Articles
ABSEES- American Bibliography of Slavic + East European Studies (EBSCO)Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs OnlineA resource that aggregates dispersed content about theory and research in international affairs. CIAO includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, full-text journal articles and policy briefs, and teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features. Advanced searching capability is present and results can be sorted by date and relevance. CIAO also provides links to international affairs Internet sources. All sections of CIAO are updated monthly.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)The database combines two earlier databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. This database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present.
Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS)A primary source database that ranges from the years immediately following World War II through the 1970s. Major foreign and domestic events from these years are covered such as: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and many others. After researchers visit presidential libraries and request documents, the libraries photocopy and provide them for filming, scanning, indexing and abstracting.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)-Selected Parts, Daily Report, 1974-1996To be released in eight parts, the collection, provides perspectives about more than 100 countries outside of the U.S, featuring transcripts of foreign news broadcasts translated into English from materials selected by the CIA for distribution to U.S. policymakers and security analysts. The first series of this historical archive features the Middle East, Africa (Sub-Saharan) and South Asia.
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)An annotated reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes journal articles, book reviews and dissertations.
JSTORA searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
PAIS International (ProQuest)The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
ProQuest CentralVast aggregated full-text database
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, including the legal research network and political science network.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from the journal literature in the physical and social sciences. Search by article title word, journal title, author, cited author or reference, or address word (e.g. author's institution). Coverage begins 1956 to present.
The Current Digest of the Russian PressThe Digest is a comprehensive retrospective digest of the news presented to the Soviet and Russian public for more than a half-century, from the beginnings of the Cold War through the emergence of Russia in the new balance of power. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - WPSA (ProQuest)This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. The database is simultaneously searchable with other ProQuest databases such as ProQuest Newspapers.
Books
Cambridge Companion to Modern Russian Culture[
Details]
Cambridge History of Early Inner Asia[
Details]
Cambridge History of Russia3 volumes
[
Details]
Cambridge History of Russian Literature[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Russian & Slavic myth and legend (print)[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Russian History[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Russian Women's Movements1st floor, Falvey Library
[
Details]
European Library PortalThe ‘Electronic Library of Dissertations’ is a collection that the Russian State Library will make available to the users of The European Library. Up to now it holds to 174026 documents (33594 abstracts and 140432 dissertations). The European Library is a service of the Conference of European National Librarians (CENL).
[
Details]
Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore[
Details]
Political Handbook of the World (CQ Press)Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
[
Details]
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
Web Sites
Archive of Parliamentary Elections -- Russia 2007Archive of Parliamentary Elections -- Russia 2007 includes polling and public opinion, NGOs, monitoring, analysis and commentary, non-candidate blogs, government web sites.
[
Details]
Archives in RussiaA brief extract from the ArcheoBiblioBase directory and bibliographic information system for archival repositories in the Russian Federation.
[
Details]
Chronology of RussiaRussian history resources, Bucknell University
[
Details]
Color Photographs of Vanished RussiaBetween 1909 and 1915, the aristocratic but intrepid Prokudin-Gorsky traveled across Russia and central Asia with a special permit from the Czar and a custom-made railroad car that he had rigged into a mobile dark room. The results of his trip are astonishing, but were lost to public view following the Russian Revolution. Since their purchase by the United States Library of Congress, however, they have begun to find a wide audience.
[
Details]
Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) - Interstate Statistical Committee dataAt present (2010) the CIS unites: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine.
In September 1993 the Heads of the CIS States signed an Agreement on the creation of Economic Union to form common economic space grounded on free movement of goods, services, labour force, capital; to elaborate coordinated monetary, tax, price, customs, external economic policy; to bring together methods of regulating economic activity and create favourable conditions for the development of direct production relations.
[
Details]
Hoover Institution, Stanford University - Russian EconomyWeb site on the Russian economy providing scholarly discussion and analysis of Russia’s economy in global perspective.
[
Details]
KremlinRussia_E - President of Russia twitter accountRussian President Dmitry Medvedev’s English language twitter feed.
[
Details]
Map of the Federal Okrugs of the Russian Federation[
Details]
President of Russia's web siteOfficial English language web site for the Russian president. Includes speeches and transcripts at http://eng.kremlin.ru/transcripts.
[
Details]
Russian Art from the Beginnings to Peter the GreatAs part of France's "Year of Russia" celebrations, the Louvre is hosting a major exhibition (May 10 to 24, 2010)devoted to the history of Christian Russia, from the 9th to the 18th century.
