FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY


You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Ethics

Ethics

Ethics Subject Guide Homepage

Finding Ethics Books

Locating General Ethics Articles

Locating Course Specific Ethics Articles

Ethics Specific Encyclopedias

Locating Newspaper Articles

Course Resources


Welcome to the Ethics Subject Guide

This guide covers ethics specific resources for research and is arranged by resource types

Please use the links on the left to Navigate to specific resource types.

An ideal place to start your ethics research is the Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (2nd Ed.) This comprehensive online encyclopedia covers a broad range of ethical issues and includes over 100 new articles on current ethical issues ranging from cyborgs to the issues facing online social networking. Each article delivers a thorough introduction to its topic and concludes with a recommended reading list. Students may also browse the table of contents to generate ideas for topics.

The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is another comprehensive resource comprised of over 700 entries, ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 words in length, written by an international cast of subject experts. It provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in normative ethics, metaethics, and practical ethics.

Opposing Viewpoints Resources in Context (Gale) Provides a complete overview of both sides of a large number of ethical issues. Access information on social issues through viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

In addition to MLA and APA, many ethics courses use the Chicago Manual of Style citation system. A PowerPoint presentation on Chicago Style can be found here.

Click here for general philosophy resources

Clich here for general theology & religious studies resources


rlebla01 Robert LeBlanc
First Year Experience/Humanities Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 226
610-519-7778


Rob LeBlanc is the subject librarian for Ethics and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.


 


Last Modified: Wednesday, March 26th, 2014