Tips for Access to Library Resources
- The simplest way to initiate library research is to open up your favorite browser and go directly to library.villanova.edu. MyNova is great for University information, tools and email but does not enhance the online library experience.
- Library subscription databases are authenticated with a single sign on. Once you login to a single database with your Villanova email user name and password you will have access to all others.
- You will not be able to access known library resources by simply Googling them.
- Firewalls at workplaces are a common impediment to accessing library databases. To avoid this problem find an open network connection elsewhere. Few employers IT departments are willing to adjust firewalls.
- Benefit can be gained by working within the Villanova gateway particularly if the authentication process for a library resources is malfunctioning. To do this go to gateway.villanova.edu. Log in with your Villanova email user name and password and start the network connection. This will allow you to use library resources within a secure connection.
Books
Falvey Library CatalogThe Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
[
Details]
Business Expert PressApplied concise books on marketing, management, operations, accounting and managerial finance by experts for non-experts
[
Details]
EBSCOHost eBooksA collection of current imprint digital books covering a wide range of subjects.
[
Details]
ebraryE-books covering a wide range of subjects.
[
Details]
Articles
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[
Details]
Accounting & Tax Periodicals (ProQuest)Based on the Accountants' Index, this quintessential tool for professionals provides current accounting, taxation, and financial management information. National and international in scope, key publications focus on accounting policies and standards, state and national tax legislation, corporate and individual taxation, compensation and pension plans, and corporate financial management, as well as profiles of accounting firms, CPAs, and management consulting firms.
[
Details]
Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)Contains business magazines and scholarly journals for more than 510 publications back to 1995.
[
Details]
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Business Source Premier is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
[
Details]
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)The database combines two earlier databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. This database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present.
[
Details]
Conference Board Business & Economics PortfolioEconomic indicator datasets and global macroeconomic time series for economists. Quality reports, interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for he management and HRD professionals.
[
Details]
DigitalCommons@ILR"DigitalCommons@ILR is a DigitalCommons project that offers electronic access to unique material that encompasses every aspect of the workplace. It is a service of the Martin P. Catherwood Library, School of Industrial and Labor Relations at Cornell University. Research and scholarly output included within the DigitalCommons@ILR has been selected and deposited by the individual departments, centers, institutes, and programs within the School of Industrial and Labor Relations (ILR).
[
Details]
EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)Citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, working papers and dissertations from 1969 to present based on the Journal of Economic Literature's subject classification and supported by the American Economic Association (AEA). This enhanced version of EconLit includes the full text of all AEA journals and roughly 400 other scholarly journals.
[
Details]
HeinOnlineThis legal database provides fully-searchable and image-based text of over 500 law journals, Supreme Court Reports, Treaties in Force, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1977-2003) and the Federal Register (1936-1994).
[
Details]
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
OpenCRS - Congressional Research Reports for the PeopleA project of the Center for Democracy & Technology through the cooperation of several organizations and collectors of Congressional Research Service Reports, Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports
[
Details]
Philadelphia Business JournalSearchable full text access to Philadelphia Business Journal and their Book of Lists with a 10 year archive of content. With 39 additional cities covered in the Business Journals, this is a great source for intelligence about local business conditions and trends.
[
Details]
ProQuest Business Periodicals (ProQuest)Simultaneously search all business & industry periodicals available through Proquest Central, including the ABI/Inform databases, concentrated publications on the pharmaceutical, banking, computing and telecommunications industries and Canadian, Asian and European business news.
[
Details]
ProQuest Social Science Journals (ProQuest)ProQuest Social Science Journals provides indexing for over 450 journals. Mostly full text access is provided. Disciplines covered include addiction studies, gerontology, econometrics, international relations, minority studies, urban studies, and more.
[
Details]
PsycINFO 1872-current (ProQuest)Indexes journals, dissertations and some books in the fields of personality psychology, social psychology, educational psychology and more.
[
Details]
Blogs
Evil HR Lady - Suzanne Lucas"Why am I evil? Well, I'm not, but that's the perception of all of us in HR. Need to fire someone? Come to HR. Need to explain to someone why, even after working their rear end off all year, that their annual increase is 2.7%? Come to HR. Need to come up with new mountains of paperwork? Come to HR. So, come join me on the Evil Side. Oh, and send me your HR questions."
[
Details]
Punk Rock HR - Laurie ReuttimannLaurie Ruettimann is a seasoned and cynical HR professional with over a decade of experience in Fortune 500 organizations. A cutting edge, social media maven and newly minted entrepreneur, Ruettimann is a sought after speaker, writer and thought leader. She received her SPHR certification in 2001 from The Human Resources Certification Institute and is an active member of The Society for Human Resources Management. Laurie is also a certified recruiter and trainer through various credentialed organizations.
[
Details]
The HR Capitalist - Kris DunnAs an HR Pro, I am most interested in the intersection of the HR practice, technology and business results in today’s organizations. I have a strong interest in areas like recruiting and performance management, but keep an eye towards the thousand other areas that impact HR Generalists at every level (VP, Director, Manager, etc.) as well. I started The HR Capitalist in December of 2006 with the goal of building a community I could learn from.
