Books
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
Google Scholar[
Details]
CRCnetBASEIncludes full-text of CRC books and guides about GIS, environmental science and engineering, geoscience and social sciences
[
Details]
Articles
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
[
Details]
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
PAIS International (ProQuest)The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
[
Details]
GeoRefCovers the most comprehensive database of geoscience literature.
[
Details]
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs OnlineA resource that aggregates dispersed content about theory and research in international affairs. CIAO includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, full-text journal articles and policy briefs, and teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features. Advanced searching capability is present and results can be sorted by date and relevance. CIAO also provides links to international affairs Internet sources. All sections of CIAO are updated monthly.
[
Details]
Oxford Islamic Studies OnlineOffers unrivaled online access to the history and culture of Islam and provides full-text access to great Oxford reference and scholarly works, including The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, two classic interpretations of the Qur'an, a Concordance of the Qur'an, and What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam.
[
Details]
Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
[
Details]
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)Commerce Reports, Country Reports, Country Profiles (last published in 2008) and Market Indicators and Forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit offer monthly and annual in depth analysis, data and ratings for the infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns for over 200 countries.
[
Details]
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesIncludes everything from government spending to the environment to communications. It is a most comprehensive one-volume reference source on the Nation's economic and social condition.
[
Details]
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
Handbook of Latin American Studies - HLAS (LC)The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
[
Details]
Pollution Abstracts (ProQuest)Abstracts articles from journals, conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents. Includes scientific research and government policies.
[
Details]
County and City Data BookPresents statistics on such topics as population, health, crime, education, income, trade for each county and incorporated city with 25,000 inhabitants or more.
[
Details]
Population Index [1986 - 1998]A searchable and browsable annotated bibliography database of books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics.
[
Details]
U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickfactsQuick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography.
[
Details]
CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is based on a common structure: overview, background, current situation, pro/con section, special focus, chronology, bibliography and next step.
[
Details]
Marcellus Shale Initiative PublicationsThis database focuses on scientific, technical, sociological, and economic aspects of gas shale production and hydraulic fracturing in the Marcellus shale and other shale plays. It lists primarily print-based publications and how to obtain them. [
Details]
Google Scholar[
Details]
Google Maps ManiaAn unofficial Google Maps blog tracking the websites, mashups and tools being influenced by Google Maps
[
Details]
Geology.com - Geology and Earth Science HighlightsContains volcanoe and tsunami information, plate tectonic maps, U.S. relief maps, U.S. and world reference maps, satellite images, and topographic maps and aerial photos.
[
Details]
A Globalization Resource: Globalization101.orgThis page contains links to websites from governments, international organizations, non-governmental organizations, businesses, media, and other groups from around the world to help you research further the complex phenomenon of globalization. The viewpoints expressed by any of the groups in the websites and links are not endorsed, and accuracy of the information posted on these sites is not guaranteed.
[
Details]
ABSEES- American Bibliography of Slavic + East European Studies (EBSCO)Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.
[
Details]
CQ Global Researcher (current reports cease Nov., 2012)CQ Global Researcher explores international perspectives in a digestible, easy-to-access format featuring popular sections such as "Current Situation," "Issue Questions" and "Pro-Con." Maps, charts, and other explanatory graphics are included as well. CQ Global Researcher is published monthly, with each report also available in magazine-style PDF format covering a pressing political, social, environmental, or regional issue from around the globe. Each original report is written by a seasoned journalist with years of international experience.
(FINAL Global Researcher report: November, 2012)
[
Details]
CQ Electronic Library (CQ Press)Combines many CQ Press resources for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Access is provided to Congress and the Nation (1945-2004), Historic Documents Series (1972 -), Political Handbook of the World, Supreme Court Yearbook (1989 -), Vital Statistics on American Politics and the Washington Information Directory.
[
Details]
PsycINFO 1872-current (ProQuest)Indexes journals, dissertations and some books in the fields of personality psychology, social psychology, educational psychology and more.
[
Details]
AGRICOLA -(AGRICultural OnLine Access)Provides book and article citations to agricultural literature. Some links to full-text documents online.
