Books
Libraries on the Web: Mexican, Central and S. American, and Caribbean LibrariesSelected library catalogs in Mexican, Central and South American, and Caribbean Libraries
[
Details]
Latin American and the Caribbean Atlas of Our Changing Environment WebsiteShows environmental changes based on remotely sensed images acquired by different satellites over many years, or a few days in some cases, and through images, maps, tables, graphs and text, it presents a picture of where Latin America and the Caribbean has been, and where it is now.
[
Details]
Latin America and the Caribbean Atlas of Our Changing Environment PNUMATop 10 environmental changes in Latin America and the Caribbean.
[
Details]
Articles
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
PAIS International (ProQuest)The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
[
Details]
HispaniaFull-text retrieval from the official journal of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese.
[
Details]
LusotopieA French journal that focuses on Brazilian studies within the context of Portuguese colonization and the lusophone community.
[
Details]
SciELO - Scientific Electronic LibraryOnline full-text retrieval of mainly Brazilian scholary periodical literature primarily in the technical, physical, and medical sciences, but also in the humanities and applied social sciences is provided through SciELO.
[
Details]
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)Covers sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Journals published by sociological associations, groups, faculties and institutes, and periodicals containing the term "sociology" in their titles are abstracted fully.
[
Details]
Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchFirst-time users have to register. The Roper Center has a large archive of public opinion information. It contains nearly 500,000 questions and responses from national public opinion surveys going back to 1935. Among the many survey sources are Gallup, Harris,
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, ABC, CBS, CNN and NBC. The archive includes full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses using
RoperExpress.
[
Details]
Roper Center - The Latin American Databank at The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (LAD)The LAD locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America and the Caribbean, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms.
[
Details]
ProceedingsFirst (OCLC)Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
[
Details]
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals IndexIndexes articles, book reviews, documents and literary works about Latin America, the Caribbean Basin, and Hispanics in the U.S., from over 400 social science and humanities journals.
[
Details]
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)Commerce Reports, Country Reports, Country Profiles (last published in 2008) and Market Indicators and Forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit offer monthly and annual in depth analysis, data and ratings for the infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns for over 200 countries.
[
Details]
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)An annotated reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes journal articles, book reviews and dissertations.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs OnlineA resource that aggregates dispersed content about theory and research in international affairs. CIAO includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, full-text journal articles and policy briefs, and teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features. Advanced searching capability is present and results can be sorted by date and relevance. CIAO also provides links to international affairs Internet sources. All sections of CIAO are updated monthly.
[
Details]
OECD iLibraryFull text access to all of the books, periodicals, statistics and working papers produced by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development since 1998. Statistics are available via pdf files or via interactive databases with downloadable Excel or comma delimited text. Metadata is easily accessible. Books, periodicals and working papers may be searched by title or subject fields or in full text. Browsing by publication type or thematic subject is also available. SourceOECD comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing all our monographs and reports; 24 periodicals; a reference title; and the OECD statistical databases.
[
Details]
EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)Citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, working papers and dissertations from 1969 to present based on the Journal of Economic Literature's subject classification and supported by the American Economic Association (AEA). This enhanced version of EconLit includes the full text of all AEA journals and roughly 400 other scholarly journals.
[
Details]
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - WPSA (ProQuest)This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. The database is simultaneously searchable with other ProQuest databases such as ProQuest Newspapers.
[
Details]
Web Sites
International Monetary FundPublications of the IMF are available from their website.
[
Details]
Amnesty InternationalThe library tab offers AI reports on various countries and themes.
[
Details]
Pew Hispanic CenterThe Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos’ growing impact on the nation.
[
Details]
Latin American Migration Project - LAMPResearch for the Latin American Migration Project has been possible thanks to the support provided by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (grant R01 HD35848). The surveys in Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Paraguay, and Haiti received financial support from the Mellon Foundation.
[
Details]
Organization of American States - OASEstablished to achieve among its member states, as stated in Article 1 of its Charter, “an order of peace and justice, to promote their solidarity, to strengthen their collaboration, and to defend their sovereignty, their territorial integrity, and their independence.” Today it comprises the 35 independent states of the Americas and has granted permanent observer status to 63 states, as well as to the European Union. The Organization of American States constitutes the principal political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere.
