FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY


You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Engineering > Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering


Major Databases

Compendex and Inspec combine the most comprehensive multi-disciplinary engineering database with a database that is very strong in mechanical engineering, physics, computers, and electronics.  Use the Find It button to check for full text.

Scopus is the most comprehensive multi-disciplinary database of peer-reviewed literature.  Also good for citation analysis.

Science Citation Index, part of Web of Science, allows you to focus on high quality journals. Also good for citation analysis.

ASME Digital Collection contains every ASME journal article from 2000 to now. 
Email Alfred Fry if you need conference proceedings.

Other useful Resources

ASM Handbooks 

ASM Alloy Center

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

MRS Proceedings Online

Electronic and Physcial Books

EngineeringPro from Books24x7 contains thousands of electronic books from top publishers.  Defaults to searching both EngineeringPro and ITPro, but you can use the drop down menu to limit to either collection.

Enter a topic to search our catalog for physical books

Patent Information

US Patent and Trademark Office

European Patent Office

WIPO PatentScope

Other article databases

IEEEXplore contains technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

PubMed is good for biomechanical topics.

Journals from physics organizations

APS Journals searches every journal published by the American Physical Society. Physical Review Online Archive provides easy access to Physical Review from 1893-2007.

SPIN, part of AIP's Scitation platform, searches every journal published by the American Institute of Phyiscis and affiliated organizations in Russia and the Ukraine.  You can also search Scitation which is less oriented towards physics.

IOPscience searches every journal published by the Institute of Phyiscs.

Codes

ICC eCodes We are currently having a problem accessing eCodes.  Email Alfred Fry if you need access.  Villanova is supposed to have access to International Building Code, International Energy Conservation Code, International Mechanical Code, International Plumbing Code as well as Code of Federal Regulations from the International Code Council.

afry Alfred Fry
Science Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 224
610-519-4283


Looking For an Article?

Search by DOI:

Find online or in print by journal title or ISSN:

Request an article from InterLibrary Loan

Get an article from our print journals

Get a journal volume from our print collection in Garey Hall

Still can't find it? Email Alfred Fry

refworks2_logo.jpg

Journal Citation Reports is the source for journal impact factors.


 


Last Modified: Tuesday, September 2nd, 2014