Articles
GenderWatch (ProQuest)A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
[
Details]
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)Covers sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Journals published by sociological associations, groups, faculties and institutes, and periodicals containing the term "sociology" in their titles are abstracted fully.
[
Details]
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.
[
Details]
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)An annotated reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes journal articles, book reviews and dissertations.
[
Details]
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexCovers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
[
Details]
Institute for Women's Policy ResearchThe Institute conducts rigorous research and disseminates its findings to address the needs of women, promote public dialogue, and strengthen families, communities, and societies. Various publications can be viewed and printed.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
America: History and Life (Ebsco)A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
[
Details]
Primary Sources
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)Provides citations to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
[
Details]
Historic Documents (Online Edition)Contains 32 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
[
Details]
Women Writers Project [1400-1850]Full-text pre 1850 women's writing in English, or in English translation. Covers various genres and issues.
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
The Times Archives 1785-1985The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
[
Details]
American Periodicals Series - APS Online (ProQuest)Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
[
Details]
British Periodicals Collection I (ProQuest)The database consists of more than 160 journals spanning the late 17th through early 20th centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. This resource has facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published.
[
Details]
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (EBSCO)Readers' Guide Full Text is part of the Wilson OmniFile. It provides indexing and full text articles from both the popular press and peer reviewed journals.
[
Details]
OpinionArchivesProvides an accessible and invaluable source of information of electronic archives to leading journals of opinion. Search the full text of over 740 years of archives including
Harpers Magazine, The New Republic, The Nation, Commentary, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, National Review and
The New York Review of Books. An invaluable resource, providing in-depth analysis of topics such as the cold war, the Arab-Israeli conflict, American foreign policy, defense, the Supreme Court, affirmative action, welfare, crime, immigration, religion, education, art, literature, militarism, human rights violations, environmental destruction, classical music, and much more.
[
Details]
Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (PQ)This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms.
[
Details]
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Digital ArchivePart 1: New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humor and Leisure/Sport: Chronicles the rise of modern magazine culture. Includes magazines for women such as Hearth and Home and the Women’s Penny Paper, satirical magazines such as Punch and Fun, magazines aimed at the young such as Boy’s Own Paper as well as a number of sports and leisure magazines.
Part 2: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial: Includes the complete run of 91 magazines with topics ranging from the abolition of the slave trade within the British Empire in 1807 to the first Opium Wars (1839-42) and the “scramble for Africa” in the 1880s and 1890s.
[
Details]
Biographies
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale)Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works, that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
[
Details]
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography OnlineA reference work providing 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.
[
Details]
American National Biography OnlineBiographical resource on more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. All articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of World Biography (Gale)Includes entries of approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.
[
Details]
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)Includes full-text profiles of persons, living and deceased, and prominent in many professions including literature, art, music, film, politics, education and history. The up-to-date bibliographies include links to book and articles about the person and in some citations there is a photograph of the person.
[
Details]
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia[
Details]
Biographical Dictionary of Ancient Greek and Roman Women1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Women in the Renaissance: Italy, France, and England1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Women in the Middle Ages1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers2 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Women under the Third Reich: A Biographical Dictionary1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Newspapers
GenderWatch (ProQuest)A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
[
Details]
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Philadelphia InquirerContains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
The Times Archives 1785-1985The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
[
Details]
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[
Details]
America’s Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (Readex)A digital collection of early American newspapers from 1690 to 1922, that includes the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-1920.
[
Details]
Statistics
WomanStats ProjectThe WomanStats Project is the most comprehensive compilation of information on the status of women in the world with qualitative and quantitative information on over 260 indicators of women's status in 174 countries.
To view the data, you first need to create a free account.
[
Details]
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesIncludes everything from government spending to the environment to communications. It is a most comprehensive one-volume reference source on the Nation's economic and social condition.
[
Details]
DataPlanetSearch and browse for datasets on topics ranging from banking to criminal justice to economic indicators to health to labor to natural resources and transportation gleaned from government agencies, private exchanges, and international organizations. Statistical Datasets supports customized graphing, mapping and even has some common statistical functions.
[
Details]
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in the distant 1975 and has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
[
Details]
Encyclopedias
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge.[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Social Theory[
Details]
American Women: Who Are They & How They LiveProvides demographic data showing the size of the female population, its changing age distribution, rising educational attainment, and evolving racial composition. Also includes demographic data on women's health, incomes, living arrangements, spending, and wealth.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence[
Details]
American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Women in the American West[
Details]
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Women in Early America: Struggle, Survival, and Freedom in a New World1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender2 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism2 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library
The second volume includes primary sources reprinted from magazines, scholarly journals and books.
[
Details]
Handbook of American Women's History2nd edition
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
From Suffrage to the Senate: An Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics2 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Russian Women's Movements1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The Women's Chronology: A Year-by-Year Record, from Prehistory to the Present1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Women's Studies Encyclopedia3 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library
Vol. 1: Views from the Sciences
Vol. 2: Literature, Arts, and Learning
Vol. 3: History, Philosophy, and Religion
[
Details]
Chronology of Women Worldwide: People, Places, and Events That Shaped Women's History1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures[
Details]
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family[
Details]
Working Americans, 1880-2005: Women at WorkVol. 6
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Motherhood[
Details]
Books
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (PQ)This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms.
[
Details]
Falvey Library CatalogThe Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
[
Details]
Journals
Last Modified: Thursday, November 10th, 2011