[
Details]
Political Database of the Americas (PDBA)Through its website, the PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
[
Details]
Background Information
Handbook of Latin American Studies - HLAS (LC)The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
[
Details]
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)This major gateway to internet-based information for Latin American Studies targeted at people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region.
[
Details]
LatinbarometroLatinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that involves some 19,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants. Latinobarómetro Corporation researches the development of democracy and economies as well as societies, using indicators of opinion, attitudes, behaviour and values. Its results are used by social and political actors, international organizations, governments and the media.
[
Details]
ECLA/CEPAL - Economic Commission for Latin AmericaECLAC, which is headquartered in Santiago, Chile, is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. It was founded with the purpose of contributing to the economic development of Latin America, coordinating actions directed towards this end, and reinforcing economic ties among countries and with other nations of the world. The promotion of the region's social development was later included among its primary objectives.[
Details]
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)Commerce Reports, Country Reports, Country Profiles (last published in 2008) and Market Indicators and Forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit offer monthly and annual in depth analysis, data and ratings for the infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns for over 200 countries.
[
Details]
Political Handbook of the World (CQ Press)Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
[
Details]
Libraries on the Web: Mexican, Central and S. American, and Caribbean LibrariesSelected library catalogs in Mexican, Central and South American, and Caribbean Libraries
[
Details]
Gateway to Information- Latin American StudiesOhio State Univervity's gateway to online reference resources for Latin American and Brazilian Studies.
[
Details]
Inter-American Democratic CharterThe Charter, adopted in September 2001, launched a new era of the inter-American system. It describes the conditions that define democratic governance, as well as hemispheric instruments
that may be used in its defense and guidelines for its strengthening.
[
Details]
Falvey's LAS EncyclopediasReference and main stack materials found in Falvey's collection.
[
Details]
Falvey's LAS DictionariesThese specialized dictionaries focus on a variety of topics in Latin American Studies.
[
Details]
Primary Sources
Biographies
Political Elites in Mexico, 1900-1971: Online Data ArchiveThe Political Elites in Mexico, 1900-1971 dataset is typically used by researchers who are familiar with statistical software programs such as SPSS or SAS. These programs are used to analyze the data and determine statistical patterns.This dataset contains information on the political office holder's sex, birthplace, profession/occupations, military service, date and place of birth and death, father's occupation, education (preparation, length, attainment, specialization, foreign training), travel abroad, intellectual activities (publications, teaching), political affiliation, political offices held and length of stay, activity during the revolution of 1910-1920, geographical entity represented, memberships in political and other organizations.
[
Details]
Latin American WritersA collection of biographical and critical essays on Latin American writers by scholars from the U.S., Latin America, and Europe.
[
Details]
News
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
ProQuest NewspapersIncludes coverage of 27 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.
[
Details]
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[
Details]
Internet Public Library NewspapersOnline newspapers from around the world.
[
Details]
Latin American Weekly ReportWeekly briefing on key developments in Latin America.
[
Details]
Caribbean Newspaper Digitization Library (CNDL)In developing the pilot project and plan for the Caribbean Newspaper Digitization Library, permissions to digitize a number of Caribbean newspapers was been granted by the publishers and copyright owners. Even at this early stage, many new copyright owners have already granted permissions. Those granting permissions are listed below, but this list regularly falls out of date so please see the Caribbean Newspaper Digitization Library at http://www.dloc.com/ufdc/?c=cndl for all of the materials included.
[
Details]
North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA)An independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1966 that works toward a world in which the nations and peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean are free from oppression and injustice, and enjoy a relationship with the United States based on mutual respect, free from economic and political subordination. To that end, our mission is to provide information and analysis on the region, and on its complex and changing relationship with the United States, as tools for education and advocacy - to foster knowledge beyond borders.
[
Details]
Languages
Organizations
Organization of American States - OASEstablished to achieve among its member states, as stated in Article 1 of its Charter, “an order of peace and justice, to promote their solidarity, to strengthen their collaboration, and to defend their sovereignty, their territorial integrity, and their independence.” Today it comprises the 35 independent states of the Americas and has granted permanent observer status to 63 states, as well as to the European Union. The Organization of American States constitutes the principal political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere.
[
Details]
Pan American Health OrganizationAn international public health agency with more than 100 years of experience in working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also serves as the Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization and enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system.
[
Details]
Last Modified: Monday, October 15th, 2012