Key Article Databases
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)Covers scholarly journals in the field of sociology.
[
Details]
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
[
Details]
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)Covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.
[
Details]
ERIC (ProQuest)The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. It indexes both journal articles and reports from government and private agencies.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles in the areas of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
[
Details]
Sociological Abstracts Video Tutorial
You must install Adobe Flash to view this content.
Other Useful Article Databases
Population Index [1986 - 1998]A searchable and browsable annotated bibliography database of books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics.
[
Details]
Institute for Women's Policy ResearchThe Institute conducts rigorous research and disseminates its findings to address the needs of women, promote public dialogue, and strengthen families, communities, and societies. Various publications can be viewed and printed.
[
Details]
PsycINFO 1872-current (ProQuest)Indexes journals, dissertations and some books in the fields of personality psychology, social psychology, educational psychology and more.
[
Details]
PAIS International (ProQuest)The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
[
Details]
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)ProQuest Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)This is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
[
Details]
Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)Criminal Justice Abstracts covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. The database contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
[
Details]
Biographies
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale)Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works, that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
[
Details]
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography OnlineA reference work providing 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.
[
Details]
American National Biography OnlineBiographical resource on more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. All articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of World Biography (Gale)Includes entries of approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.
[
Details]
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)Includes full-text profiles of persons, living and deceased, and prominent in many professions including literature, art, music, film, politics, education and history. The up-to-date bibliographies include links to book and articles about the person and in some citations there is a photograph of the person.
[
Details]
Encyclopedias
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities
Encyclopedia of Social Theory
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences26 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library: H41.I58 2001
[
Details]
Social Trends and Indicators USA"Provides detailed statistics on social issues paired with expert analyses of the statistics."
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of World CulturesThis reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of European Social HistoryPeter Stearns, Ed. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001. 3186 pp. 6 vols.
This six-volume reference on European social history includes more than 230 articles on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health.
[
Details]
Social Issues in America8 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library: HN57.S624 2006
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of the African diaspora origins, experiences, and culturePresents knowledge about who African Diaspora peoples are and where they live; tries to understand the kinds of cultural transformations they have engaged in; to document their leading ideas; and to provide future researchers with information that can lead to further inquiry.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Encyclopedia of Counseling
Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime
The Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods
Encyclopedia of Social Problems
Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
21st Century Sociology
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods
Encyclopedia of African American Society
American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
Encyclopedia of American Urban History
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
Encyclopedia of Community
Handbook of Death & Dying
Encyclopedia of Disability
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Encyclopedia of Homelessness
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Encyclopedia of Political Communication
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
Encyclopedia of U.S. Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral Behavior
Encyclopedia of World Poverty
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
Blackwell Companion to Major Classical Social Theorists
Blackwell Companion to Major Contemporary Social Theorists
Blackwell Companion to Social Inequalities
Blackwell Companion to Social Movements
New Blackwell Companion to Social Theory
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior
Supreme Court and Capital Punishment
Supreme Court and Individual Rights
Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Dictionary of Sociology
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History & Society
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Encyclopedia of Population
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Human Rights Encyclopedia
Immigration in U.S. History
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
Working Americans, 1880-1999: The Working Class
Working Americans, 1880-1999: The Middle Class
Working Americans, 1880-1999: The Upper Class
Working Americans, 1880-1999: Their Children
Working Americans, 1880-2003: Americans at War
Working Americans, 1880-2005: Women at Work
Working Americans, 1880-1999: Social Movements
Working Americans, 1880-2007: Immigrants
Working Americans, 1770-1869: From the Revolutionary War to the Civil War
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Statistics
U.S. Census BureauCensus information about people & households, business & industry, geography, news, data tools, and fact finder resources
[
Details]
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesIncludes everything from government spending to the environment to communications. It is a most comprehensive one-volume reference source on the Nation's economic and social condition.
[
Details]
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in the distant 1975 and has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
[
Details]
Community Health Data Base (CHDB)ONLY AVAILABLE to the Villanova Community; for more information ask at Reference Desk or Nursing Lab. The central component of the database is the Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Surveys that provide timely information on the residents, children and adults who live in Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia counties. The survey targets key information about health status, personal health behaviors and access to and utilization of area health services. Data available at the census tract, ZIP code, county and regional level.
[
Details]
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice StatisticsPresents a broad spectrum of criminal justice data from more than 100 sources in 6 sections.
[
Details]
OFFSTATS Official Statistics on the WebFree directory of links to official statistics on the web searchable by country or topic.
[
Details]
Data Sets
ICPSRInter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research holdings include several time series and other types of aggregate data, its holdings consist mainly of raw data derived from surveys, censuses, and administrative records. The data holdings contain some 6,000 studies and 450,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Click for searching tips.
[
Details]
Council of European Social Science Data Archives[
Details]
Polling the NationsThe database includes 12,000 surveys and 250,000 questions on more than 3,500 topics. Scope is international, from the United States, to more than 60 other countries.
[
Details]
Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchFirst-time users have to register. The Roper Center has a large archive of public opinion information. It contains nearly 500,000 questions and responses from national public opinion surveys going back to 1935. Among the many survey sources are Gallup, Harris,
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, ABC, CBS, CNN and NBC. The archive includes full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses using
RoperExpress.
[
Details]
Data.govData.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
[
Details]
Newspapers
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Philadelphia InquirerContains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
[
Details]
GenderWatch (ProQuest)A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
[
Details]
Books
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Library CatalogThe Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
[
Details]
Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (PQ)This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms.
[
Details]
Course Resources
Last Modified: Wednesday, November 28th, 2012