Top-Rated Sources for Scholarly Journal Articles
America: History and Life (Ebsco)A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)An annotated reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes journal articles, book reviews and dissertations.
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) OnlineA comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.
More Helpful Sources for Scholary Journal Articles
Essay & General Literature Index (EBSCO)Indexes essays published in book collections covering philosophy, religion, social and political science, economics, law, education, linguistics, science, the various arts, literature and history.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)This is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
ABSEES- American Bibliography of Slavic + East European Studies (EBSCO)Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.
Iter: Bibliography of Medieval and Renaissance Europe from 400-1700A bibliography of more than 300 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexCovers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Rambi: The Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesA selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Coverage includes important articles published througout the world in the field of Judaica, mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, and offprints of articles from journals or collections in the library. Rambi also lists articles from secondary sources.
L'Annee PhilologiqueComprehensive bibliography of journal articles, books and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings and essay collections) on Greek and Roman antiquity. Indexing lags 3 years behind the current date and goes back to 1924.
Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API provides access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change with coverage both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)Provides quick, powerful access to bibliographic and citation information you need to find research data, and analyze trends, journals, and researchers from over 1,395 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. The database provides user ability to track prior research and monitor current developments, see who is citing their work, measure the influence of colleagues' work, and follow the path of today's hottest ideas. Coverage begins 1991 to present.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from the journal literature in the physical and social sciences. Search by article title word, journal title, author, cited author or reference, or address word (e.g. author's institution). Coverage begins 1956 to present.
Books
Library CatalogThe Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
Library of Congress CatalogThe Library of Congress Online Catalog is a database of books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials in the Library's collections.
Cambridge Histories OnlineCambridge Histories Online brings the familiar and well respected history reference works from Cambridge University Press to your desktop. This new digital collection includes 250 histories published since 1960. Among the titles currently available online are the Cambridge History of the Bible (3 vols.), the Cambridge Ancient History (19 vols.), the Cambridge History of the English Language (6 vols.) and the New Cambridge Modern History (14 vols.) to name but a few.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
Early English Books Online (EEBO)Full-text page images of over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, and Thomason Tracts which cover titles printed in English between 1473-1700. For searchable text of selected titles see Early English Books Online -Text Creation Partnership
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Early American Imprints, Series I Evans (1639-1800)Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides. It includes information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
Early American Imprints. Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. Based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items.
Making of the Modern WorldThe Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale)Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Course Guides
Themes in ImperialismHIS 1435
Instructor: P. Rosier
Themes in Modern World HistoryHON 1435
P. Rosier
Investigating U.S. HistoryHIS 2000
Instructor: K. Carpenter
Civil War and ReconstructionHIS 2181
Instructor: J. Giesberg
U.S. Foreign Relations, 1914-PresentHIS 2252
Instructor: M. Gallicchio
Environmental History of AmericaHIS 2276
Instructor: P. Rosier
Native American HistoryHIS 2278
Instructor: Rosier
Franklin's WorldHIS 2998-003
Instructor: J. Foster
Ancient GreeceHIS 3011
Tasopoulou, E.
Ancient EgyptHIS 3095
Diamond, K.
Ancient Near EastHIS 3095
Diamond, K.
Cleopatra Through the AgesHIS 3095
Diamond, K.
Early CivilizationsHIS 3095-001
Diamond, K.
Russia in the 20th CenturyHIS 3242
Hartnett, L.
19th Century European Culture & SocietyHIS 3351
Varias, A.
Gender and Genre: Women's Historical Life NarrativesHIS 3995
Instructor: L. Hartnett
The Great War in EuropeHIS 3995
Instructor: J. Johnson
Global Environmental Justice MovementsGIS 4000
Instructors: P. Rosier; C. Mallory
Jewish HistoryHIS 4076
Instructor: Winer
History of the Ancient Near EastHIS 4095
K. Diamond
Women and Gender in Modern East AsiaHIS 4395
Instructor: Sanders
Global Environmental HistoryHIS 4499
P. Rosier
British EmpireHIS 4499
E. Kolsky
Slavery in the Modern WorldHIS 4995
Giesberg, J.
