Key Article Databases
PsycINFO 1872-current (ProQuest)Indexes journals, dissertations and some books in the fields of personality psychology, social psychology, educational psychology and more.
[
Details]
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
[
Details]
Social Sciences Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from the journal literature in the physical and social sciences. Search by article title word, journal title, author, cited author or reference, or address word (e.g. author's institution). Coverage begins 1956 to present.
[
Details]
ProQuest Psychology Journals (ProQuest)Provides full text for hundreds of psychology related journals.
[
Details]
Psychiatry OnlineIncludes the full text of all editions of the DSM-IV-TR and full text articles of some psychiatric journals as well as a few psychiatric textbooks. American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines in both comprehensive and quick-reference formats are searchable also.
[
Details]
Other Useful Databases
PubMedPubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Click for downloadable instructions.[
Details]
Animal Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)Provides a survey of all important journals dealing with the biology of particular taxonomic groups. Significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology, are covered.
[
Details]
MIT CognetMIT CogNet is an electronic community for researchers in cognitive and brain sciences. Includes library of electronic books and journals from the MIT Press as well as other publishers, professional associations, institutions and individuals.
[
Details]
Biological Abstracts (Thomson Scientific / ISI Web Services)Biological Abstracts is a comprehensive database that directs you to information covered in life sciences journals. Coverage begins 1969 to present.
[
Details]
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press)Provides an online collection of hours of video for the study of counseling, psychology, psychotherapy and social work. It includes counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, interviews and teaching and discussion guides. A detailed guide to the database can be found at
http://alexanderstreet.com/resources/Guides/CTIV%20guide.pdf.
[
Details]
Encyclopedias
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
Encyclopedia of psychological assessment
Classics in the History of PsychologyContains full-text writings of eminent psychologists.
[
Details]
Oxford Companion to the MindBrief articles with bibliographies on concepts related to intelligence, learning, and the mind. Also included are biographical sketches of researchers and practioners as well as entries on conditions, treatments and effects.
[
Details]
International Encyclopedia of LinguisticsThis interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia an invaluable resource not only for linguistics but also for scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.
[
Details]
A Dictionary of Psychology
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational PsychologyThe Encyclopedia is designed to be an introduction to the topics of I/O psychology for an audience including undergraduate students, beginning graduate students of I/O psychology and related disciplines, lay audiences seeking a nontechnical description of the field and its practices, practitioners wishing to stay abreast of the changes and updates in the field, and even the PhD-level academic seeking a portal into a new specialty area. It should also be noted that although the Encyclopedia is designed to be comprehensive in its coverage of topics, it is not meant to provide comprehensive treatments of any given topic.
[
Details]
Learning and Memory: a Comprehensive Reference
Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
Handbook of life-span developmentCovers cognitive, biological, social and emotional aspects of human change across the life span. The chapters written by scholars range from the development of mental processing to developing civic engagement within a civic context.
[
Details]
Tests
Mental Measurement Yearbook (EBSCO)The database covers more than 2,200 commercially-available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, educational, speech & hearing, and sensory motor. Coverage includes the 9th to 16th
Yearbooks, January 2007.
[
Details]
ETS databaseA searchable database for tests some of which can be downloaded for a fee.
[
Details]
Web Sites
Assignment Resources
Last Modified: Wednesday, January 18th, 2012