FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY


You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Master of Business Administration & Master of Science in Analytics

Master of Business Administration & Master of Science in Analytics


Tips for Access to Library Resources

  • The simplest way to initiate library research is to open up your favorite browser and go directly to library.villanova.edu.  MyNova is great for University information, tools and  email but does not enhance the online library experience.
  • Library subscription databases are authenticated with a single sign on.  Once you login to a single database with your Villanova email user name and password you will have access to all others. 
  • You will not be able to access known library resources by simply Googling them. 
  • Firewalls at workplaces are a common impediment to accessing library databases.  To avoid this problem find an open network connection elsewhere.  Few employers IT departments are willing to adjust firewalls.
  • Benefit can be gained by working within the Villanova gateway particularly if the authentication process for a library resources is malfunctioning.  To do this go to gateway.villanova.edu.  Log in with your Villanova email user name and password and start the network connection.  This will allow you to use library resources within a secure connection.

  Choosing the Right Database

Knowing which database to use is half the battle.  Asking professors, classmates and librarians for recommendations is often helpful.  When asking for suggestions about what sources to use, remember to provide a concise description of what information you think you need, describing how you would like to use the information.  Library database descriptions try to convey database content, but sometimes you will need to log on to the database to see or use database help tools.  To find out if we subscribe to a database:
  • Search the Library Website by database name
  • Browse the Database A-Z List
  • Browse a relevant topic guide.

  Get Full Text Article or Journal

  APA Citations

  Industry and Market Research Reports

  Company Profiles

  Country Business Profiles

  Finding Scholarly Studies

In business disciplines scholarly studies can take the form of books, journal articles,  working papers or reports.  Types of scholarly studies include theoretical papers, literature reviews or meta-analysis, and empirical research either quantitative and qualitative or mixed method. 

There are several dominant avenues for finding scholarly work:
  • Searching subject specific databases
  • Using general purpose and interdisciplinary search engines
  • Chasing citations in articles and books (see section on getting full text or article or journal)

 Subject Specific Scholarly Databases

 General & Interdisciplinary Databases

 Business Databases A-Z

lhauck Linda Hauck
Business Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 222
610-519-8744


dlambert Dennis Lambert
Coordinator of Collection Management and Development
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
RMC
610-519-7966


mstein Merrill Stein
Team Leader - Assessment and Liaison Team Leader for Geography and Political Science
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 221
610-519-4272



 


Last Modified: Monday, July 7th, 2014