Tsars/CommissarsHIS 4995-001
L. Hartnett
Epidemics in HistoryHIS 4995
Instructor: Fr. Ryan
Seminar in Historical MethodologyHIS 5501
Discovering 19th Century Civil RightsHON 5750
D. Biddle
Art & Architecture of Ancient EgyptLST 7100
Diamond, K.
The History of Travel and TourismLST 7101
Varias, A.
War & PeaceHIS 7102
Lindenmeyr, A.
Medieval Women WritersLST 7201-030
C. Armon
Public History PracticumHIS 8002
J. Giesberg
Gender and the Civil WarHIS 8002-030
J. Giesberg
Teetotalers & TranscendentalistsHIS 8071
Giesberg, J.
Women in European HistoryHIS 8202
Instructor: Hartnett
Late AntiquityHIS 8204
Instructor: C. Haas
Women and Gender in Europe, 400-1650HIS 8207
Instructor: Winer
Medieval EuropeHIS 8208
Instructor: R. Winer
East Asia and the WorldHIS 8402
Instructor: Sanders
History of Modern JapanHIS 8425
Instructor: H. Sanders
Imperial Russia To 1917HIS 8626
Instructor: L. Hartnett
History of Science and TechnologyHIS 8642
J. Johnson
History and BiographyHIS 8800
Instructor: A. Lindenmeyr
Biographies
American National Biography OnlineBiographical resource on more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. All articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography OnlineA reference work providing 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.
Biography in Context (Gale)A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people from around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas and throughout history. Access to more than 330,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles available from more than 250 magazines as well as more than 20,000 images, and in-depth coverage of key events.
Ancestry Library EditionA vast collection of genealogical data which traces the history of millions of individuals going in some cases as far back as 1300. The collection consists of census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale)Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works, that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
Encyclopedia of World Biography (Gale)Includes entries of approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.
Encyclopedias, Companions & Surveys
Book Reviews
Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)Indexes book reviews published in U.S., Canadian and British periodicals, covering over 7,000 adult and children's books each year. Includes English-language fiction and nonfiction.
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (EBSCO)This database covers some 300,000 books, citing more than 1.5 million book reviews. Master records for each book include the title's essentials (author, descriptive summary, publisher, publication year, page count, ISBN, indicator of illustrations, and more) plus links to review excerpts and review citations. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, presenting the most evaluative passages of the review, and most have at least two. These excerpts, together with the descriptive summaries of the books, deliver a complete picture of how the book was received at the time it was published.
Book Review Index OnlineA comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
America: History and Life (Ebsco)A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)An annotated reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes journal articles, book reviews and dissertations.
Style Guides
Research & Writing Guides
Primary Sources
Primary Sources Research GuideAncestry Library EditionA vast collection of genealogical data which traces the history of millions of individuals going in some cases as far back as 1300. The collection consists of census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)Full-text page images of over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, and Thomason Tracts which cover titles printed in English between 1473-1700. For searchable text of selected titles see Early English Books Online -Text Creation Partnership
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Early American Imprints, Series I Evans (1639-1800)Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides. It includes information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
Early American Imprints. Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. Based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale)Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817 – 1994Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 15th Congress through the 103rd Congress. The collection covers a wide range of subjects ranging from the Lewis and Clarke Expedition to the Three Mile Island nuclear accident and it includes approximately 56,000 maps.
Documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses can be found in the
American State Papers collection.
American State Papers, 1789-1838Legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses. Documents of the 15th Congress through the 103rd Congress are available in the
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817 – 1994.
American Decades: Primary SourcesAvailable online.
Papers of Thomas Jefferson (Digital Edition)This digital edition of the Papers of Thomas Jefferson project at Princeton University includes volumes 1-33 of the print edition, a projected 60-volume series. Includes letters written by and to Jefferson, private notes and documents of historical significance in a fully searchable online environment. Published as part of the American Founding Era Collection on the Rotunda platform of the University of Virginia Press.
Making of the Modern WorldThe Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
Historic Documents (Online Edition)Contains 32 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
American Periodicals Series - APS Online (ProQuest)Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
OpinionArchivesProvides an accessible and invaluable source of information of electronic archives to leading journals of opinion. Search the full text of over 740 years of archives including
Harpers Magazine, The New Republic, The Nation, Commentary, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, National Review and
The New York Review of Books. An invaluable resource, providing in-depth analysis of topics such as the cold war, the Arab-Israeli conflict, American foreign policy, defense, the Supreme Court, affirmative action, welfare, crime, immigration, religion, education, art, literature, militarism, human rights violations, environmental destruction, classical music, and much more.