[
Details]
News
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[
Details]
Federal News ServiceProvides immediate verbatim transcripts of government briefings, speeches, press conferences and other newsmaker events to the many domestic and international news bureaus in Washington, D. C. FNS transcribs some Congressional hearings, National Press Club speeches, and significant events such as conferences at Brookings Institution, Carnegie Endowment and broadcast interviews with opinion leaders.
[
Details]
Mideast Wire.comA daily email newsletter offering a concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
[
Details]
CNN.comCNN.com is among the world's leaders in online news and information delivery. CNN.com features the latest multimedia technologies, from live video streaming to audio packages to searchable
archives of news features and background information. The site is updated continuously throughout the day.
[
Details]
BBC World ServiceProvides international news, analysis and information in English and 32 other languages. Also includes a BBC "
News and analysis in your language" section.
[
Details]
Reuters.comInternational multimedia news agency, providing investing news, world news, business news, technology news, headline news, small business news, news alerts, personal finance, stock market, and mutual funds information available on Reuters.com, video, mobile, and interactive television platforms.
[
Details]
Hindi surprise language project - document display in Java timemapA process for map based spatial and temporal search and display of Hindi news documents.
[
Details]
United Nations News CentreBreaking news from the UN news service
[
Details]
European CommissionThe main features of the Commission's web site are the latest official press releases; photos and live TV coverage of EU affairs; details of forthcoming events; links to the;
policies administered and implemented by the Commission ; the possibility of influencing the decision-making process; easy access to its organisation (meetings, work programme, contacts...) and direct links to its key information services.
[
Details]
Europe Media Monitor (EMM)European Commisssion, Democrate General, Joint Research Centre experimental news feed. The selection and placement of stories are determined automatically by a computer program.
[
Details]
NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation)As of April 2010, NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation), Japan’s sole public broadcaster. To serve Japan, NHK operates five television channels and three radio services. Internationally, NHK offers two television services.
[
Details]
International Crisis GroupAn independent, non-profit, non-governmental organisation committed to preventing and resolving deadly conflict. Crisis Group is considered a leading independent, non-partisan, source of analysis and advice to governments, and intergovernmental bodies like the United Nations, European Union and World Bank, on the prevention and resolution of deadly conflict.
[
Details]
Al Jazeera - AJE24-hour English-language news and current affairs TV channel headquartered in Doha, Qatar. The station broadcasts news features and analysis, documentaries, live debates, current affairs, business, technology, and sports. The channel aims to provide both a regional voice and a global perspective to a potential world audience of over one billion English speakers who don't have an Anglo-American worldview.
[
Details]
Guardian.co.uk - UK National newspaperThe Guardian and Observer newspapers and guardian.co.uk website are published by Guardian News & Media (GNM).
[
Details]
Deutsche-WelleGermany’s international broadcaster that produces television, radio and online content in 30 languages. It provides a European perspective to its global audience and promotes intercultural dialogue.
[
Details]
The Canadian Broadcasting CorporationDiverse regional and cultural perspectives into the daily lives of Canadians in English, French and eight aboriginal languages, and in seven languages on our international Radio service, RCI.
[
Details]
Newspapers
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
The Times Archives 1785-1985The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
[
Details]
ProQuest NewspapersIncludes coverage of 27 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.
[
Details]
Internet Public Library NewspapersOnline newspapers from around the world.
[
Details]
People's Daily Online"People's Daily brings you the latest news dispatches of policy information and resolutions of the Chinese Government and major domestic news and international news releases from China. It reflects the views of the Chinese people, expounds on justice and lambasts various forms of malpractice."
[
Details]
Web Sites
Atlas of North AmericaFramework raw data that was used to produce 2004 authoritative view of North America
[
Details]
Climate - NOAA Climate Services(see also U.S. Gov't agencies -NOAA below)
"The NOAA Climate Services Portal, for its initial prototype, has focused on developing the infrastructure and capacity to showcase a wide breadth of climate information to our users. The process of adding content to this infrastructure is in its early stages and has initially focused on several datasets and products from NOAA's National Climatic Data Center, Coastal Services Center, and Climate Prediction Center, among others. The initial intent is to highlight some of most popular datasets/products based on customer usage of the data.