[
Details]
Work Matters - Bob SuttonRobert Sutton is Professor of Management Science and Engineering at Stanford and a Professor of Organizational Behavior, by courtesy, at the Stanford Graduate School of Business. Sutton studies innovation, leaders and bosses, evidence-based management, the links between knowledge and organizational action, and workplace civility. Sutton’s books include Weird Ideas That Work: 11 ½ Practices for Promoting, Managing, and Sustaining Innovation, The Knowing-Doing Gap: How Smart Firms Turn Knowledge into Action (with Jeffrey Pfeffer), and Hard Facts, Dangerous Half-Truths, and Total Nonsense: Profiting from Evidence-Based Management (also with Jeffrey Pfeffer). His most recent book is the New York Times and BusinessWeek bestseller The No Asshole Rule: Building a Civilized Workplace and Surviving One That Isn’t. His next book, Good Boss, Bad Boss: How to Be the Best … and Survive the Worst, which will be published in September 2010 by Business Plus.
[
Details]
Associations
Encyclopedia of Associations: National[
Details]
International Public Management Association for Human ResourcesIPMA-HR is an organization that represents the interests of human resource professionals at the federal, state and local levels of government.
Our goal is to provide information and assistance to help HR professionals increase their job performance and overall agency function by providing cost effective products, services and educational opportunities.
[
Details]
Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA)The Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA) is the singular organization in the country where professionals interested in all aspects of labor and employment relations network to share ideas and learn about new developments, issues, and practices in the field. Founded in 1947 as the Industrial Relations Research Association (IRRA), the National LERA provides a unique forum where the views of representatives of labor, management, government and academics, advocates and neutrals are welcome.
[
Details]
Society for Human Resouce Management (SHRM)The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) is the world’s largest association devoted to human resource management. Representing more than 250,000 members in over 140 countries, the Society serves the needs of HR professionals and advances the interests of the HR profession. Founded in 1948, SHRM has more than 575 affiliated chapters within the United States and subsidiary offices in China and India.
[
Details]
Society for Organizational LearningSoL, the Society for Organizational Learning, is an intentional learning community composed of organizations, individuals, and local SoL communities around the world. A not-for-profit, member-governed corporation, SoL is devoted to the interdependent development of people and their institutions in service of inspired performance and meaningful results. SoL serves as a space in which individuals and institutions can create together that which they cannot create alone.
[
Details]
Reference Materials
Dictionary of Business and ManagementThis wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains 7,000 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behaviour, business strategy, law, and taxation. Written by a team of experts, it features the very latest terminology, for example, the recent vocabulary associated with structured finance and the associated subprime lending crisis, including collaterized debt obligation and special purpose vehicle.
[
Details]
Dictionary of Human Resource ManagementThis dictionary comprises over 1,400 entries on human resource management, personnel, and industrial relations. It covers technical terms, jargon, theories, and concepts, all of which are relevant for undergraduate and MBA students, human resource practitioners, and trade unionists. The Dictionary of Human Resource Management is ideal both as a quick reference guide and as an accompaniment to existing HRM textbooks.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and SocietySpans the relationships among business, ethics, and society by including numerous entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Career DevelopmentThis encyclopedia includes coverage of the following topics: theoretical perspectives, social contexts, career development, career patterns, legislation and regulation, assessment, job search and recruiting, and professional associations. Entries provide a substantial overview of the given topic, along with recommendations for further reading and related entries.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational PsychologyThe Encyclopedia is designed to be an introduction to the topics of I/O psychology for an audience including undergraduate students, beginning graduate students of I/O psychology and related disciplines, lay audiences seeking a nontechnical description of the field and its practices, practitioners wishing to stay abreast of the changes and updates in the field, and even the PhD-level academic seeking a portal into a new specialty area. It should also be noted that although the Encyclopedia is designed to be comprehensive in its coverage of topics, it is not meant to provide comprehensive treatments of any given topic.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of LeadershipThe Encyclopedia of Leadership brings together for the first time most of what is known and what truly matters about leadership as part of the human experience. Nearly four hundred entries written by leading scholars and experts from seventeen countries explore leadership theories, leadership practice, and the effects of leadership in the real world. Recognizing that leadership is a process and not a person, much of the encyclopedia examines leadership in its rich and complex situational context. We also recognize that the leadership story is often revealed through individuals. About a third of the work—some 150 entries—is devoted to biographical essays focused on leaders (and their followers) and on case studies of leadership events and moments. These entries and another three hundred sidebars of primary text show leadership in action in corporations and state houses, schools, churches, small businesses, neighborhoods, and nonprofit organizations.
[
Details]
Sage Handbook of Workplace LearningThis volume presents a comprehensive study of work and workplace learning in its many manifestations and contested areas. This Handbook draws together the three essential areas of Theory, Research and Practice, and Issues in the field of Workplace Learning and is structured accordingly. The final chapters focus on issues, future developments, and directions, with recommendations for further development.
[
Details]
The SAGE Handbook of Human Resource ManagementThis handbook covers the range of human resources topics with concise articles. Entries cover the nuts and bolts of human resource management, as well as contemporary issues and sectoral perspectives.
[
Details]
Search Guides/Videos
Videos
Last Modified: Friday, May 17th, 2013