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
America’s Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (Readex)A digital collection of early American newspapers from 1690 to 1922, that includes the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-1920.
Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800Full-text transcription and digitized image of the actual newspaper page as it originally appeared.
African American Newspapers: The 19th CenturyIncludes the complete text of major 19th century African-American newspapers such as
The Christian Recorder (1861-1902)
, Freedom's Journal (1827-1829)
, The North Star (1847-1851), and the
Frederick Douglass' Paper (1851-1863).
Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865The collected correspondence, speeches, sermons, lectures, editorials, society proceedings and poems of close to three hundred Black abolitionists including hand-written correspondence.
Geographical coverage: United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany.
Civil War: A Newspaper PerspectiveContains full-text of more than 11,000 articles from over 2500 issues of both Northern and Southern newspapers published between Nov. 1, 1860 and Apr. 30, 1865. Contains news articles, eye-witness and official reports of battles, editorials, advertisements, biographies and over 700 images of battlefield maps and illustrations.
Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (PQ)This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms.
Medieval Sources Online (Manchester Univ. Press)This database contains full-text translations of primary sources from AD 640-1600. There are over three thousand pages of medieval sources annotated and edited to the high standard expected of a university press with over a century of experience.
Burney Collection Newspapers: Seventeenth-Eighteenth CenturyExplore the early history of the English newspaper. Learn about the English Civil War, the Restoration and 18th century political and cultural developments.“The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of ‘news’ and ‘newspapers’ and the “free press,” totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Digital ArchivePart 1: New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humor and Leisure/Sport: Chronicles the rise of modern magazine culture. Includes magazines for women such as Hearth and Home and the Women’s Penny Paper, satirical magazines such as Punch and Fun, magazines aimed at the young such as Boy’s Own Paper as well as a number of sports and leisure magazines.
Part 2: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial: Includes the complete run of 91 magazines with topics ranging from the abolition of the slave trade within the British Empire in 1807 to the first Opium Wars (1839-42) and the “scramble for Africa” in the 1880s and 1890s.
British Periodicals Collection I (ProQuest)The database consists of more than 160 journals spanning the late 17th through early 20th centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. This resource has facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published.
GallicaFrench newspapers and magazines digitized by the Bibiliothèque Nationale de France. Includes titles such as Le Figaro, Le Temps, L'Humanité, and Le Petit Parisien among others.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)Provides citations to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Poole's Plus: Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Paratext)19th Century Masterfile is a vast 'Index of Indexes', and is the largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. 19th Century Masterfile brings together over 60 subject indexes to: - Periodicals - Newspapers - Books - US Congressional Record - US and UK Government Documents - US Patents
The Current Digest of the Russian PressThe Digest is a comprehensive retrospective digest of the news presented to the Soviet and Russian public for more than a half-century, from the beginnings of the Cold War through the emergence of Russia in the new balance of power. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
Core Documents of U.S. DemocracyA core group of current and historical Government publications to provide American citizens direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society.
Doc Heritage (Pennsylvania State Archives)Doc Heritage includes images of historical documents, narratives placing them in a regional, state or national context, and, where appropriate, transcriptions of each record as well as helpful links for further research. The records featured in Doc Heritage bear witness to the unique role Pennsylvania and Pennsylvanians have played in the history of our nation.
Documenting the American SouthDocumenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture.
Eurodocs: Western European Primary Historical DocumentsThese links connect to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection 1822-1909From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909 presents 396 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division, published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches.
Historic Government Publications from World War IINational Security ArchiveThe National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
History and Politics Out LoudHPOL is a searchable multimedia database documenting and delivering authoritative audio relevant to American history and politics.
World History ArchivesDocuments to support the study of world history from a working-class and non-Eurocentric perspective.
World War I Document ArchiveThe archive is international in focus and intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.