[
Details]
Climate - National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world. NCDC operates the World Data Center for Meteorology which is co-located at NCDC in Asheville, North Carolina, and the World Data Center for Paleoclimatology which is located in Boulder, Colorado.
[
Details]
Conflict BarometerThe Heidelberg Institute for International Conflict Research (HIIK) at the Department of Political Science at the University of Heidelberg annually publishes the Conflict Barometer, which describes recent trends in conflict development, escalations, settlements.
[
Details]
Data sets - GEO Data Portal - United Nations Environment ProgrammeThe GEO Data Portal is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 450 different variables as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP. Display them on-the-fly as maps, graphs, data tables or download the data in different formats
[
Details]
Data.govData.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
[
Details]
Demographics USAREF HC110.C6 B847 2006 Source for standard Buying Power Index and custom BPI's. BPI's measure a markets spending power. May be used to measure market potential, evaluate new product potential and test marketing strategies.
[
Details]
Demographics of the U.S.: Trends and Projections[
Details]
Earth Institute at ColumbiaThere are often discussions of poverty and of topics like sustainable development projects that may be of interest.
[
Details]
EarthPortalEarth Portal has three components: 1. The Encyclopedia of Earth, with over 3,500 articles, is produced and reviewed by 1,000 scholars from 60 countries. 2. The Earth Forum provides commentary from scholars and discussions with the general public. 3. The Earth News offers news stories on environmental issues drawn from many sources. Hot topics, climate facts and current events are highlighted.
[
Details]
EarthTrends - Environmental InformationAn online collection of information regarding the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world. EarthTrends offers the public a large breadth of statistical, graphic, and analytical data in easily accessible formats.
[
Details]
EarthWatch Institute[
Details]
Earthtrends[
Details]
FAO Statistics - Food and Agriculture Organization of the UNThe Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations leads international efforts to defeat hunger.
[
Details]
GIS & ARCGIS galleryFeatured Maps and Apps from the ArcGIS Community using ARCGIS.com
[
Details]
GIS & ARCGIS, Maps/Apps for EveryoneA Web site for experiencing online ArcGIS. Visit the site to create maps, find and use maps, applications, and tools, and share your maps and applications with others.
[
Details]
GIS & Remote Sensing - AGIS, Agricultural Geo-Referenced Information SystemSouth Africa's Agricultural information available on the Internet
[
Details]
GIS & Remote Sensing - GIS Internet ResourcesThese pages provide pointers to GIS companies, associations, and government web pages as well as sources of software, data, publications, and services. Information does not reflect use or endorsement by the U.S. Government.
[
Details]
GIS & Remote Sensing - Geodata.govYour one-stop shop for federal, state & local geographic data.
[
Details]
GIS & Remote Sensing - Interactive Global Geostationary Weather Satellite ImagesWeather satellite image maps from around the world.
[
Details]
GIS & Remote Sensing - Our Earth as Art: Earth through the eyes of the Landsat & satelliteLandsat satellite, Landsat 7 images donated to the Library of Congress by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration ( NASA) and the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS). Visit their website at http://landsat.gsfc.nasa.gov/earthasart/
[
Details]
GIS & Remote Sensing - Shuttle Radar Topography Mission (SRTM)Under agreement with NASA, the USGS EROS Data Center distributes and archives Shuttle Radar Topography Mission (SRTM) data in accordance with a joint partnership Memorandum of Understanding between NASA and NGA.
[
Details]
GIS & Remote Sensing - The WWW Virtual Virtual Library; Remote SensingA vast library of remote sensing links for maps, data, & publications from around the world.
[
Details]
GIS & Remote Sensing - Visible Earth: HomeA catalog of NASA images and animations of the Earth.
[
Details]
GIS - Cultivating Spatial Intelligence (GIS Manual-Harvard)Discusses some principles for portraying quantitative statistics on maps. "There are two fundamental types of quantitative measurements that may need to be mappped: Raw Quantities (such as counts), Measures of Intensity (such as population density or the percentage of the population who are Canadian.)"
[
Details]
GIS loungeintroduction to GIS, includes cartographic and map making examples.
