News

 Articles

Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[Details]

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Business Source Premier is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
[Details]

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[Details]

GenderWatch (ProQuest)
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
[Details]

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
he most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[Details]

Academic OneFile (Gale)
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
[Details]

Expanded Academic Index
Now Academic OneFile
[Details]

 Newspapers

Chronicle of Higher Education
The online version of The Chronicle is published every weekday, which features the complete contents of the latest issue, providing news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. Coverage includes the daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, and salary databases. Articles published since September 1989 is available.
[Details]

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[Details]

Financial Times
The distinctively salmon colored UK based Financial Times is recognized as a leading source for global business news.  The web edition provides access to the same outstanding reporting found in the print edition (available via ABI Inform and Lexis-Nexis) and also additionally has multimedia content, company tear sheets, interactive charting, and educational features such as a dictionary of financial terms, and recruitment tool.  For mobile access via iPad or iPhone visit app.ft.com.  For mobile access via Android devices visit m.ft.com.  Subscription courtesy of Villanova School of Business.  Register with your Villanova email address.
[Details]

GenderWatch (ProQuest)
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
[Details]

Historical New York Times (ProQuest)
The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[Details]

Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[Details]

Philadelphia Business Journal
Searchable full text access to Philadelphia Business Journal and their Book of Lists with a 10 year archive of content.  With 39 additional cities covered in the Business Journals, this is a great source for intelligence about local business conditions and trends.
[Details]

Philadelphia Inquirer
Contains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
[Details]

Regional Business News (EBSCO)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
[Details]

The Times Archives 1785-1985
The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
[Details]

 Web Sites

Philadelphia Inquirer
Contains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
[Details]

Le Monde
Internet Access
[Details]

El Pais
Internet Access
[Details]

Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is available online on the ABI/INFORM Proquest database (which also offers a dizzying array of other exceptional sources). The WSJ is also distributed in print during the school year in Bartley Hall. Falvey Memorial Library is another source of the print WSJ.
[Details]

ABC (Spain)
[Details]

ABYZ News Links
[Details]

Al Anwar Newspaper
[Details]

As-Safir Arabic Political Daily
[Details]

Boston Globe
Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [1988 - to date]
[Details]

College News Online
[Details]

EL Comercio Peru
[Details]

Daily Yomiuri On-Line
Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [Sept. 1989 - to date]
[Details]

Delaware County Daily & Sunday Times
[Details]

Electronic Telegraph
[Details]

Financial Times
The distinctively salmon colored UK based Financial Times is recognized as a leading source for global business news.  The web edition provides access to the same outstanding reporting found in the print edition (available via ABI Inform and Lexis-Nexis) and also additionally has multimedia content, company tear sheets, interactive charting, and educational features such as a dictionary of financial terms, and recruitment tool.  For mobile access via iPad or iPhone visit app.ft.com.  For mobile access via Android devices visit m.ft.com.  Subscription courtesy of Villanova School of Business.  Register with your Villanova email address.
[Details]

Guardian
Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [July 1984 - to date]
[Details]

Hill: Capitol Newspaper
[Details]

Hindu: India's National Newspaper
Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [Sept. 1997 - to date]
[Details]

Inside China Today
[Details]

Los Angeles Times:
Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [rolling 6 month archive]
[Details]

Main Line Life Online
[Details]

Main Line Times
[Details]

Montgomery Newspapers Online
[Details]

El Mundo
Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [Sept. 1997 - to date]
[Details]

NY State Newspaper Project
[Details]

New York Times
Note: The library has subscribes to the full-text database New York Times * [1851 - up to but not including the last 2 years] Also available from Lexis-Nexis *
[Details]

NetFuture
[Details]

NewsLibrary
[Details]

Omnivore
[Details]

Philadelphia Business Journal
Searchable full text access to Philadelphia Business Journal and their Book of Lists with a 10 year archive of content.  With 39 additional cities covered in the Business Journals, this is a great source for intelligence about local business conditions and trends.
[Details]

Philadelphia City Paper
[Details]

Philadelphia Daily News
Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [Japn. 1996 - to date]
[Details]

Philadelphia Tribune
[Details]

Philadelphia Weekly
[Details]

Presse & Journalismus
[Details]

La Repubblica
[Details]

San Francisco Chronicle
Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [Oct. 1989 - to date]
[Details]

San Francisco Examiner
[Details]

Science in the Headlines
[Details]

The Times
Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [July 1985 - to date]
[Details]

Times Higher Education Supplement
Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [Sept. 2000 - to date]
[Details]

Times Of India
Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [Dec. 2004 - to date]
[Details]

University Newspapers
[Details]

USA Today
Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [Jan. 1989 - to date]
[Details]

Villanovan (Current)
Online edition of current issue of Villanova's student newspaper, The Villanovan.
[Details]

Washington Post
Note: The Post is available full text in the database ABI/Inform (Proquest Direct) * [Dec. 1996-updated daily]
[Details]

Internet Public Library Newspapers
Online newspapers from around the world.
[Details]

People's Daily Online
"People's Daily brings you the latest news dispatches of policy information and resolutions of the Chinese Government and major domestic news and international news releases from China. It reflects the views of the Chinese people, expounds on justice and lambasts various forms of malpractice."
[Details]

 Biographies

Biography in Context (Gale)
A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people from around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas and throughout history. Access to more than 330,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles available from more than 250 magazines as well as more than 20,000 images, and in-depth coverage of key events.
[Details]

Marquis Who's Who on the Web
Searchable online database features comprehensive profiles on over 1 million of the most accomplished individuals in all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science & technology, the arts, entertainment and sports. The database accesses current biographies that appeared in any one of the many Marquis print titles searching by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, religion and much more.
[Details]

Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale)
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works, that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
[Details]

Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)
Includes full-text profiles of persons, living and deceased, and prominent in many professions including literature, art, music, film, politics, education and history. The up-to-date bibliographies include links to book and articles about the person and in some citations there is a photograph of the person.
[Details]

 Images

AP Images (AP)
The Associated Press, is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP's mission is to be the essential global news network, providing distinctive news services of the highest quality, reliability and objectivity with reports that are accurate, balanced and informed. For more than a century, AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment.
[Details]

 News

Rasmussen Report
Rasmussen Reports is an electronic publishing firm specializing in the collection, publication, and distribution of public opinion polling information.
[Details]


Last Modified: Wednesday, January 4th, 2012

Susan Ottignon is the subject librarian for News and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

sottigno Sue Ottignon
Research Support Librarian for Languages & Literatures
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 220
610-519-5184