American Notes: Travels in America, 1750-1920Travels in America, 1750-1920 comprises 253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920. Also included is the thirty-two-volume set of manuscript sources entitled Early Western Travels, 1748-1846, published between 1904 and 1907. Although many of the authors represented in American Notes are not widely known, the collection includes works by major figures such as Matthew Arnold, Fredrika Bremer, William Cullen Bryant, François-René de Chateaubriand, William Cobbett, James Fenimore Cooper, J. Hector St. John de Crèvecoeur, Charles Dickens, Washington Irving, Benjamin Henry Latrobe, Sir Charles Lyell, William Lyon Mackenzie, André Michaux, Thomas Nuttall, Frederick Law Olmsted, and Robert Louis Stevenson. The narratives in American Notes therefore range from the unjustly neglected to the justly famous, and from classics of the genre to undiscovered gems. Together, they build a mosaic portrait of a young nation.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writer's Project, 1936-1938Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves. This online collection is a joint presentation of the Manuscript and Prints and Photographs Divisions of the Library of Congress. Born in Slavery was made possible by a major gift from the Citigroup Foundation.
A Century of Lawmaking For a New Nation: US Congressional Documents and DebatesBeginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept records of their proceedings. The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the construction of the nation and the development of the federal government and its role in the national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government. A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation brings together online the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75.
American Memory (The Library of Congress)American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress?s vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
19th Century Documents Project (Furman University)When completed this collection will include accurate transcriptions of many important and representative primary texts from nineteenth century American history, with special emphasis on those sources that shed light on sectional conflict and transformations in regional identity. Because of our location in South Carolina and the salient role of its natives in the era's history there will also be a number of materials relevant to South Carolina or South Carolinians.
American JourneysAmerican Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.
First-Person Narratives of the American South, 1860-1920This compilation of printed texts from the libraries at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill documents the culture of the nineteenth-century American South from the viewpoint of Southerners. It includes the diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, travel accounts, and ex-slave narratives of not only prominent individuals, but also of relatively inaccessible populations: women, African Americans, enlisted men, laborers, and Native Americans. An award from the Library of Congress/Ameritech National Digital Library Competition supported the digitization of 101 titles published during and after the Civil War.
Chicago Anarchists on Trial: Evidence from the Haymarket Affair 1886-1887This collection showcases more than 3,800 images of original manuscripts, broadsides, photographs, prints and artifacts relating to the Haymarket Affair. The violent confrontation between Chicago police and labor protesters in 1886 proved to be a pivotal setback in the struggle for American workers' rights. These materials pertain to: the May 4, 1886 meeting and bombing; to the trial, conviction and subsequent appeals of those accused of inciting the bombing; and to the execution of four of the convicted and the later pardon of the remaining defendants.
Immigratiton to the United States, 1789-1930Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
Slaves and the Courts 1740-1860Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860 contains just over a hundred pamphlets and books (published between 1772 and 1889) concerning the difficult and troubling experiences of African and African-American slaves in the American colonies and the United States. The documents, most from the Law Library and the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress, comprise an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, examinations of cases and decisions, proceedings, journals, a letter, and other works of historical importance.
The Geography of Slavery in VirginiaThe Geography of Slavery in Virginia is a digital collection of advertisements for runaway and captured slaves and servants in 18th- and 19th-century Virginia newspapers. Building on the rich descriptions of individual slaves and servants in the ads, the project offers a personal, geographical and documentary context for the study of slavery in Virginia, from colonial times to the Civil War.
Veterans History ProjectThe primary focus is on first-hand accounts of U.S. Veterans from the following wars: World War I (1914-1920), World War II (1939-1946),Korean War (1950-1955), Vietnam War (1961-1975), Persian Gulf War (1990-1995), Afghanistan and Iraq conflicts (2001-present). The Veterans History Project relies on volunteers to collect and preserve stories of wartime service.
Audio Archives (Matrix Resources)Lists links to audio collections from various sources.
CQ Electronic Library (CQ Press)Combines many CQ Press resources for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Access is provided to Congress and the Nation (1945-2004), Historic Documents Series (1972 -), Political Handbook of the World, Supreme Court Yearbook (1989 -), Vital Statistics on American Politics and the Washington Information Directory.
Avalon Project - Yale Law SchoolDigital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Collections include ancient to modern times, major documents collections, Project Diana - An Online Human Rights Archive and The International Military Tribunal for Germany - A Document Collection.