[
Details]
GeoPlatform.gov - a Geospatial PlatformThe vision of the Geospatial Platform is that all government agencies and their partners have access to geospatial capabilities to meet mission needs, ensure transparency and accountability, and geo-enable the business of government.
[
Details]
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names OnlineThe TGN includes names and associated information about places. Places in TGN include administrative political entities (e.g., cities, nations) and physical features (e.g., mountains, rivers). Current and historical places are included. Getty vocabularies are intended to provide terminology and other information about objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture and material culture. The TGN includes names and associated information about places. Places in TGN include administrative political entities (e.g., cities, nations) and physical features (e.g., mountains, rivers). Current and historical places are included.
[
Details]
Global Gateway - World Culture & ResourcesThe Library of Congress's effort to provide consistent, in-depth, high-quality access to its extensive international research collections.
[
Details]
IMF International Financial Statistics[
Details]
National Atlas (nationalatlas.gov)In the National Atlas Map Maker, you can assemble, view, and print your own maps. You can choose from hundreds of layers of geographic information to make maps. Each map layer can be displayed individually or mixed with others as you tailor a map to your needs.
[
Details]
Natural Disasters- Images of geological hazardsNational Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) - images of geological hazards
[
Details]
Ocean Basemap - ArcGISThis map service is designed to be used as a basemap by marine GIS professionals and as a reference map by anyone interested in ocean data. The basemap includes bathymetry, marine water body names, undersea feature names, and derived depth values in meters. Land features include administrative boundaries, cities, inland waters, roads, overlaid on land cover and shaded relief imagery. [
Details]
PA - Bureau of Topographic eologic survey[
Details]
Plate Tectonics - A Science Odyssey: Mountain Maker, Earth ShakerPBS's version of plate tectonics and continental slide and crush.
[
Details]
Plate Tectonics - Earth Floor: Plate TectonicsBasic explanations of the theory of plate tectonics, including convergent, divergent, and transform boundaries.
[
Details]
Plate Tectonics, the Cause of EarthquakesSponsored in part by the Nevada Seismologic Laboratory, and using NASA, NOAA, & USGS examples, the theory of plate tectonics is explained.
[
Details]
Shale Training & Education CenterShale Training & Education Center (ShaleTEC) is a collaboration between Pennsylvania College of Technology and Penn State Extension established to serve as the central resource for workforce development and education needs of the community and the oil and natural gas industry.
[
Details]
State & Local Government on the Net[
Details]
State RankingsREF HA203.U17
Translates the statistics generated by the U.S. government on everything from weather to crime to insurance coverage into easily comparable state rankings. Use this resource to identify potential test markets, by answering such questions as which are the top states for leisure or have the most sunny days
[
Details]
State and Metropolitan Area Data BookREF HA202.S84 2006 Quick reference to housing and population statistics for the U.S. Bureau of Census. Find values and percentages for population characteristics and business activity by county and city.
[
Details]
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Census Bureau)Sec. 5: Law Enforcement, Courts, Prisons.
[
Details]
Statistical Resources on the WebWeb portal for statistics created by the University of Michigan.
