You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Engineering > Civil and Environmental Engineering

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Compendex from Engineering Village is the most comprehensive engineering database, covering all disciplines.  Use the FindIt button to locate the full text of the articles.

Scopus is the most comprehensive multi-disciplinary database of peer-reviewed literature.  Also good for citation analysis.

ASCE Library or ASCE Civil Engineering Database

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

EngineeringPro from Books24x7 contains thousands of electronic books from top publishers.  Defaults to searching both EngineeringPro and ITPro, but you can use the drop down menu to limit to either collection.


Pollution Abstracts contains references to journal articles, conference proceedings, and hard-to-find documents on all aspects of pollution.

National Service Center for Environmental Publications is the premier source for EPA publications.  Most pubilcations are online, but those that are available only in print may be ordered free of charge.

GeoRef is the most comprehensive database of geoscience literature.

USGS Publications Warehouse indexes all USGS publications, many of which are downloadable.

USGS Library is the largest earth science library in the world.

Water Resources

WATERnetBASE contains over 130 books published by CRC Press, including Advanced Onsite Wasterwater Systems Technologies, Munincipal Stormwater Management, and Water and Wastewater Finance and Pricing.

Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Data Access Wizard will help you find downloadable GIS datasets.


TRIS Online contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles.

Transportation Research Record  We have electronic access to issues from 2010.  Issues up to 2009 are on the 4th floor.  TE .7 H5

Transportation Research Board Publications Index

HCM2010  Password required for Volume 4.  Contact Alfred Fry or Leslie McCarthy or Seri Park.

PennDOT Traffic Engineering Manual

PennDOT Approved Construction Materials

Patent Information

Chemical patent information can be found in both SciFinder Scholar and Reaxys.   Compendex and Scopus also have patents, but there are several sources whose sole purpose is to provide patent information.

Google Patents contains patents from the 3 major patent sources (USPTO, EPO, WIPO) in a more user-friendly interface.  Foreign language patents have buttons for the original language and English (using Google Translate).  One button translates the entire patent.

For US Patents: US Patent and Trademark Office

For European Patents: European Patent Office Foreign language patents have buttons that translate using Google Translate.  Translations must be done for each section.

For many other countries: PATENTSCOPE from WIPO.  Also contains US and EPO patents.  Foreign patents can be translated by cutting and pasting into WIPO Translate

afry Alfred Fry
Science Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 224

Looking For an Article?

Search by DOI:

Find online or in print by journal title or ISSN:

Request an article from InterLibrary Loan

Get an article from our print journals

Get a journal volume from our print collection in Garey Hall

Still can't find it? Email Alfred Fry


Journal Citation Reports is the source for journal impact factors.


Last Modified: Thursday, October 22nd, 2015