[
Details]
Slavic Folklore: Internet ResourcesSlavic Languages and Literature subject guides from University of Virginia
[
Details]
Soviet History Internet Archive[
Details]
Primary Sources
Seventeen Moments in Soviet HistoryAn archive of texts, images, maps and audio and video materials from the Soviet era (1917-1991). The materials are arranged by year and by subject, are fully searchable, and are translated into English. Materials include Soviet propaganda, politics, economics, society, crime, literature, art, dissidents and hundreds of other topics. SEVENTEEN MOMENTS IN SOVIET HISTORY was funded by a generous educational development grant from the National Endowment for Humanities (NEH). The original designer of the site was Krzystof Karski and the project was developed in collaboration with MATRIX, a center devoted to the application of new technologies in the humanities and social sciences, which hosts the site.
[
Details]
Electronic Repository of Russian Historical Statistics, 18th - 21st centuriesThe aim of the project is to create an on-line electronic repository of Russian historical statistics. The principal focus of the data-hub is Russian economic and social history of the last three centuries (18th-21st).
[
Details]
President of Russia's web siteOfficial English language web site for the Russian president. Includes speeches and transcripts at http://eng.kremlin.ru/transcripts.
[
Details]
Biographies
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete OnlineThe Dictionary of Literary Biography print series has been a favorite with students and scholars for many years, often the first place to go to find authoritative biographical and critical essays on “the world’s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.”
[
Details]
Russian Imperial Bureaucracy, 1762-1881The Russian Imperial Bureaucracy, 1762-1881 dataset is typically used by researchers who are familiar with statistical software programs such as SPSS or SAS. These programs are used to analyze the data and determine statistical patterns. This site provides access to the raw data and documentation which contains information on Russian Adminstrative elites, includes ca. 415 governors: dates of incumbency in different central administrative, territorial, foreign trade, Imperial Court, top Moscow and St. Petersburg posts; dates of attaining each of top four civil and military ranks; dates of birth, death and entrance into civil service.
[
Details]
Bibliographies
ABSEES- American Bibliography of Slavic + East European Studies (EBSCO)Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.
[
Details]
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES)Contains the data of two former EBSEES databases, one for 1991-2000, the other for 2001-2006. Developed by the Berlin State Library in cooperation with the Maison des Sciences de l´Homme, Paris, EBSEES contains 85 000 titles. For the years 1975-1990 EBSEES is available in printed form only. Work on adding records to EBSEES ended in 2007.
[
Details]
Encyclopedias
News
Agentura.ru Founded in 2000 as internet-community of journalists that monitor and write about Russian, American, British, and other Western security and intelligence agencies.
[
Details]
Komsomolskaia Pravda[
Details]
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Nezavisimaia Gazeta[
Details]
Novaya GazetaRussian newspaper well known in the country for its critical and investigative coverage of Russian political and social affairs.
It is published in Moscow, regions within Russia and in some foreign countries.
[
Details]
Pravda -english ed.[
Details]
Rossiiskaia gazeta[
Details]
Russia Beyond the HeadlinesRussia Beyond the Headlines offers Political, business and cultural news and analysis and is produced by leading Russian daily Rossiyskaya Gazeta. Rossiyskaya Gazeta (www.rg.ru) is the Russian government’s paper of record and provides the official publication of all laws, decrees and official statements of state bodies.
[
Details]
Russia Business Report - BBC News[
Details]
Russia TodayRussian 24/7 English-language news channel which brings the Russian view on global news.
[
Details]
St. Petersburg Times[
Details]
slonSource of information about Russian business, economics and politics and the world.
[
Details]
Organizations/Institutes
Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ASEEES)A nonprofit, non-political, scholarly society - "is the leading private organization in the world dedicated to the advancement of knowledge about the former Soviet Union (including Eurasia) and Eastern and Central Europe." ASEEES supports teaching, research, and publication relating to Slavic, East-Central European and Eurasian studies nationally and internationally.
[
Details]
Center for Russian and East European Studies (REES)REES is an interdisciplinary academic center focusing on central and eastern Europe and the successor states of the Soviet Union.
[
Details]
Keenan Institute, Woodrow Wilson CenterA program bringing scholars and governmental specialists together to discuss political, social, and economic issues affecting Russia and other successor states to the Soviet Union, seeking always to place these issues within their historical context.
[
Details]
Russian & East European Institute (REEI)The Russian and East European Institute (REEI) was established in 1958 on Indiana University's Bloomington campus. REEI administers one of the country's leading programs in Russian and East European area studies.[
Details]
Siberia - Alaska Rail
Last Modified: Wednesday, February 27th, 2013