[
Details]
U.S. Census BureauCensus information about people & households, business & industry, geography, news, data tools, and fact finder resources
[
Details]
U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickfactsQuick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't Agencies - EPA: Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) Pollutant Loading ToolThe Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) Pollutant Loading Tool is a new tool designed to help you determine who is discharging, what pollutants they are discharging and how much, and where they are discharging. The tool calculates pollutant loadings from permit and DMR data from EPA‘s Permit Compliance System (PCS) and Integrated Compliance Information System for the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (ICIS-NPDES). Data is available for the years 2007 through 2010.[
Details]
U.S. Gov't Agencies - EPA: Enforcement & Compliance History Online (ECHO)ECHO provides integrated compliance and enforcement information for approximately 800,000 regulated facilities nationwide. The site allows users to find inspection, violation, enforcement action, informal enforcement action, and penalty information about facilities for the past three years. Facilities regulated under the following environmental statutes are included: Clean Air Act (CAA) Stationary Source Program, Clean Water Act (CWA) National Pollutant Elimination Discharge System (NPDES), Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), and Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA).[
Details]
U.S. Gov't Agencies - NGA (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency) GEOnet Names Server (GNS)The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names (see entry below). The database is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US BGN.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't Agencies - NOAA: National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)The National Oceanographic Data Center archives & provides public access to global oceanographic and coastal data, products, and information.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't Agencies - NOAA: State of the CoastCommunicates the crucial importance of healthy coastal ecosystems for a robust U.S. economy, a safe population, and a sustainable quality of life for coastal residents.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't Agencies - USDA (State Fact Sheets)State fact sheets provide information on population, employment, income, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, and top commodities, exports, and counties for each state in the United States.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - DOE (Department of Energy)The Department of Energy's overarching mission is to advance the national, economic, and energy security of the United States.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - DOE: Fossil EnergyData about a variety of energy sources, including hydrogen, carbon, natural gas, and strategic and oil petroleum reserves.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - DOE:Country Energy ProfilesData through 2006 by country, region, and commercial group (OECD, OPEC) for 215 countries including production, consumption, U.S. oil imports and CO2 emissions. Forecasts for 2007 for selected countries for total oil production and consumption. Analysis by country (Country Analysis Briefs) for 65 countries.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - EPA (Environmental Protection Agencies)The mission of the Environmental Protection Agency is to protect human health and the environment.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - EPA: Climate ChangeThe EPA climate change Web site has four main sections on climate change issues and another section on "What You Can Do" to reduce your contribution.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - Library of Congress: Geography & Map Reading Room"Maps and atlases were among the first items acquired when the Library of Congress was established in 1800. It was not until 1897, however, when the Library of Congress moved into its own building, that a separate Hall of Maps and Charts was created to house the growing collection of 47,000 maps and 1,200 atlases. The division now occupies an area of 90,000 square feet in the Library's James Madison Memorial Building. The area is specifically designed and constructed to accommodate a variety of cartographic collections, library functions, and a professional and technical staff of 58 persons."
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - NASA: Earth ObservatoryDatasets and information about atmoshprere, oceans, land, energy, life and natural hazards from NASA.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - NASA: Earth from Space - Technical SearchAlong with latitude and longitude searches, seven view categories can be combined in multiple searches of images for cities, earth landscapes, earth-human interactions, distinctive features, hurricanes and weather, wahter habits, and geographic regions.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - NASA: Global Hydrology & Climate Center (GHCC)Comprised of organizational elements from several agencies, GHCC, provides integrated scientific understanding of the Earth system to enable better decisions improving the global quality of life.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - NASA: Total Ozone Mapping SpectrometerThe official Website for information, data, and images from the Ozone Monitoring Instrument (OMI) on Aura and the Total Ozone Mapping Spectrometer (TOMS)
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - NOAA (National Oceanographic & Atmospheric Administration)(see also www.climate.gov)
"The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) conducts research and gathers data about the global oceans, atmosphere, space and sun, and applies this knowledge to science and service that touch the lives of all Americans."
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - NOAA: National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)NOAA's National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) provides scientific stewardship, products, and services for geophysical data from the Sun to the Earth and Earth's sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations from space.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - USDA (Department of Agriculture)A steward of our nation's 192 million acres of national forests and rangelands, the USDA is the country's largest conservation agency.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - USGS: EROS Data Center (Earth Resources Observation and Science)The Earth Resources Observation Systems (EROS) Data Center (EDC) is a data management, systems development, and research field center for the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) National Mapping Division.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - USGS: EarthExplorerUsing place names, longitude and latitude, and time periods, query data sets in aerial photography, AVHRR, declassified data, digital elevation, digital line graphs, digital maps, earth observation, global land surveys, Landsat data, radar, SPOT satellite and USGS commercial information.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - USGS: Geography web pageObservations and resources about land remote sensing, geographic analysis and monitoring, studying connections between people and the land, and providing society with relevant science information to inform public decisions.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - USGS: Global Visualization Viewer: Quick Start GuideA quick and easy online search and order tool for selected satellite and aerial data.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies - USGS: Minerals InformationStatistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies- USGS (U.S. Geoological Survey)The USGS lists its mission as "providing reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life." Also contains
historical topographic maps.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies- USGS: U.S. Board on Geographic NamesAuthoritative forms of geographic domestic and foreign names. The Board comprises representatives of Federal agencies concerned with geographic information, population, ecology, and management of public lands.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't. agencies - USGS: Climate and Land Use ChangeThe USGS undertakes scientific research, monitoring, remote sensing, modeling, synthesis, and forecasting to address the effects of climate and land use change on the Nation’s resources. This site describes the climate and land use change programs of USGS, such as carbon sequestration, Earth Resources Observation and Science Center (EROS), Geographic Analysis and Monitoring (GAM), Land Remote Sensing, National Climate Change and Wildlife Science Center and the Global Change Research and Development Program.
