MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to articles from over 3000 journals and series published internationally, as well as monographs, collections, and various types of reference works.
MLA Directory of Periodicals [
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)LCO is an extensive compilation of literary commentary reaching back 30 years and cover centuries of critiques on authors and their works that span all time periods, types of literature and regions. The cross searchable collection brings together the most acclaimed literary series
Drama Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism providing criticism on the major authors, dramatists and poets. The database includes
Shakespearean Literature Criticism with a comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of his plays and poetry.
[
Details]
Literature Online (Chadwyck)A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
[
Details]
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.
[
Details]
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)The database combines two earlier databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. This database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present.
[
Details]
ERIC (ProQuest)The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. It indexes both journal articles and reports from government and private agencies.
[
Details]
Literature Resource Center (Gale)Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors.In-depth coverage of the most studied authors. Cross searching capability between LRC and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
[
Details]
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)Provides quick, powerful access to bibliographic and citation information you need to find research data, and analyze trends, journals, and researchers from over 1,395 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. The database provides user ability to track prior research and monitor current developments, see who is citing their work, measure the influence of colleagues' work, and follow the path of today's hottest ideas. Coverage begins 1991 to present.
[
Details]
JSTORA searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
[
Details]
Dialnet (Universidad de La Rioja)Dialnet (Diffusion of Alert in the Network) is a platform of resources and documentary services, whose main target concentrates in improving the visibility and the access to Hispanic scientific literature through Internet.
[
Details]
Gale's Literary Index (Gale)A master index to literary series published by Gale. It combines and cross references more than 130,000 author names (including pseudonyms and variant names) and more than 140,000 titles. For biographical information and critical essays.
[
Details]
Handbook of Latin American Studies - HLAS (LC)The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
[
Details]
Iter: Bibliography of Medieval and Renaissance Europe from 400-1700A bibliography of more than 300 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
[
Details]
Film & Television Literature IndexA comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
[
Details]
Johns Hopkins Guide To Literary Theory & CriticismAn alphabetical arrangement on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats figures and kinds of inquiry from other fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism as well as figures, who did not explicitly deal with, but who still deeply affected, literature, literary theory or literary criticism.
[
Details]
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to articles from over 3000 journals and series published internationally, as well as monographs, collections, and various types of reference works.
MLA Directory of Periodicals [
Details]
Literature Resource Center (Gale)Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors.In-depth coverage of the most studied authors. Cross searching capability between LRC and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
[
Details]
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)LCO is an extensive compilation of literary commentary reaching back 30 years and cover centuries of critiques on authors and their works that span all time periods, types of literature and regions. The cross searchable collection brings together the most acclaimed literary series
Drama Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism providing criticism on the major authors, dramatists and poets. The database includes
Shakespearean Literature Criticism with a comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of his plays and poetry.
[
Details]
Contemporary Literary CriticismSelected volumes now available online in
Literature Resource Center (Gale).[
Details]
Literature Criticism From 1400 to 1800.Selected volumes now available online in
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
[
Details]
Twentieth-Century Literary CriticismSelected volumes now available online in Literature Resource Center (Gale)
[
Details]
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (Gale)A source of wide-ranging critical opinion on early literature, this series contains excerpts from criticism through the ages on the works of philosophers, poets and playwrights, political leaders, scientists, mathematicians and writers from other genres. Students writing a term paper on an author, work, topic, theme or idea, will find this series a helpful first resource. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Entries feature biography and textual history, bibliographies of the writer's works, criticism and more. The titles of works are searchable. Reprints also available from
Literature Resource Center.
[
Details]
Drama Criticism (Gale)Provides critical analyses of significant dramatists or plays. For each play or playwright featured, a full range of critical opinion is presented, along with a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Titles of the plays are searchable. Reprints also available from
Literature Resource Center.
[
Details]
Poetry Criticism (Gale)Provides critical analyses of the works of poets of all eras. Entries provide an introductory biographical sketch, an author portrait, a primary bibliography, annotated full text and excerpted criticism of the poets' works and sources for additional reading. When available, comments from the poets themselves are included. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Titles of poems are searchable. Reprints also available from
Literature Resource Center.
[
Details]
Short Story Criticism (Gale)Covers critical analyses of the works of major authors of short fiction. Includes full-text (90%) and excerpts of published critical essays, with an overview of the author or work and a historical survey of the critical response. Searchable by the title of the short story. Reprints also available from
Literature Resource Center.
