions.  Includes everything from government spending to the environment to communications. It is a most comprehensive one-volume reference source on the Nation's economic and social condition.
[Details]

Statistical Insight (ProQuest)
Indexing and abstracting (with select full text from 2007) of statistical resources from U.S. state government, business and research institute statistical publications. Tables for U.S. government and business reports.
[Details]

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
[Details]

United Nations Statistics
Global statistical information on economics, demographic, social indicators, environment, energy and Millennium Development Goals.
[Details]

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
Access and registration approved by James Jablonski of the Finance Lab. Data research platform for AuditAnalytics, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CBOE, Option Metrics, Risk Metrics,  TAQ, TRACE, Thomson Reuters 13f and other business data sets.
[Details]

World Bank
Of particular interest are the tabs for "countries" and for "data and research".
[Details]

 Books

 Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

 Videos

Linda Hauck is the subject librarian for Economics and Statistics and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

lhauck Linda Hauck
Business Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 222
610-519-8744



 


Last Modified: Thursday, March 27th, 2014