English

 Articles

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to articles from over 3000 journals and series published internationally, as well as monographs, collections, and various types of reference works. MLA Directory of Periodicals
[Details]

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors.In-depth coverage of the most studied authors. Cross searching capability between LRC and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
[Details]

Literature Online (Chadwyck)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
[Details]

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.
[Details]

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)
This is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
[Details]

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Search worldwide periodicals for in-depth coverage of a wide variety of scholarly journals, popular press magazines and newspapers. Many articles are full-text.
[Details]

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)
Provides quick, powerful access to bibliographic and citation information you need to find research data, and analyze trends, journals, and researchers from over 1,395 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. The database provides user ability to track prior research and monitor current developments, see who is citing their work, measure the influence of colleagues' work, and follow the path of today's hottest ideas. Coverage begins 1991 to present.
[Details]

Project Muse
Searchable collection of recent full-text humanities, social science and mathematics journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
[Details]

Academic OneFile (Gale)
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
[Details]

JSTOR
A searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
[Details]

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
LCO is an extensive compilation of literary commentary reaching back 30 years and cover centuries of critiques on authors and their works that span all time periods, types of literature and regions. The cross searchable collection brings together the most acclaimed literary series Drama Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism providing criticism on the major authors, dramatists and poets. The database includes Shakespearean Literature Criticism with a comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of his plays and poetry.
[Details]

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, as well as theatrical productions, reviews of productions and other material related to Shakespeare published or produced between 1968 and 2003, with coverage continuing to extend forward and backward in time.
[Details]

Iter: Bibliography of Medieval and Renaissance Europe from 400-1700
A bibliography of more than 300 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
[Details]

OmniFile Full Text Mega (EBSCO)
Provides indexing, abstracting, and selected full text to the Wilson databases for Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, and the Social Sciences. Also includes selected full text to the Wilson databases for Art, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science.
[Details]

Google Scholar
[Details]

Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[Details]

GenderWatch (ProQuest)
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
[Details]

Film & Television Literature Index
A comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
[Details]

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (EBSCO)
Readers' Guide Full Text is part of the Wilson OmniFile. It provides indexing and full text articles from both the popular press and peer reviewed journals.
[Details]

Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)
Provides citations to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
[Details]

American literary scholarship
Annual bibliography of scholarship in American literature
[Details]

The Year's work in English studies
An annual bibliography compiling scholarship in English studies. A bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literatures written in English. It is the largest and most comprehensive work of its kind and the oldest evaluative work of literary criticism. The Year’s Work in English Studies does not merely offer annotated or enumerated bibliography entries, but provides expert, critical commentary supplied for every book covered.
[Details]

The year's work in critical and cultural theory
The Year's Work in Critical & Cultural Theory provides a narrative bibliography of work in the field of critical and cultural theory, recording significant debates and issues of interest in a broad field of research in the humanities and social sciences. As the field of critical and cultural studies expands, so the range and scope of the volume grow, and volumes now include chapters on Queer theories and cultures and Film Studies.
[Details]

 Books, Dissertations, Plays and more

Library Catalog
The Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
[Details]

WorldCat (OCLC)
A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[Details]

Literature Online (Chadwyck)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
[Details]

MagillOnLiterature Plus
The MagillOnLiterature Plus is comprised of approximately 30,000 records, more than 1,000 images, and has a glossary of 1,310 literary terms. MagillOnLiterature Plus contains editorially reviewed critical analyses, brief plot summaries, and extended character profiles covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. MagillOnLiterature Plus also contains over 6,500 biographical essays on more than 3,500 different authors, including up-to-date lists of each author's principal works
[Details]

Black Drama, 2nd. Ed.
When completed, this database will contain the full-text of 1,200 plays, written from the mid-1800s to the present, by more than 100 playwrights worldwide including such notables as Langston Hughes and Zora Neal Hurston. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, performance information and images. The collection covers key writings from the Harlem Renaissance, the Black Arts movement from the 1960s and 1970s as well as 20th century African and Caribbean drama.
[Details]

Play Index (EBSCO)
This index provides bibliographic citations over some 30,000 plays published individually or in anthologies and collections going back to 1949.
[Details]

Short Story Index (EBSCO)
Provides a practical way to locate over 76,000 short stories online. The database includes the full text of 1,600 stories. More than 4,025 collections are indexed and made searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, date, literary technique, and source, or any combination thereof. Coverage is retrospective back to 1984.
[Details]

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Full-text page images of over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, and Thomason Tracts which cover titles printed in English between 1473-1700. For searchable text of selected titles see Early English Books Online -Text Creation Partnership
[Details]

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[Details]

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)
Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
[Details]

Early American Imprints, Series I Evans (1639-1800)
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides. It includes information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
[Details]

Early American Imprints. Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. Based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items.
[Details]