[
Details]
U.s. Gov't agencies - NOAA: Climate Diagnostics Center (CDC)CDC develops national capabilities to analyze, interpret, and forecast important climate variations on time scales ranging from a few weeks to centuries.
[
Details]
UN - Cartographic SectionIncludes country profile, thematic, deployment and political operations maps and UN Department of Public Information background notes and maps.
[
Details]
UN - Environment ProgrammeProvides leadership and encourages partnership in caring for the environment. The site includes news centre, multimedia and print and e-publications, some for downloading.
[
Details]
UN - Human Settlements StatisticsThe United Nations Human Settlements Programme, UN-HABITAT, is the United Nations agency for human settlements. It is mandated by the UN General Assembly to promote socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all.
[
Details]
UN - Map LibraryThe Dag Hammarskjöld Library - Map Library houses over 80,000 maps, some 3,000 atlases, gazetteers, travel guides, reference works and digital products; includes thematic and topographic maps.
[
Details]
UN Data: a world of informationThe United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA)provides search and download capability for a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.
[
Details]
UN Development Millennium Goals"The eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) – which range from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions. They have galvanized unprecedented efforts to meet the needs of the world’s poorest."
[
Details]
UNESCO Institute for Statistics[
Details]
United Nations (UN)Official United Nations web site in English
[
Details]
United Nations (UN) locatorOfficial WEB site locator for the United Nations system of organizations.
[
Details]
United Nations - Demographic Yearbook[
Details]
United Nations - Global IssuesThis website offers an overview of some of these global issues, and links to other resources where you can get additional information from the United Nations.
[
Details]
United Nations Development ProgramThe United Nations Development Program features full text reports and global economic indicator statistics.
[
Details]
United Nations StatisticsGlobal statistical information on economics, demographic, social indicators, environment, energy and Millennium Development Goals.
[
Details]
Vital Climate Graphics Africa - UNEPFrom the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), organizing and transforming available environmental data into credible, science-based information products, delivered through innovative communication tools and capacity-building services targeting relevant stakeholders.
[
Details]
WHOSIS (World Health Organization)Core health indicators, searchable by variables & country.
[
Details]
WWF - Biodiversity Support Program[
Details]
Water Resources in the Middle East: a bibliographyThis bibliography is a selective listing of books and journal articles concerned with the issue of Water Resources in the Middle East. The bibliography covers works published from 1993 to the present and is limited to the two working languages of the United Nations, English and French.
[
Details]
World Atlas of Biodiversity[
Details]
World Bank Data & ResearchThe World Bank also know as the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development is a cooperative that provides technical and financial assistance to developing countries. Reports and data on health, infrastructure, trade, environment, education, debt, corruption, and industrial and agricultural development.
[
Details]
World Bank World Development Indicators (WDI)"World Development Indicators (WDI) publication is the World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. The 2007 WDI includes more than 900 indicators." The WDI and GDF Online is owned and copyrighted by the World Bank and the users may not copy, reverse engineer, modify, decompile or disassemble WDI and GDF Online or its operating software. While every effort has been made to ensure the high quality and accuracy of WDI and GDF Online, the Bank does not warrant that the functions contained in WDI and GDF Online shall meet the users? requirements or that the operation of WDI Online shall be uninterrupted or error-free.
[
Details]
World Conservation Monitoring Centre[
Details]
Statistics
AQUASTAT (FAO)AQUASTAT is FAO's (Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN) global information system on water and agriculture, developed by the Land and Water Division. The main mandate of the programme is to collect, analyze and disseminate information on water resources, water uses, and agricultural water management with an emphasis on countries in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean.
