You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Engineering > Electrical & Computer Engineering

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Major Resources for both Electrical and Computer Engineering

Inspec from Engineering Village is the most comprehensive database for electrical and computer engineering, indexing articles from many publishers including IEEE and ACM. 

IEEE Xplorecontains technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

Scopus is the most comprehensive multi-disciplinary database of peer-reviewed literature.  Also good for citation analysis.

 Major Computer Engineering Resources

acm-dl.jpgcontains not only the full text of every article published by ACM but also citations from major publications in computing.

CiteSeerXbetais an open source digital library that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.

Books and E-Book Collections

Enter a topic to search our catalog for physical books


EngineeringPro from Books24x7 contains thousands of electronic books from top publishers.  Defaults to searching both EngineeringPro and ITPro, but you can use the drop down menu to limit to either collection.

Synthesis Digital Library is a collection of 50- to 100-page electronic books that synthesize important research or development topics, authored by a prominent contributors to the field. The publisher attempts to offer unique value to the reader by providing more synthesis, analysis, and depth than typical research journal articles. They are also more modular and dynamic than traditional print or digital handbooks.

SL-books-logo.jpg is a large collection of e-books including new works in Computer Science and Engineering.

Engineering and IT Pro from Books24x7 contains thousands of electronic books from top publishers.

Patent Information

Some patent information can be found in both Inspec, IEEE Xplore, and Scopus, but there are several sources whose sole purpose is to provide patent information.

Google Patents contains patents from the 3 major patent sources (USPTO, EPO, WIPO) in a more user-friendly interface.  Foreign language patents have buttons for the original language and English (using Google Translate).  One button translates the entire patent.

For US Patents: US Patent and Trademark Office

For European Patents: European Patent Office Foreign language patents have buttons that translate using Google Translate.  Translations must be done for each section.

For many other countries: PATENTSCOPE from WIPO.  Also contains US and EPO patents.  Foreign patents can be translated by cutting and pasting into WIPO Translate

Optics and Photonics Resources

Optics InfoBase contains all OSA journals and recent OSA conference proceedings.

SPIE Digital Library  Villanova has a free trial until mid-November.

Other Useful Resources

SAE Digital Library requires a password. Email Alfred Fry.

MRS Proceedings Online

Dissertation and Theses Full Text

Science Citation Index

afry Alfred Fry
Science Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 224

Looking for a conference proceeding? Email Alfred

Looking For an Article?

Search by DOI:

Find online or in print by journal title or ISSN:

Request an article from InterLibrary Loan

Get an article from our print journals electronically

Request a print volume of a journal from Remote Storage

Still can't find it? Email Alfred Fry

Zotero Logo.png


Journal Citation Reports is the source for journal impact factors.


Last Modified: Thursday, October 22nd, 2015