Wright American Fiction
This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors.
[Details]

Women Writers Project [1400-1850]
Full-text pre 1850 women's writing in English, or in English translation. Covers various genres and issues.
[Details]

Essay & General Literature Index (EBSCO)
Indexes essays published in book collections covering philosophy, religion, social and political science, economics, law, education, linguistics, science, the various arts, literature and history.
[Details]

 Biographies

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
The Dictionary of Literary Biography print series has been a favorite with students and scholars for many years, often the first place to go to find authoritative biographical and critical essays on “the world’s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.”
[Details]

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors.In-depth coverage of the most studied authors. Cross searching capability between LRC and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
[Details]

Literature Online (Chadwyck)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
[Details]

Biography in Context (Gale)
A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people from around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas and throughout history. Access to more than 330,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles available from more than 250 magazines as well as more than 20,000 images, and in-depth coverage of key events.
[Details]

Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale)
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works, that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
[Details]

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online
A reference work providing 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.
[Details]

American National Biography Online
Biographical resource on more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. All articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates.
[Details]

African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)
The database provides students, scholars and librarians with online access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, AASC features the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895 ; Black Women in America, and the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience. The Center also includes the African American National Biography project (estimated at 8 volumes); and the Encyclopedia of African American Art and Architecture. In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature and selected articles from other reference works.
[Details]

Encyclopedia of World Biography (Gale)
Includes entries of approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.
[Details]

Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)
Includes full-text profiles of persons, living and deceased, and prominent in many professions including literature, art, music, film, politics, education and history. The up-to-date bibliographies include links to book and articles about the person and in some citations there is a photograph of the person.
[Details]

 Newspapers: Current and historic

Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[Details]

Philadelphia Inquirer
Contains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
[Details]

Chronicle of Higher Education
The online version of The Chronicle is published every weekday, which features the complete contents of the latest issue, providing news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. Coverage includes the daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, and salary databases. Articles published since September 1989 is available.
[Details]

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
he most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[Details]

Historical New York Times (ProQuest)
The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[Details]

The Times Archives 1785-1985
The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
[Details]

Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Explore the early history of the English newspaper. Learn about the English Civil War, the Restoration and 18th century political and cultural developments.“The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of ‘news’ and ‘newspapers’ and the “free press,” totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable.
[Details]

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Includes the complete text of major 19th century African-American newspapers such as The Christian Recorder (1861-1902), Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The North Star (1847-1851), and the Frederick Douglass' Paper (1851-1863).
[Details]

Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800
Full-text transcription and digitized image of the actual newspaper page as it originally appeared.
[Details]

America’s Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (Readex)
A digital collection of early American newspapers from 1690 to 1922, that includes the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-1920.
[Details]

Virginia Gazette
The Virginia Gazette was published weekly in Williamsburg from 1736-1780. The news covered all Virginia and included some information for other colonies, Scotland, England etc. Not all the issues survived, and some have surfaced since they were first reproduced on microfilm in the mid-twentieth century that is the basis for the digital version.
[Details]

Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
Contains full-text of more than 11,000 articles from over 2500 issues of both Northern and Southern newspapers published between Nov. 1, 1860 and Apr. 30, 1865. Contains news articles, eye-witness and official reports of battles, editorials, advertisements, biographies and over 700 images of battlefield maps and illustrations.
[Details]

Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County 1819-1870
Full-text transcriptions from 6 nineteenth century Delaware County newspapers.
[Details]

 Dictionaries, Guides, Handbooks and more

  Encyclopædia Britannica Online

  Johns Hopkins Guide To Literary Theory & Criticism

  Oxford English Dictionary

  The Oxford American Thesaurus of Current English

  The Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar

  The Concise Oxford English Dictionary

  Literature Resource Center (Gale)

  MLA Literary Research Guide

  Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television (Gale)

  Literature Online (Chadwyck)

  Cambridge History of English and American Literature

  African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)

  Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature

  Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature

  Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment

  Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students

  St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture

  Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online

 Reviews -- Literature reviews, book reviews, performance reviews and more

American literary scholarship
Annual bibliography of scholarship in American literature
[Details]

The Year's work in English studies
An annual bibliography compiling scholarship in English studies. A bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literatures written in English. It is the largest and most comprehensive work of its kind and the oldest evaluative work of literary criticism. The Year’s Work in English Studies does not merely offer annotated or enumerated bibliography entries, but provides expert, critical commentary supplied for every book covered.
[Details]

The year's work in critical and cultural theory
The Year's Work in Critical & Cultural Theory provides a narrative bibliography of work in the field of critical and cultural theory, recording significant debates and issues of interest in a broad field of research in the humanities and social sciences. As the field of critical and cultural studies expands, so the range and scope of the volume grow, and volumes now include chapters on Queer theories and cultures and Film Studies.
[Details]

Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)
Indexes book reviews published in U.S., Canadian and British periodicals, covering over 7,000 adult and children's books each year. Includes English-language fiction and nonfiction.
[Details]

Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (EBSCO)
This database covers some 300,000 books, citing more than 1.5 million book reviews. Master records for each book include the title's essentials (author, descriptive summary, publisher, publication year, page count, ISBN, indicator of illustrations, and more) plus links to review excerpts and review citations. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, presenting the most evaluative passages of the review, and most have at least two. These excerpts, together with the descriptive summaries of the books, deliver a complete picture of how the book was received at the time it was published.
[Details]

Book Review Index Online
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
[Details]

Literature Online (Chadwyck)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
[Details]

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.
[Details]

Project Muse
Searchable collection of recent full-text humanities, social science and mathematics journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
[Details]

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
he most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[Details]

JSTOR
A searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
[Details]

Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[Details]

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, as well as theatrical productions, reviews of productions and other material related to Shakespeare published or produced between 1968 and 2003, with coverage continuing to extend forward and backward in time.
[Details]

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Formerly Expanded Academic Index. A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
[Details]

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
LCO is an extensive compilation of literary commentary reaching back 30 years and cover centuries of critiques on authors and their works that span all time periods, types of literature and regions. The cross searchable collection brings together the most acclaimed literary series Drama Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism providing criticism on the major authors, dramatists and poets. The database includes Shakespearean Literature Criticism with a comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of his plays and poetry.
[Details]

Shakespearean Literature Criticism (Gale)
This database provides comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of the plays of Shakespeare with excerpts from the criticism of William Shakespeare's plays and poetry, from the first published appraisals to current evaluations. Reprints also available from Literature Resource Center.
[Details]

 Primary Sources

Literature Online (Chadwyck)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
[Details]

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Full-text page images of over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, and Thomason Tracts which cover titles printed in English between 1473-1700. For searchable text of selected titles see Early English Books Online -Text Creation Partnership
[Details]

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)
Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
[Details]

Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Explore the early history of the English newspaper. Learn about the English Civil War, the Restoration and 18th century political and cultural developments.“The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of ‘news’ and ‘newspapers’ and the “free press,” totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable.
[Details]

Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800
Full-text transcription and digitized image of the actual newspaper page as it originally appeared.
[Details]

The Times Archives 1785-1985
The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
[Details]

Historical New York Times (ProQuest)
The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[Details]

Early American Imprints, Series I Evans (1639-1800)
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides. It includes information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
[Details]

Early American Imprints. Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. Based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items.
[Details]

Wright American Fiction
This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors.
[Details]

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Includes the complete text of major 19th century African-American newspapers such as The Christian Recorder (1861-1902), Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The North Star (1847-1851), and the Frederick Douglass' Paper (1851-1863).
[Details]

American Periodicals Series - APS Online (ProQuest)
Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
[Details]

America’s Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (Readex)
A digital collection of early American newspapers from 1690 to 1922, that includes the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-1920.
[Details]

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive
Part 1: New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humor and Leisure/Sport: Chronicles the rise of modern magazine culture. Includes magazines for women such as Hearth and Home and the Women’s Penny Paper, satirical magazines such as Punch and Fun, magazines aimed at the young such as Boy’s Own Paper as well as a number of sports and leisure magazines. Part 2: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial: Includes the complete run of 91 magazines with topics ranging from the abolition of the slave trade within the British Empire in 1807 to the first Opium Wars (1839-42) and the “scramble for Africa” in the 1880s and 1890s.
[Details]

British Periodicals Collection I (ProQuest)
The database consists of more than 160 journals spanning the late 17th through early 20th centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. This resource has facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published.
[Details]

Poole's Plus: Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Paratext)
19th Century Masterfile is a vast 'Index of Indexes', and is the largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. 19th Century Masterfile brings together over 60 subject indexes to: - Periodicals - Newspapers - Books - US Congressional Record - US and UK Government Documents - US Patents
[Details]

MLA Literary Research Guide
Learn how scholars identify and locate primary and secondary works.
[Details]

Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)
Provides citations to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
[Details]

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Includes 13,000 poems in full-text and 250,000 poetry citations, in addition to several important new features commentaries, bibliographies, notes on form and a glossary of prosodic terms.
[Details]

Black Drama, 2nd. Ed.
When completed, this database will contain the full-text of 1,200 plays, written from the mid-1800s to the present, by more than 100 playwrights worldwide including such notables as Langston Hughes and Zora Neal Hurston. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, performance information and images. The collection covers key writings from the Harlem Renaissance, the Black Arts movement from the 1960s and 1970s as well as 20th century African and Caribbean drama.
[Details]

Play Index (EBSCO)
This index provides bibliographic citations over some 30,000 plays published individually or in anthologies and collections going back to 1949.
[Details]

