You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Engineering > Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering


Major Databases

SciFinder Scholar is the most comprehensive index of chemical literature.  You must create a personal login. Email Alfred Fry if you have problems.

Compendex from Engineering Village is the most comprehensive engineering database, covering all disciplines.  Use the FindIt button to locate the full text of the articles.

ABI/INFORM Complete is the most comprhensive business database and contains the full text of Chemical Engineering, Chemical Week, and ICIS Chemical Business (formerly Chemical Market Reporter).

Scopus is the most comprehensive multi-disciplinary database of peer-reviewed literature.  Also good for citation analysis.

Other important databases

Science Citation Index focuses on 3,700 high impact journals in all areas of science.

Reaxys is a database of chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to the journal and patent literature of chemistry.  This database combines the content formerly found in Beilstein and Gmelin.

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

Patent Information

Chemical patent information can be found in both SciFinder Scholar and Reaxys.   Compendex and Scopus also have patents, but there are several sources whose sole purpose is to provide patent information.

Google Patents contains patents from the 3 major patent sources (USPTO, EPO, WIPO) in a more user-friendly interface.  Foreign language patents have buttons for the original language and English (using Google Translate).  One button translates the entire patent.

For US Patents: US Patent and Trademark Office

For European Patents: European Patent Office Foreign language patents have buttons that translate using Google Translate.  Translations must be done for each section.

For many other countries: PATENTSCOPE from WIPO.  Also contains US and EPO patents.  Foreign patents can be translated by cutting and pasting into WIPO Translate

News Sources for 3931 Societal Impact Paper

LexisNexis Academic is the best database to use to find newspapers.  Also includes major magazines and trade publications like Chemical Week and ICIS Chemical Business.

afry Alfred Fry
Science Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 224

Looking For an Article?

Search by DOI:

Find online or in print by journal title or ISSN:

Request an article from InterLibrary Loan

Get an article from our print journals

Get a journal volume from our print collection in Garey Hall

Still can't find it? Email Alfred Fry


Journal Citation Reports is the source for journal impact factors.


Last Modified: Thursday, October 22nd, 2015