Key Article Databases
ERIC (ProQuest)The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. It indexes both journal articles and reports from government and private agencies.
[
Details]
Education Full Text (EBSCO)More than 400 English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the U.S. and elsewhere. Subjects include administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, government funding, and more. ERIC, the government education file, can be searched simultaneously by clicking Open Database Selection Area and selecting ERIC.
[
Details]
Education Administration Abstracts (EBSCO)This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
[
Details]
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)ProQuest Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
[
Details]
PsycINFO 1872-current (ProQuest)Indexes journals, dissertations and some books in the fields of personality psychology, social psychology, educational psychology and more.
[
Details]
Other Useful Article Databases
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
[
Details]
PsycINFO 1872-current (ProQuest)Indexes journals, dissertations and some books in the fields of personality psychology, social psychology, educational psychology and more.
[
Details]
Career and Technical Education (ProQuest)Search vocational and technical periodicals covering all aspects of the Vo/Tech curriculum.
[
Details]
Physical Education Index (ProQuest)Abstracts a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.
[
Details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)This is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
[
Details]
JSTORA searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
[
Details]
Science Citation Index Expanded (Thomson Reuters)Do geneaology searches forwards and backwards for cited references. Subject searching also on Web of Knowledge. Coverage begins 1945 to present.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Project MuseSearchable collection of recent full-text humanities, social science and mathematics journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
[
Details]
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[
Details]
GenderWatch (ProQuest)A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
[
Details]
ProQuest Education Journals (ProQuest)Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields.
[
Details]
ProQuest Social Science Journals (ProQuest)ProQuest Social Science Journals provides indexing for over 450 journals. Mostly full text access is provided. Disciplines covered include addiction studies, gerontology, econometrics, international relations, minority studies, urban studies, and more.
[
Details]
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Educational Research Ref LB 15 .E484 vols. 6th ed. New York: Macmillan, 1992
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Distance LearningThe
Encyclopedia of Distance Learning offers the most comprehensive coverage of the issues, concepts, trends, and technologies of distance learning.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Education"Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world." Approximately 900 articles offer a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice.
[
Details]
Oxford Companion to the MindBrief articles with bibliographies on concepts related to intelligence, learning, and the mind. Also included are biographical sketches of researchers and practioners as well as entries on conditions, treatments and effects.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
21 st Century Education
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership & Administration
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of EducationProvides a comprehensive background to issues involving schools and society. Includes a visual history from colonial times to the Civil Rights era.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies
Encyclopedia of Educational Reform and Dissent
Encyclopedia of African American Education
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
Encclopedia of Distributed Learning
Sage Handbook of Educational Leadership
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse, Prevention and Treatment
Encyclopedia of Language and EducationA fully revised and updated edition, which includes two new volumes on language socialization and the ecology of language, provides a global coverage of language and education and an emphasis on multicultural and bilingual education. Each review is followed by a reference list.
[
Details]
Books
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
online education reference booksProvides a link to several titles such as World Education Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of School Psychology, College Blue Book, 21st Century Education, Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Foundation of Education and more.
[
Details]
Statistics
Tests
Mental Measurement Yearbook (EBSCO)The database covers more than 2,200 commercially-available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, educational, speech & hearing, and sensory motor. Coverage includes the 9th to 16th
Yearbooks, January 2007.
[
Details]
Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences
Compendium of neuropsychological tests: Administration, norms and commentary.
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques
ETS databaseA searchable database for tests some of which can be downloaded for a fee.
[
Details]
Newspapers
Chronicle of Higher EducationThe online version of The Chronicle is published every weekday, which features the complete contents of the latest issue, providing news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. Coverage includes the daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, and salary databases. Articles published since September 1989 is available.
[
Details]
Philadelphia InquirerContains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
[
Details]
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Directories
College NavigatorDirectory with statistical profile of colleges and universities from the National Center for Educational Statistics
[
Details]
Web Sites
Last Modified: Monday, August 20th, 2012