Short Story Index (EBSCO)
Provides a practical way to locate over 76,000 short stories online. The database includes the full text of 1,600 stories. More than 4,025 collections are indexed and made searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, date, literary technique, and source, or any combination thereof. Coverage is retrospective back to 1984.
[Details]

North American Theatre Online
This resource includes more than 40,000 pages of important reference sources in electronic format, indexed and searchable along with all the other content. O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources. Also, in-depth records cover tens of thousands of plays, including many previously unpublished works by major authors—not only major and known plays, but also partial works, works that have never been performed, and works that were believed lost, providing researchers with unique and never-before-seen information. Related resources include thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera.
[Details]

Past Masters (Intelex)
Contains full-text of scholarly editions of many philosophers, theologians and literary writers: Anselm, Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine, Austen, Chesterton, Descartes, Dewey, Feuerbach, Fichte, Foucault, Francis of Assisi, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Kierkegaard, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Marx and Engels, Merleau-Ponty, Newman, Nietzsche, Ockham, Pascal, Pierce, Plato, Poinsot, Royce, Santayana, Schopenhauer, Shelley, Spinoza, Synge, Wittgenstein and Wollestonecraf, as well as collections for British Philosophy 1600-1900, The Continental Rationalists, The Latin Background: 1100-1550, and The Romantic Age.
[Details]

Medieval Sources Online (Manchester Univ. Press)
This database contains full-text translations of primary sources from AD 640-1600. There are over three thousand pages of medieval sources annotated and edited to the high standard expected of a university press with over a century of experience.
[Details]

Philadelphia Area Consortium of Special Collections Libraries
PACSCL includes major archival repositories and the libraries of some of the country's most prestigious universities, museums and learned societies.
[Details]

 Style Guides

Falvey's List: Citing Your Resources
[Details]

Research and Documentation Online
Online guide to MLA, APA, Chicago, and Council of Science Editors styles.
[Details]

RefWorks
Never type a bibliography again! RefWorks will help you easily gather, manage, and store bibliographic citations for all types of information, as well as generate footnotes and bibliographies.
[Details]

EndNote
Download EndNote citation management software.
[Details]

Associated Press Stylebook Online
The Associated Press Stylebook or AP Stylebook Online provides style guidance for newspaper, magazine and web journalists and writers and allows for quick and advanced searching.
[Details]

Chicago Manual of Style Online
The 16th edition of the standard style manual used by writers and editors of scholarly books and journals.
Use the online Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide for easy reference.
Watch the online tutorial A Brief Introduction to the Chicago Manual of Style.
Download our guide to Getting Started With Chicago-Style.
A print copy is available at the information desk: Z253.U69 2010
[Details]

APA Style
Provides tips including a blog for using the new 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
[Details]

 Course Resources

The Literary Experience
For students of English 1050, The Literary Experience, or those interested in literary research.
[Details]

Poetry
This guide is suggested for students taking English or ACS courses or those interested in poetry explication.
[Details]

 Web Sites

Organization: Modern Language Association
[Details]

Organization: Academy Of American Poets
[Details]

Guides: Citing Web Resources
[Details]

Guides: Critical Reading: A Guide
[Details]

Guides: Elements Of Style
[Details]

Cambridge History of English and American Literature
Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing.
[Details]

Professional: Calls for Papers in English and American Literature
[Details]

IPL Online Literary Criticism Collection (Internet Public Library)
[Details]

MAPS, Modern American Poetry Site
[Details]

Modernist Journals Project
The Modernist Journals Project is a major resource for the study of modernism in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern.A joint project of Brown University and The University of Tulsa.
[Details]

Representative Poetry On-Line
[Details]

Dickinson Electronic Archives
A web site devoted to the study of Emily Dickinson, her writing practices, writings directly influencing her work, and critical and creative writings generated by her work.
[Details]

Wired For Books (famous authors reading their work)
[Details]

Voice of the Shuttle
meta site
[Details]

Edith Wharton Review
[Details]

The First Folio of Shakespeare
From the University of Chicago Library, the First Folio of Shakespeare, prepared by Charlton Hinman and published by The Oxford Text Archive. The texts are searchable.
[Details]

 Directories

MLA Periodicals Directory
“(Go to the MLA International Bibliography for literary scholarship.) Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Contains information available on the journals and series that are covered in the MLA International Bibliography database... Over 5,800 titles are included; of these, over 4,400 are currently indexed. The records consist of editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, submission guidelines, and information on whether or not journals are peer reviewed. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.”
[Details]


Last Modified: Wednesday, March 27th, 2013

Jutta Seibert is the interim subject librarian for English (Department Webpage) and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

jseibert Jutta Seibert
Team Leader - Academic Integration
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 228
610-519-7876