[
Details]
Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism (Gale)Coverage includes profiles of literary figures who died between 1800 and 1899 by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. Reprints also available from
Literature Resource Center.
[
Details]
Cambridge Companions to Literature and ClassicsThe
Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers over 2000 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed the general reader. For the author Companions, each writer is placed in literary and historical context; their major works are analyzed, either in separate chapters or grouped according to theme, and their influence on later writers assessed. The generic and topical Companions cover periods of English literature such as Old English or the Victorian Novel, and literary genres such as Modernism or Greek Tragedy, giving the reader vital contextual information about political, social, religious and artistic relationships. The Companions to Classical Civilisation examine key periods and aspects of the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome.
[
Details]
Hispanic Literature Criticism
Library CatalogThe Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
[
Details]
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses @ Villanova Universityservice provided to universities that actively publish their graduate student's dissertations and theses with ProQuest's Dissertation Publishing. Dissertations & Theses @ enables individual universities to access the citations and abstracts of all their student's dissertations and theses published with ProQuest, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
[
Details]
The Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation
Dictionary of Italian Literature
The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature
Year's work in modern language studiesPB1 .Y45 v. 1- 1930-Present; Latest edition in Reference.
[
Details]
Reader's Guide to Japanese Literature
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory
Biography in Context (Gale)A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people from around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas and throughout history. Access to more than 330,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles available from more than 250 magazines as well as more than 20,000 images, and in-depth coverage of key events.
[
Details]
Literature Resource Center (Gale)Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors.In-depth coverage of the most studied authors. Cross searching capability between LRC and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of World Biography (Gale)Includes entries of approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.
[
Details]
Latin American WritersA collection of biographical and critical essays on Latin American writers by scholars from the U.S., Latin America, and Europe.
[
Details]
Dictionary of Literary Biography: Latin American and Hispanic LiteratureOnline coverage of Brazilian, Chicano, Latin-American Fiction Writers and Dramatists.
[
Details]
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete OnlineThe Dictionary of Literary Biography print series has been a favorite with students and scholars for many years, often the first place to go to find authoritative biographical and critical essays on “the world’s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.”
[
Details]
Dictionary of Literary Biography: Asian LiteratureOnline coverage of Chinese, Japanese and South Asian writers.
[
Details]
Dictionary of Literary Biography: European literatureOnline coverage of French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish writers.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics"Covers 27 key areas of the field, including Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, Discourse, Cognitive Second Language Acquisition, Language Policy and Planning, Literacy, and Technology and Language "
[
Details]
Cambridge Companions to Literature and ClassicsThe
Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers over 2000 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed the general reader. For the author Companions, each writer is placed in literary and historical context; their major works are analyzed, either in separate chapters or grouped according to theme, and their influence on later writers assessed. The generic and topical Companions cover periods of English literature such as Old English or the Victorian Novel, and literary genres such as Modernism or Greek Tragedy, giving the reader vital contextual information about political, social, religious and artistic relationships. The Companions to Classical Civilisation examine key periods and aspects of the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome.
[
Details]
Cambridge Companion to French Novel
Cambridge Companion to Flaubert
Cambridge Companion to Gabriel García Márquez"This Companion includes new and probing readings of all of García Márquez's works, by leading international specialists. His life in Colombia, the context of Latin American history and culture, key themes in his works and their critical reception are explored in detail."
[
Details]
Cambridge Companion to Medieval French LiteratureMedieval French literature encompasses 450 years of literary output in Old and Middle French, mostly produced in Northern France and England. These texts, including courtly lyrics, prose and verse romances, dits amoureux and plays, proved hugely influential for other European literary traditions in the medieval period and beyond. This Companion offers a wide-ranging and stimulating guide to literature composed in medieval French from its beginnings in the ninth century until the Renaissance. The essays are grounded in detailed analysis of canonical texts and authors such as the Chanson de Roland, the Roman de la Rose, Villon's Testament, Chrétien de Troyes, Machaut, Christine de Pisan and the Tristan romances.
[
Details]
Cambridge Companion to Molière
Cambridge Companion to War WritingMcLoughlin, Catherine Mary, and Cambridge collections online.
