You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Engineering


Major Engineering Resources

Compendex from Engineering Village is the most comprehensive engineering database, covering all disciplines.  Use the checkboxes to simultaenously search Compendex and Inspec.
Use the Find It button to check for full text.

Inspec from Engineering Village is a multi-disciplinary database that is particularly strong in electrical, computer, and mechanical engineering.  Use the checkboxes to simultaenously search Inspec and Compendex.
Use the Find It button to check for full text.

Scopus is the most comprehensive multi-disciplinary database of peer-reviewed literature.  Also good for citation analysis.

IEEE Xplore is a digital library of all IEEE and IET literature for electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. 

SciFinder is the most comprehensive index of chemical literature.  You must create a personal login. Email Alfred Fry if you have problems.

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

Science Citation Index allows you to find out who cited your articles.

Single Publisher Journal Collections

If you are searching for information on a specific topic, then I recommend using Compendex or another multipublisher index.  The Find It button will take you from Compendex to the specific articles you want from the journal collections below.

ACM Digital Library

ASCE Library

ASME Digital Collection

PROLA contains all journals published by the American Physical Society.

ScienceDirect contains journals published by Elsevier.

SpringerLink contains journals published by Springer.

WileyInterScience contains journals published by Wiley.

Electronic Book Collections

EngineeringPro from Books24x7 contains thousands of electronic books from top publishers.  Defaults to searching both EngineeringPro and ITPro, but you can use the drop down menu to limit to either collection.

Synthesis Digital Library is a collection of 50- to 100-page electronic books that synthesize important research or development topics, authored by a prominent contributors to the field. The publisher attempts to offer unique value to the reader by providing more synthesis, analysis, and depth than typical research journal articles. They are also more modular and dynamic than traditional print or digital handbooks.

Patent Information

Chemical patent information can be found in both SciFinder Scholar and Reaxys.   Compendex and Scopus also have patents, but there are several sources whose sole purpose is to provide patent information.

Google Patents contains patents from the 3 major patent sources (USPTO, EPO, WIPO) in a more user-friendly interface.  Foreign language patents have buttons for the original language and English (using Google Translate).  One button translates the entire patent.

For US Patents: US Patent and Trademark Office

For European Patents: European Patent Office Foreign language patents have buttons that translate using Google Translate.  Translations must be done for each section.

For many other countries: PATENTSCOPE from WIPO.  Also contains US and EPO patents.  Foreign patents can be translated by cutting and pasting into WIPO Translate


ICC eCodes International Building Code, International Energy Conservation Code, International Mechanical Code, International Plumbing Code as well as Code of Federal Regulations from the International Code Council.

Other Useful Databases

Dissertation and Theses Full Text

Emerald multidisciplinary business database that contains a few business/engineering journals

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

afry Alfred Fry
Science Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 224

Looking For an Article?

Search by DOI:

Find online or in print by journal title or ISSN:

Request an article from InterLibrary Loan

Get an article from our print journals

Get a journal volume from our print collection in Garey Hall

Still can't find it? Email Alfred Fry


Journal Citation Reports is the source for journal impact factors.


Last Modified: Thursday, October 22nd, 2015