[
Details]
American FactFinderA search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the Census Bureau. American FactFinder 2 can be used to retrieve data from the 2000 and 2010 Census, American Community
Surveys (ACS), Population Estimates and the Economic Census and Surveys, including 2010 redistricting data, street address and zip code data searches.
[
Details]
CensusScope-2010 CensusThis site shows census trends for states, cities and metropolitan areas to provide context for the 2010 Census releases.
[
Details]
Data.govData.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
[
Details]
EPA- EnviroMapperEnviroMapper is a powerful tool used to map various types of environmental information, including air releases, drinking water, toxic releases, hazardous wastes, water discharge permits, and Superfund sites. Maps can be created at the national, state, and county levels.
[
Details]
FAO Statistics - Food and Agriculture Organization of the UNThe Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations leads international efforts to defeat hunger.
[
Details]
FedStats"The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. federal agencies."
[
Details]
Healthmap.org- Global Disease Alert MapBrings together disparate data sources to achieve a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. This freely available Web site integrates outbreak data of varying reliability, including ProMed, World Health Organization, and Google News.
[
Details]
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in the distant 1975 and has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
[
Details]
Immigration Data Hub -MPIThe MPI Data Hub showcases in-depth and latest data on immigrant trends and patterns in the United States and around the world. Research tools include US State Data on the Foreign Born, Maps of the Foreign Born, the World Migration Map, Comparative Charts and Tables, the Global Remittances Guide, and asylum data.
[
Details]
International Energy Agency Statistics (IEA)Online statistics and publications from the International Energy Agency (IEA)whose current work focuses on climate change policies, market reform, energy technology collaboration and outreach to the rest of the world, especially major consumers and producers of energy like China, India, Russia and the OPEC countries.
[
Details]
International Statistical Agencies - U.S. Census Bureau[
Details]
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesIncludes everything from government spending to the environment to communications. It is a most comprehensive one-volume reference source on the Nation's economic and social condition.
[
Details]
U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickfactsQuick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography.
[
Details]
UN Data: a world of informationThe United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA)provides search and download capability for a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.
[
Details]
United Nations (UN) locatorOfficial WEB site locator for the United Nations system of organizations.
[
Details]
United Nations - Demographic Yearbook[
Details]
Blogs
Associations
Association of American GeographersA nonprofit scientific and educational society founded in 1904 where members from more than 60 countries share interests in the theory, methods, and practice of geography.
[
Details]
International Geographical Union (IGU)This is the website of the International Geographical Union, the union first established in Brussels in 1922.
[
Details]
International Association of GeoChemistryA private, not-for-profit international organization that promotes the application of chemistry across the entire spectrum of the earth and environmental sciences through sponsoring scientific conferences and educational activities, establishing internal specialty-area working groups, and disseminating new geochemical knowledge through scientific publishing.
[
Details]
Databases
MetroPhilaMapper"MetroPhilaMapper enables users to view results in five ways: map, table, statistics, scatter, rank. MetroPhilaMapper, MPIP's interactive mapping and analysis application, powered by Kaleidocade! Using only a web interface, you can interactively investigate and portray regional data aggregated to a variety of geographic levels using maps, charts, tables, and statistical analysis. This site will allow you to describe spatial patterns, display growth, reveal trends, compare indicators, and aid in targeting valuable markets."
[
Details]
Philadelphia Stat VideosVideos of previously broadcast performance management, statistical sessions from Philadelphia department managers
[
Details]
Bibliographies
ESRI bibliography of gis, sciecne & technologyThis ESRI Library bibliography covers the literature of geographic information systems, science, and technology. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports from the origins of GIS to the present. There are currently over 78,000 entries in the bibliography.
[
Details]
Water Resources in the Middle East: a bibliographyThis bibliography is a selective listing of books and journal articles concerned with the issue of Water Resources in the Middle East. The bibliography covers works published from 1993 to the present and is limited to the two working languages of the United Nations, English and French.
