FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY


You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Information Systems

Information Systems


 Books

WorldCat (OCLC)
A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[Details]

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[Details]

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of current imprint digital books covering a wide range of subjects.
[Details]

Falvey Library Catalog
The Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
[Details]

 Articles

Computer Science Index (EBSCO)
Covers computer science at the highest scholarly and technical levels. Subjects areas include artificial intelligence, expert systems, system design, data structures, computer theory, computer systems and architecture, software engineering, human-computer interaction, new technologies, social and professional context, and much more.
[Details]

IEEE Xplore
Published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners, the IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content including journals, magazines, conference proceedings, technical standards, e-books, and educational courses. IEEE Xplore provides Web access to more than 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
[Details]

Inspec
Inspec includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics.
[Details]

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Provides citations and abstracts of articles in over 1800 journals (mainly scientific, technical and medical). Full-text is available only to the 327 titles to which Villanova University subscribes.
[Details]

Compendex
Compendex® is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1969.
[Details]

ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
[Details]

LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
Comprehensive coverage allows access to past, present, and ongoing developments in librarianship, information science, online retrieval, new information technologies, and publishing. Indexes and abstracts approximately 7,000 publications annually, including over 440 journals and selected conference proceedings, book reviews and research report series, with content from more than 68 countries and in 20 languages.
[Details]

ProQuest Computing
Search top computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.
[Details]

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (EBSCO)
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, and more. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980.
[Details]

 Subject Guides

 Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Of Computers And Computer History
Ref QA.76.15.E52 2001 1st Floor Falvey Reference Shelves
[Details]

Dictionary Of Computer Science, Engineering And Technology
Ref QA.76.15.D5258 2001 1st Floor Falvey Reference Shelves
[Details]

Software Encyclopedia
REF QA76.753 S67 2000 v.1-2
[Details]

The encyclopedia of high-tech crime and crime-fighting
REF HV6773 .N48 2004
[Details]

 Directories

 Market Reports

Gartner Group Intraweb
Gartner is a leading information technology research provider. Gartner offers market statistics and forecasts for hardware, software, communications, IT services and semiconductors. Additionally there are reports and case studies by IT topic and by industry. Subscription courtesy of Villanova UNIT.
[Details]

 Handbooks

ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE
Provides access to a growing collection of almost 350 electrical engineering books published by CRC Press, including The Engineering Handbook and CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables.
[Details]

 Videos

Linda Hauck is the subject librarian for Information Systems and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

lhauck Linda Hauck
Business Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 222
610-519-8744



 


Last Modified: Thursday, March 1st, 2012