Century of Lawmaking for a New NationBeginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept records of their proceedings. The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the construction of the nation and the development of the federal government and its role in the national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government.
Newspapers & Magazines
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
America’s Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (Readex)A digital collection of early American newspapers from 1690 to 1922, that includes the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-1920.
American Periodicals Series - APS Online (ProQuest)Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)Provides citations to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
OpinionArchivesProvides an accessible and invaluable source of information of electronic archives to leading journals of opinion. Search the full text of over 740 years of archives including
Harpers Magazine, The New Republic, The Nation, Commentary, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, National Review and
The New York Review of Books. An invaluable resource, providing in-depth analysis of topics such as the cold war, the Arab-Israeli conflict, American foreign policy, defense, the Supreme Court, affirmative action, welfare, crime, immigration, religion, education, art, literature, militarism, human rights violations, environmental destruction, classical music, and much more.
African American Newspapers: The 19th CenturyIncludes the complete text of major 19th century African-American newspapers such as
The Christian Recorder (1861-1902)
, Freedom's Journal (1827-1829)
, The North Star (1847-1851), and the
Frederick Douglass' Paper (1851-1863).
Civil War: A Newspaper PerspectiveContains full-text of more than 11,000 articles from over 2500 issues of both Northern and Southern newspapers published between Nov. 1, 1860 and Apr. 30, 1865. Contains news articles, eye-witness and official reports of battles, editorials, advertisements, biographies and over 700 images of battlefield maps and illustrations.
Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800Full-text transcription and digitized image of the actual newspaper page as it originally appeared.
Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County 1819-1870Full-text transcriptions from 6 nineteenth century Delaware County newspapers.
Virginia GazetteThe Virginia Gazette was published weekly in Williamsburg from 1736-1780. The news covered all Virginia and included some information for other colonies, Scotland, England etc. Not all the issues survived, and some have surfaced since they were first reproduced on microfilm in the mid-twentieth century that is the basis for the digital version.
Philadelphia InquirerContains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
The Times Archives 1785-1985The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
Burney Collection Newspapers: Seventeenth-Eighteenth CenturyExplore the early history of the English newspaper. Learn about the English Civil War, the Restoration and 18th century political and cultural developments.“The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of ‘news’ and ‘newspapers’ and the “free press,” totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable.
British Periodicals Collection I (ProQuest)The database consists of more than 160 journals spanning the late 17th through early 20th centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. This resource has facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Digital ArchivePart 1: New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humor and Leisure/Sport: Chronicles the rise of modern magazine culture. Includes magazines for women such as Hearth and Home and the Women’s Penny Paper, satirical magazines such as Punch and Fun, magazines aimed at the young such as Boy’s Own Paper as well as a number of sports and leisure magazines.
Part 2: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial: Includes the complete run of 91 magazines with topics ranging from the abolition of the slave trade within the British Empire in 1807 to the first Opium Wars (1839-42) and the “scramble for Africa” in the 1880s and 1890s.
The Current Digest of the Russian PressThe Digest is a comprehensive retrospective digest of the news presented to the Soviet and Russian public for more than a half-century, from the beginnings of the Cold War through the emergence of Russia in the new balance of power. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
Poole's Plus: Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Paratext)19th Century Masterfile is a vast 'Index of Indexes', and is the largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. 19th Century Masterfile brings together over 60 subject indexes to: - Periodicals - Newspapers - Books - US Congressional Record - US and UK Government Documents - US Patents
GallicaFrench newspapers and magazines digitized by the Bibiliothèque Nationale de France. Includes titles such as Le Figaro, Le Temps, L'Humanité, and Le Petit Parisien among others.
Statistics
Ancestry Library EditionA vast collection of genealogical data which traces the history of millions of individuals going in some cases as far back as 1300. The collection consists of census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in the distant 1975 and has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
United States Historical Census Data BrowserHistorical statistical data derived from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing.
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesIncludes everything from government spending to the environment to communications. It is a most comprehensive one-volume reference source on the Nation's economic and social condition.
Make an appointment to meet with Jutta
Schedule a meeting with me in person, by phone, or virtually via our chat service.
You can also email me directly.
Last Modified: Wednesday, March 13th, 2013