The Cambridge Companion to War Writing. Cambridge, UK ; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2009. Cambridge Histories Online. Cambridge University Press. 16 October 2011
[
Details]
Cambridge Companion to Zola
Cambridge History of Latin American LiteratureThe Cambridge History of Latin American Literature is by far the most comprehensive and authoritative work of its kind. Its three volumes cover the whole sweep of Latin American literature (including Brazilian) from pre-Columbian times to the present, and contain chapters on Latin American writing in the USA. Specialists in North America, Latin America, and Britain have contributed to this uniquely reliable reference work, creating a set of books which contains innovative approaches that will expand and animate the field for years to come.
[
Details]
Cambridge History of Literary CriticismThe Cambridge History of Literary Criticism provides a comprehensive historical account of Western literary criticism from classical antiquity to the present day. The history will comprise nine volumes and deal with literary theory and critical practice. It is intended as an authoritative work of reference and exposition, much more than a mere chronicle of facts. While remaining broadly non-partisan, it addresses, where appropriate, controversial issues of current critical debate without evasion or pretence of neutrality. Nevertheless, it will maintain throughout a scrupulous concern for factual accuracy and a due representation of differing points of view.
[
Details]
Cambridge History of Russian Literature
Cambridge History of Spanish Literature.Gies, David T. "The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature." The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature. Cambridge University Press, 2004. Cambridge Histories Online. Cambridge University Press. 27 January 2009
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureProvides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
[
Details]
Historical dictionary of Latin American Literature and TheaterOnline resource provides users with an accessible single-volume reference tool covering Portuguese-speaking Brazil and the 16 Spanish-speaking countries of continental Latin America. Entries for authors, ranging from the early colonial period to the present, give succinct biographical data and an account of the author's literary production, with particular attention to their most prominent works and where they belong in literary history.
[
Details]
Library CatalogThe Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics"Covers 27 key areas of the field, including Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, Discourse, Cognitive Second Language Acquisition, Language Policy and Planning, Literacy, and Technology and Language "
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of World CulturesThis reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
[
Details]
Reference Guide to World LiteratureContains biographical and critical essays on authors from throughout the world, as well as essays covering specific work or works of an author, with criticism and analysis of those works.
[
Details]
Concise Oxford Dictionary of LinguisticsProvides concise, informative entries across the whole field of linguistics.
[
Details]
International Encyclopedia of LinguisticsThis interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia an invaluable resource not only for linguistics but also for scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.
[
Details]
Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldAn encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,912 known living languages.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Language and EducationA fully revised and updated edition, which includes two new volumes on language socialization and the ecology of language, provides a global coverage of language and education and an emphasis on multicultural and bilingual education. Each review is followed by a reference list.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale)Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
[
Details]
Gallica Digital Library (BnF) : Presse et RevuesBibliothèque nationale de France's (BnF) digital project, "Gallica focuses primarily on works about France, in the French language, and published in France" providing access to "the first complete collections of authors (in literature, philosophy, and other fields)" reflecting the "vital scholarly movement in France, especially in the field of history."
[
Details]
Digital Libraries of Rare Books in SpainList of libraries with digitalized rare books.
[
Details]
Castro Speech Database - LANICThis database includes speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. All texts are in English. If you would like more recent speeches or texts in Spanish, please consult Discursos e Intervenciones de Fidel Castro
[
Details]
MLA Literary Research GuideLearn how scholars identify and locate primary and secondary works.
[
Details]
Berliner Morgenpost
Daily Yomiuri
Francophone NewspapersBooks, Magazines & Newspapers
[
Details]
The Japan Times
Il Manifesto
Le Monde
El Pais
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[
Details]
GenderWatch (ProQuest)A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
[
Details]
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals IndexIndexes articles, book reviews, documents and literary works about Latin America, the Caribbean Basin, and Hispanics in the U.S., from over 400 social science and humanities journals.
[
Details]
Internet Public Library NewspapersOnline newspapers from around the world.
[
Details]
ARTstorARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields.
[
Details]
AP Images (AP)The Associated Press, is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP's mission is to be the essential global news network, providing distinctive news services of the highest quality, reliability and objectivity with reports that are accurate, balanced and informed. For more than a century, AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment.
[
Details]
Illustrated Quixote"In 2005, to commemorate the 400th anniversary of Cervantes' work, Brown University mounted an exhibition of selected El Quijote images, drawn from a unique collection of 17th- and 18th-century illustrated editions held in its library." (ChoiceReviews)
[
Details]