Books
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Library CatalogThe Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
[
Details]
Articles
JSTORA searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
[
Details]
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)Provides quick, powerful access to bibliographic and citation information you need to find research data, and analyze trends, journals, and researchers from over 1,395 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. The database provides user ability to track prior research and monitor current developments, see who is citing their work, measure the influence of colleagues' work, and follow the path of today's hottest ideas. Coverage begins 1991 to present.
[
Details]
Subject Guides
Biographies
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale)Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works, that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
[
Details]
American National Biography OnlineBiographical resource on more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. All articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates.
[
Details]
Musicians since 1900 : performers in concert and opera1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Baker's biographical dictionary of twentieth-century classical musicians1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)Includes full-text profiles of persons, living and deceased, and prominent in many professions including literature, art, music, film, politics, education and history. The up-to-date bibliographies include links to book and articles about the person and in some citations there is a photograph of the person.
[
Details]
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians29 volumes, 2nd ed.
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Encyclopedias
The Encyclopedia of Folk, Country, & Western MusicReference Shelves : ML102.F66S7 1983
[
Details]
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music4 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Popular Music: An Annotated Index of American Popular SongsVolume 4-6
3rd floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The Oxford Companion to Music3rd floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The Complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Jazz, 1900-19504 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music6 volumes, 3rd edition
3rd floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of the Blues1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music10 volumes
3rd floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera4 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments3 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians29 volumes, 2nd ed.
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz3 volumes, 2nd edition
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The Cambridge History of American MusicAvailable online and in print.
[
Details]
The Cambridge History of 17th Century MusicAvailable online.
[
Details]
The Cambridge History of 19th Century MusicAvailable online.
[
Details]
The Cambridge History of 20th Century MusicAvailable online.
[
Details]
A Chronology of American Musical Theatre3 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World7 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre3 volumes, 2nd edition
1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Broadway Musicals, 1943-20041st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
Course Resources
Last Modified: Thursday, November 10th, 2011