Books
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
ProceedingsFirst (OCLC)Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Books in Print (Bowker)Use Books in Print to find records for in-print, recently out-of-print and forthcoming books from over 44,000 North American publishers.
[
Details]
Articles
JSTORA searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
[
Details]
Project MuseSearchable collection of recent full-text humanities, social science and mathematics journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
[
Details]
PAIS International (ProQuest)The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
[
Details]
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)ProQuest Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
[
Details]
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[
Details]
Social Sciences Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from the journal literature in the physical and social sciences. Search by article title word, journal title, author, cited author or reference, or address word (e.g. author's institution). Coverage begins 1956 to present.
[
Details]
Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)Criminal Justice Abstracts covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. The database contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
[
Details]
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
CQ Electronic Library (CQ Press)Combines many CQ Press resources for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Access is provided to Congress and the Nation (1945-2004), Historic Documents Series (1972 -), Political Handbook of the World, Supreme Court Yearbook (1989 -), Vital Statistics on American Politics and the Washington Information Directory.
[
Details]
Emerald Journal Database (Emerald) [Full-text journal articles on management and economics. This database can also be searched. Villanova subscribes to a portion of the journals offered full-text in Emerald
[
Details]
EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)Citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, working papers and dissertations from 1969 to present based on the Journal of Economic Literature's subject classification and supported by the American Economic Association (AEA). This enhanced version of EconLit includes the full text of all AEA journals and roughly 400 other scholarly journals.
[
Details]
Journals
Web Sites
FindLaw[
Details]
FollowTheMoney.orgFrom the National Institute on Money in State Politics, tracks political donations in all 50 states. Reports the influence of campaign money on state-level elections and public policy in all 50 states.A campaign-finance database and relevant issue analyses are available through FollowTheMoney.org.
[
Details]
LandStat - Philadelphia Department of RecordsThe LandStat application supports analysis and display of aggregated data for land records information based on official documents tracked by the Department of Records through its PhilaDOX system.
[
Details]
Master of Public Administration Program, Villanova University[
Details]
NACo - National Association of CountiesA national organization that represents county governments in the United States. NACo advances issues with a unified voice before the federal government,improves the public's understanding of county government, assists counties in finding and sharing innovative solutions through education and research, and provides value-added services to save counties and taxpayers money.
[
Details]
National Association of Towns and Towhships- NATaTTo provide America's smaller communities, towns and townships, and other suburban and rural localities a strong voice in Washington, DC.
[
Details]
National Council of State Legislatures (NCSL)A bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories; founded to improve the quality and effectiveness of state legislatures, promote policy innovation and communication among state legislature and ensure state legislatures a strong, cohesive voice in the federal system.
[
Details]
PA-Joint State Government CommissionSearch for studies and publications of the Joint State Government Commission, the primary non-partisan research organization that serves the General Assembly. The Commission provides the legislature with a readily available mechanism for conducting interdisciplinary studies.
[
Details]
Political Science at Villanova University[
Details]
SearchGov.comSearch engine for U.S. government sites.
[
Details]
State & Local Government on the Net[
Details]
U.S. Courts - The Federal JudiciaryThe purpose of this site is to function as a clearinghouse for information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.
[
Details]
U.S. Government Information by Topic[
Details]
Statistics
Book of the States The Book of the States provides answers and comparisons for all 56 states, commonwealths and territories of the United States through in-depth tables, charts and figures illustrating how state government operates.Published by the Council of State Governments (CSG).
[
Details]
CenStats DatabasesFrom the US Census Bureau, several databases of demographic and economic information, including Building Permits Data; International Trade Data; Census Tract Street Locator; Detailed Occupation by Race, Hispanic Origin and Sex; and USA Counties Data.
[
Details]
Census (U.S.) Demographic ProfilesSearch by U.S. summary or by state geographic areas: nation, region, division, state, county, county subdivision, place, consolidated city, metropolitan area, American Indian Area/Alaska Native Area/Hawaiian Home Land, and congressional districts.
