Popular Reading

 Journals

Atlantic
Features current issues online alongside web-specific content on travel, literature, and politics. Coverage from 1988 to the present. Online web version provides selected articles for the latest 5 years.
[Details]

New Yorker
Full text articles from a collection of intelligent, funny, and penetrating voices. Each issue has a signature mix of culture and art, business and politics, fashion and design, science and technology. Coverage from July 2, 2001 to the present.
[Details]

Utne Reader
Compendium of previously published articles dealing with alternative points of view. Current issue only.
[Details]

Newsweek
Full text features articles from the current weekly issue as well as breaking news stories. Coverage from Dec 1994 to the present.
[Details]

People Weekly
Full text articles on the Latest News, Celebrity Photos, Style Watch, and Gossip & Features. Coverage from 1984-to present.
[Details]

America
Full text articles from the only national Catholic weekly magazine in the United States. Coverage from 1993 to the present.
[Details]

Commonweal
Full text articles from this independent journal of opinion edited and managed by lay Catholics. Coverage from 1992 to the present
[Details]

American Heritage
Full text article from the preeminent magazine of the American experience that focuses on a particular aspect of American life including The Business of America, In the News, History Happened Here, and Time Machine. Coverage from 1992 to the present
[Details]

Economist (US)
Full text articles from the authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion. Coverage from 1988 to the present.
[Details]

Dollar & Sense
Full text articles provide analysis and opinion on economic policy and politics from a progressive political perspective. Coverage from 1994 to the present
[Details]

National Geographic
Full text articles from a world leader in geography, cartography and exploration. Coverage from 1999 to the present.
[Details]

Smithsonian
Full text articles from a monthly magazine that chronicles the arts, history, sciences and popular culture of the times. Coverage from 1984 to the present.
[Details]

Time
Full text articles presenting the top news stories of the day and current events from around the globe. Coverage from 1983 to the present.
[Details]

Variety
Full text articles from a recognized and respected through out the world of show business as a premier source of entertainment news. Coverage from 1997 to the present.
[Details]

 Newspapers

Onion
The Onion is a parody newspaper published weekly in print and online. It parodies traditional newspaper features, such as editorials, man-on-the-street interviews, and stock quotes, as well as traditional newspaper layout and dry, AP-style editorial voice.
[Details]

 Blogs

Drudge Report
News that you might not find on some major corporate sites.
[Details]

Daily Kos: State of the Nation
Daily weblog with political analysis on US current events from a liberal perspective
[Details]

 News

Consumer Reports
Provides ratings, buying guides, product reviews and consumer information from the experts. Jan 1996 (Volume 61, Issue 1) - current , delayed 3 month(s)
[Details]

Newsweek
Full text features articles from the current weekly issue as well as breaking news stories. Coverage from Dec 1994 to the present.
[Details]

People Weekly
Full text articles on the Latest News, Celebrity Photos, Style Watch, and Gossip & Features. Coverage from 1984-to present.
[Details]

Time
Full text articles presenting the top news stories of the day and current events from around the globe. Coverage from 1983 to the present.
[Details]

Variety
Full text articles from a recognized and respected through out the world of show business as a premier source of entertainment news. Coverage from 1997 to the present.
[Details]

U.S. News & World Report
Full text articles on weekly basis and is generally considered to have a more right-of-center editorial point of view. Coverage from 1988 to the present.
[Details]

Chronicle of Higher Education
The online version of The Chronicle is published every weekday, which features the complete contents of the latest issue, providing news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. Coverage includes the daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, and salary databases. Articles published since September 1989 is available.
[Details]


Last Modified: Wednesday, August 3rd, 2011

Susan Ottignon is the subject librarian for Popular Reading and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

sottigno Sue Ottignon
Research Support Librarian for Languages & Literatures
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 220
610-519-5184