Philosophy

Welcome to the Philosophy Subject Guide

This guide provides links to philosophy learning and research materials, organized by resource type.

 Books

Falvey Library Catalog
The catalog enables patrons to search and browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.

WorldCat (OCLC)
A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.

Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture
The Cambridge Companions series offers specially-commissioned collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists. Addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism, this online collection contains over 1300 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (171 volumes). Each volume also includes a substantial bibliography and other elements such as glossaries and timelines.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

 Articles

Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews in 37 languages. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 1,400 journals from more than 80 countries and is updated quarterly. Extensive indexing includes personal and proper names along with subject terms; there is also the capability to search for the authors of book reviews.

Philosophy Documentation Center Collection (POIESIS)
Provides searchable full-text online access to over 60 scholarly philosophy journals. Additional journals are indexed in the database.

International Philosophical Bibliography (Peeters)
Indexes philosophical books and articles in English, French, German, Dutch, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and Catalan, as well as Classical Greek and Latin. Note that there are two versions. Use the IPB Full Edition for materials published since 1997, and the IPB Retrospective for pre-1997 publications.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.

JSTOR
A searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Project Muse
Searchable collection of recent full-text humanities, social science and mathematics journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)
Provides quick, powerful access to bibliographic and citation information you need to find research data, and analyze trends, journals, and researchers from over 1,395 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. The database provides user ability to track prior research and monitor current developments, see who is citing their work, measure the influence of colleagues' work, and follow the path of today's hottest ideas. Coverage begins 1991 to present.

GenderWatch (ProQuest)
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Covers sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Journals published by sociological associations, groups, faculties and institutes, and periodicals containing the term "sociology" in their titles are abstracted fully.

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.

ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)
ATLA Religion Database is the leading international database indexing citations in all scholarly fields of religion. ATLA Religion Database includes over 350,000 article citations from 1,400 journals, over 150,000 essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and over 350,000 book review citations

ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (EBSCO)
The ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (formerly the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index) is the product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Library Association. The database covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.

L'Annee Philologique
Comprehensive bibliography of journal articles, books and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings and essay collections) on Greek and Roman antiquity. Indexing lags 3 years behind the current date and goes back to 1924.

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to articles from over 3000 journals and series published internationally, as well as monographs, collections, and various types of reference works. MLA Directory of Periodicals

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Online
A comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.

Iter: Bibliography of Medieval and Renaissance Europe from 400-1700
A bibliography of more than 300 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.

TOCS-IN
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies and Religion journals. Covers published works from 1992-present.

 Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Philosophy 2nd ed.
The Encyclopedia contains more than 2,100 entries including 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought throughout history.. Among the many topics covered are African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (REP) Online
Web access to the 10-volume print encyclopedia, published in 1998 with quarterly updates. Note that this encyclopedia uses British spellings, such as 'armoury,' 'colour' and 'theatre.'

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An open-access encyclopedia started by the Stanford University Philosophy Department in 1997. The peer-reviewed entries are continually updated and contain bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics

Oxford Companion to Philosophy

Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy

Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy

 Primary Sources

Past Masters (Intelex)
Contains full-text of scholarly editions of many philosophers, theologians and literary writers: Anselm, Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine, Austen, Chesterton, Descartes, Dewey, Feuerbach, Fichte, Foucault, Francis of Assisi, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Kierkegaard, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Marx and Engels, Merleau-Ponty, Newman, Nietzsche, Ockham, Pascal, Pierce, Plato, Poinsot, Royce, Santayana, Schopenhauer, Shelley, Spinoza, Synge, Wittgenstein and Wollestonecraf, as well as collections for British Philosophy 1600-1900, The Continental Rationalists, The Latin Background: 1100-1550, and The Romantic Age.

Library of Latin Texts - Series A
Contains full-text of almost all the items in the Corpus Christianorum Series Latina and Continuatio Medievalis. It also contains text from the beginning of Latin literature through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). Included are the main works of Thomas Aquinas and certain Latin works of Descartes. (formerly CETEDOC).

Library of Latin Texts - Series B
The Library of Latin Texts - Series B (gathers Latin texts of all genres and all periods. The data will therefore be very diverse, and will include genres as varied as chronicles, medieval saints' lives and travel narratives, legal texts, and theological, philosophical and scientific treatises from the early-modern period. Above all, the emphasis will be on the online availability of large corpora of texts. (formerly CETEDOC).

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)
Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Full-text page images of over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, and Thomason Tracts which cover titles printed in English between 1473-1700. For searchable text of selected titles see Early English Books Online -Text Creation Partnership

Patrologia Latina
A complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina. Covers the history of Latin Christianity until AD 1216.

Patrologiae Graecae
A complete electronic version of Jean-Paul Migne’s Patrologiae Graecae. PG contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
A research center at the University of California, Irvine, has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in 1473. It currently provides access to 2,500 authors and 10,000 works.

Perseus Digital Library
Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, including texts and images, and applies what has been learned from Classical Studies to other subjects within the humanities and beyond.

Corpus Augustinianum Gissense (CAG 2)
The CAG 2 database contains all known works by Saint Augustine in the best available critical editions. CAG 2 also includes a bibliographic database of more than 27,000 references to secondary literature on Augustine's life and works. Available at http://citrixweb.villanova.edu. A CAG 2 user manual in pdf format is also on Citrixweb. (Collection of the Augustinian Institute, Falvey Memorial Library)

Corpus Thomisticum
The "Corpus Thomisticum" is an ongong project that aims to provide scholars with a set of instruments of research on Thomas Aquinas.

 Reviews

Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)
Indexes book reviews published in U.S., Canadian and British periodicals, covering over 7,000 adult and children's books each year. Includes English-language fiction and nonfiction.

Book Review Index Online
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.

Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (EBSCO)
This database covers some 300,000 books, citing more than 1.5 million book reviews. Master records for each book include the title's essentials (author, descriptive summary, publisher, publication year, page count, ISBN, indicator of illustrations, and more) plus links to review excerpts and review citations. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, presenting the most evaluative passages of the review, and most have at least two. These excerpts, together with the descriptive summaries of the books, deliver a complete picture of how the book was received at the time it was published.

 Biographies

 Dictionaries, etc.

 Style Guides

Falvey's List: Citing Your Resources

Research and Documentation Online
Online guide to MLA, APA, Chicago, and Council of Science Editors styles.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
The 16th edition of the standard style manual used by writers and editors of scholarly books and journals.
Use the online Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide for easy reference.
Watch the online tutorial A Brief Introduction to the Chicago Manual of Style.
Download our guide to Getting Started With Chicago-Style.
A print copy is available at the information desk: Z253.U69 2010

 Directories

International Directory of Philosophy
The International Directory of Philosophy is an online database containing information on university philosophy departments and programs, societies, professional associations, research centers, journals, and philosophy publishers in over 130 countries. The database also includes contact information for over 29,000 philosophers.

 Course Resources


Last Modified: Thursday, November 8th, 2012

nfogle Nikolaus Fogle
Subject Librarian for Philosophy
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 231
610-519-5182


Nikolaus Fogle is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.