[
Details]
County and City Data BookPresents statistics on such topics as population, health, crime, education, income, trade for each county and incorporated city with 25,000 inhabitants or more.
[
Details]
Data.govData.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
[
Details]
Census of GovernmentsProduced every five years since 1957, for years ending in "2" and "7." Identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local government sector; provides authoritative benchmark figures of public finance and public employment; classifies local government organizations, powers, and activities; and measures federal, state, and local fiscal relationships. Includes all state and local governments in the United States. Local governments include: counties, cities, townships, special districts (such as water districts, fire districts, library districts, mosquito abatement districts, and so on) and school districts
[
Details]
Economic Policy Institute - EPI DatazoneA compilation of all the data behind EPI’s research, and includes historical data on wage trends, unemployment rates for different demographic groups and much more.
[
Details]
FedStats"The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. federal agencies."
[
Details]
Financial Report of the U.S. Government[
Details]
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in the distant 1975 and has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
[
Details]
ICPSRInter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research holdings include several time series and other types of aggregate data, its holdings consist mainly of raw data derived from surveys, censuses, and administrative records. The data holdings contain some 6,000 studies and 450,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Click for searching tips.
[
Details]
ICPSR Data Use TutorialTutorial for Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research which has holdings that include several time series and other types of aggregate data; its holdings consist mainly of raw data derived from surveys, censuses, and administrative records. The data holdings contain some 6,000 studies and 450,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse.
[
Details]
Polling the NationsThe database includes 12,000 surveys and 250,000 questions on more than 3,500 topics. Scope is international, from the United States, to more than 60 other countries.
[
Details]
SearchGov.comSearch engine for U.S. government sites.
[
Details]
Social Trends and Indicators USA"Provides detailed statistics on social issues paired with expert analyses of the statistics."
[
Details]
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesIncludes everything from government spending to the environment to communications. It is a most comprehensive one-volume reference source on the Nation's economic and social condition.
[
Details]
Statistical Insight (Proquest)Provides the index and abstracts to American Statistics Index (U.S. government statistical sources). Contains over 100,000 statistical publications and is searchable by subject, category, title and author.
[
Details]
U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickfactsQuick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography.
[
Details]
UNESCO Institute for Statistics - World Education IndicatorsGlobal and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, culture and communication.
[
Details]
United States Historical Census Data BrowserHistorical statistical data derived from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing.
[
Details]
Associations
National Academy of Public Administration
National Association of State Budget Officers (NASBO)Professional membership organization for state budget and finance officers. Acting as chief financial advisors to the nation’s governors,they guide their states in analysis of budget options and formation of sound public policy. NASBO exists to support its members in their critical job functions by providing information and training on critical state fiscal issues and budget processes, responding to member research inquiries on topics impacting states and their budgets and organizing national meetings where members can discuss critical issues and share best practices.
National Association of Towns and Towhships- NATaTTo provide America's smaller communities, towns and townships, and other suburban and rural localities a strong voice in Washington, DC.
National Council of State Legislatures (NCSL)A bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories; founded to improve the quality and effectiveness of state legislatures, promote policy innovation and communication among state legislature and ensure state legislatures a strong, cohesive voice in the federal system.
Databases
Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchFirst-time users have to register. The Roper Center has a large archive of public opinion information. It contains nearly 500,000 questions and responses from national public opinion surveys going back to 1935. Among the many survey sources are Gallup, Harris,
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, ABC, CBS, CNN and NBC. The archive includes full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses using
RoperExpress.
[
Details]
News
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Philadelphia InquirerContains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
The Times Archives 1785-1985The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
[
Details]
ProQuest NewspapersIncludes coverage of 27 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.
[
Details]
Federal News ServiceProvides immediate verbatim transcripts of government briefings, speeches, press conferences and other newsmaker events to the many domestic and international news bureaus in Washington, D. C. FNS transcribs some Congressional hearings, National Press Club speeches, and significant events such as conferences at Brookings Institution, Carnegie Endowment and broadcast interviews with opinion leaders.
[
Details]
Last Modified: Wednesday, May 1st, 2013