FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Irish Studies

Irish Studies


 Books

Falvey Library Catalog
The Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.

WorldCat (OCLC)
WorldCat is a catalog of library collections worldwide. WorldCat highlights publications available at Villanova University. Other items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.
WorldCat Step-by-Step is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. For searchable text of selected titles see Early English Books Online -Text Creation Partnership

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)
Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).

 Articles

The Ireland Collection in JSTOR
The Ireland Collection will include the full back runs of more than 75 journals, 205 monographs, and 2,500 manuscript pages from the collections of Queen's University in Belfast upon completion.

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature. The database also provides coverage of interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
An annotated reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as book reviews and dissertations.

America: History and Life (EBSCO)
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to articles from over 4,400 journals and series published internationally, as well as monographs, collections, and various types of reference works. Subscription to the MLA International Bibliography also includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

Literature Online (Chadwyck-Healey)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 382 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)
This is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.

 Newspapers

The Ireland Collection in JSTOR
The Ireland Collection will include the full back runs of more than 75 journals, 205 monographs, and 2,500 manuscript pages from the collections of Queen's University in Belfast upon completion.

The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 (Gale)
The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.

Historical New York Times: 1851-2009 (ProQuest)
The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.

America’s Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922 (Readex)
A digital collection of early American newspapers from 1690 to 1922, that includes the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-1920.

Burney Collection Newspapers: Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century (Gale)
Explore the early history of the English newspaper. Learn about the English Civil War, the Restoration and 18th century political and cultural developments.“The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of ‘news’ and ‘newspapers’ and the “free press,” totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable.

The United Irishman

The Irish Press
Available online.
Irish-American newspaper

The Citizen
Irish-American newspaper

The Irish-American
Irish-American newspaper

The Irish People
Irish-American newspaper

The Public Register, or, Freeman's Journal

The Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser

The Weekly Nation

An Phoblacht - The Republic (1925-1929)

The Republican File

Dublin News

An Phoblacht - The Republic (1929-1931)

An Phoblacht - The Republic (1932-1935)

The Republic

The Irish Peasant

The Peasant

The Dublin Weekly Register

Free State - An Saorstat

The Irish Worker and People's Advocate

Wolfe Tone Weekly

The Irishman

Irish Freedom - Saoirseac?t na h-E?ireann

The Peasant and Irish Ireland

The National Democrat

 Primary Sources

Enhanced British Parliamentary Papers on Ireland EPPI)
EPPI is a large database of 15,000 official publications relating to all aspects of Irish affairs during the period of the Union, including bills, reports, commisions of inquiry, and the published census reports. It is a rich source for the social history of Ireland, as well as for statistics relating to population, emigration and other subjects.

Irish Emigration Database (IED)
The IED is a virtual library of emigration-related primary sources, principally letters to and from emigrants, compiled by the Centre for Migration Studies, Omagh. This extensive collection of more than 33,000 records is drawn from a number of collections, including the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland and many private donors, and is capable of expansion as new records become available. It covers a wide time period, but with a concentration on the period between c.1780 and c.1920.

The Ireland Collection in JSTOR
The Ireland Collection will include the full back runs of more than 75 journals, 205 monographs, and 2,500 manuscript pages from the collections of Queen's University in Belfast upon completion.

The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 (Gale)
The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.

Burney Collection Newspapers: Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century (Gale)
Explore the early history of the English newspaper. Learn about the English Civil War, the Restoration and 18th century political and cultural developments.“The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of ‘news’ and ‘newspapers’ and the “free press,” totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable.

British Periodicals Collection I (ProQuest)
The database consists of more than 160 journals spanning the late 17th through early 20th centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. This resource has facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published.

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Gale)
Access the enormous range of nineteenth-century periodical literature (1800-1900). Of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions, in short, of all aspects of nineteenth-century life that the press encompassed.

Making of the Modern World
The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850 provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. For searchable text of selected titles see Early English Books Online -Text Creation Partnership

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)
Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale)
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

Historical New York Times: 1851-2009 (ProQuest)
The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.

America’s Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922 (Readex)
A digital collection of early American newspapers from 1690 to 1922, that includes the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-1920.

American Periodicals Series (ProQuest)
Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.

Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (ProQuest)
This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history; it spans more than four centuries (1543-1945) and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full-image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Subject coverage includes arts, business, computers, crafts, dance, drama, education, entertainment, fashion, film & television, food, gardening, health and medicine, home improvement, literature, news and current events, photography, popular and classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, sports and fitness, technology, transportation, travel and more.

Voices of Migration and Return (VMR)
VMR comprises over 90 life-narrative interviews conducted with returned and non-returned migrants from Ulster (9-counties) gathered during the course of two studies on contemporary migration (2004-2008). The study participants represent a range of geographic origins within Ulster, class backgrounds and religious denominations.

 Biographies

Dictionary of Irish Biography
9 volumes.
Falvey Library, Reference stacks: CT862 .D52 2009

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
A reference work providing almost 60,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2009. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.

American National Biography Online (Oxford)
Biographical resource on more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. All articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates.

A Biographical Dictionary of Irish Writers
Reference Stacks PR8727.B5 1985

Irish Women Writers: an A-Z Guide
4th floor, Falvey Library
PR8733.I75 2006

Irish Playwrights, 1880-1995: A Research and Production Sourcebook
4th floor, Falvey Library
PR8789.I67 1997

Modern Irish Writers: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook
1st floor, Falvey Library
PR8727.G66 1997

 Encyclopedias

Schedule an Appointment with Jutta

jseibert Jutta Seibert
Team Leader - Academic Integration
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 228
610-519-7876


Jutta Seibert is the subject librarian for Irish Studies and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

Click on the button below to schedule a research appointment.


 


Last Modified: Friday, December 19th, 2014