[
Details]
Course Resources
AfricaMap-BetaAn open source web mapping system that is currently under construction. It is built to assist academic research and teaching as well as the general public and supports discovery, investigation, analysis, visualization, communication and archiving of multi-disciplinary, multi-source and multi-format data, organized spatially and temporally.
[
Details]
Atlas of North AmericaFramework raw data that was used to produce 2004 authoritative view of North America
[
Details]
CIA - The World FactbookThe online Factbook is updated bi-weekly.
The U.S. government’s complete geographical handbook, featuring full-color maps and flags of all nations and geographical entities. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. (Bartleby.com)
[
Details]
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs OnlineA resource that aggregates dispersed content about theory and research in international affairs. CIAO includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, full-text journal articles and policy briefs, and teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features. Advanced searching capability is present and results can be sorted by date and relevance. CIAO also provides links to international affairs Internet sources. All sections of CIAO are updated monthly.
[
Details]
Data.govData.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of IndiaThe Encyclopedia of India encompasses the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Across the four volumes of the Encyclopedia, readers are invited to explore India in a comprehensive reference work of more than 600 alphabetically arranged, illustrated articles.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim WorldThis encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of World CulturesThis reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
[
Details]
Environmental EncyclopediaProvides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
[
Details]
GeonamesThe GeoNames geographical database covers all countries and contains over eight million placenames that are available for download free of charge.
[
Details]
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names OnlineThe TGN includes names and associated information about places. Places in TGN include administrative political entities (e.g., cities, nations) and physical features (e.g., mountains, rivers). Current and historical places are included. Getty vocabularies are intended to provide terminology and other information about objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture and material culture. The TGN includes names and associated information about places. Places in TGN include administrative political entities (e.g., cities, nations) and physical features (e.g., mountains, rivers). Current and historical places are included.
[
Details]
Global Gateway - World Culture & ResourcesThe Library of Congress's effort to provide consistent, in-depth, high-quality access to its extensive international research collections.
[
Details]
Mideast Wire.comA daily email newsletter offering a concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
[
Details]
National Atlas (nationalatlas.gov)In the National Atlas Map Maker, you can assemble, view, and print your own maps. You can choose from hundreds of layers of geographic information to make maps. Each map layer can be displayed individually or mixed with others as you tailor a map to your needs.
[
Details]
PA - Bureau of Topographic eologic survey[
Details]
Political Handbook of the World (CQ Press)Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
[
Details]
The Library of Congress - Country StudiesThe Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
[
Details]
U.S. Census BureauCensus information about people & households, business & industry, geography, news, data tools, and fact finder resources
[
Details]
U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickfactsQuick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't Agencies - USDA (State Fact Sheets)State fact sheets provide information on population, employment, income, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, and top commodities, exports, and counties for each state in the United States.
[
Details]
U.S. Gov't agencies- USGS (U.S. Geoological Survey)The USGS lists its mission as "providing reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life." Also contains
historical topographic maps.
[
Details]
World GazetteerThe main part of the World Gazetteer consists of current and some historical population data for all countries and territories, their administrative divisions, cities and towns. "Historical" in this context means the last or last two censuses or estimates after the last census.
[
Details]
netstate.com - Geography of the 50 statesState geographic information
[
Details]
Organizations
World Meteorological OrganizationThe World Meteorological Organization (WMO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations. It is the UN system's authoritative voice on the state and behaviour of the Earth's atmosphere, its interaction with the oceans, the climate it produces and the resulting distribution of water resources.
[
Details]
The Society for Conservation GIS (SCGIS)The SCGIS assists conservationists worldwide in using GIS through communication, networking, scholarships, and training. The Society for Conservation GIS (SCGIS) works to build community, provide knowledge, and support individuals using Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and science for the conservation of natural resources and cultural heritage.
[
Details]
International Crisis GroupAn independent, non-profit, non-governmental organisation committed to preventing and resolving deadly conflict. Crisis Group is considered a leading independent, non-partisan, source of analysis and advice to governments, and intergovernmental bodies like the United Nations, European Union and World Bank, on the prevention and resolution of deadly conflict.
[
Details]
Directories
Last Modified: Thursday, May 16th, 2013