Articles
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to articles from over 3000 journals and series published internationally, as well as monographs, collections, and various types of reference works.
MLA Directory of Periodicals [
Details]
Literature Online (Chadwyck)A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
[
Details]
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.
[
Details]
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)Provides quick, powerful access to bibliographic and citation information you need to find research data, and analyze trends, journals, and researchers from over 1,395 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. The database provides user ability to track prior research and monitor current developments, see who is citing their work, measure the influence of colleagues' work, and follow the path of today's hottest ideas. Coverage begins 1991 to present.
[
Details]
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[
Details]
World Shakespeare Bibliography OnlineProvides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, as well as theatrical productions, reviews of productions and other material related to Shakespeare published or produced between 1968 and 2003, with coverage continuing to extend forward and backward in time.
[
Details]
Drama Criticism (Gale)Provides critical analyses of significant dramatists or plays. For each play or playwright featured, a full range of critical opinion is presented, along with a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Titles of the plays are searchable. Reprints also available from
Literature Resource Center.
[
Details]
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)LCO is an extensive compilation of literary commentary reaching back 30 years and cover centuries of critiques on authors and their works that span all time periods, types of literature and regions. The cross searchable collection brings together the most acclaimed literary series
Drama Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism providing criticism on the major authors, dramatists and poets. The database includes
Shakespearean Literature Criticism with a comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of his plays and poetry.
[
Details]
JSTORA searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
[
Details]
Project MuseSearchable collection of recent full-text humanities, social science and mathematics journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
[
Details]
Shakespearean Literature Criticism (Gale)This database provides comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of the plays of Shakespeare with excerpts from the criticism of William Shakespeare's plays and poetry, from the first published appraisals to current evaluations. Reprints also available from
Literature Resource Center.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)This is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
[
Details]
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Google Scholar
Film & Television Literature IndexA comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
[
Details]
OmniFile Full Text Mega (EBSCO)Provides indexing, abstracting, and selected full text to the Wilson databases for Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, and the Social Sciences. Also includes selected full text to the Wilson databases for Art, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science.
[
Details]
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (EBSCO)Readers' Guide Full Text is part of the Wilson OmniFile. It provides indexing and full text articles from both the popular press and peer reviewed journals.
[
Details]
Poole's Plus: Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Paratext)19th Century Masterfile is a vast 'Index of Indexes', and is the largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. 19th Century Masterfile brings together over 60 subject indexes to: - Periodicals - Newspapers - Books - US Congressional Record - US and UK Government Documents - US Patents
[
Details]
Chronicle of Higher EducationThe online version of The Chronicle is published every weekday, which features the complete contents of the latest issue, providing news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. Coverage includes the daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, and salary databases. Articles published since September 1989 is available.
[
Details]
Books, Plays, Dissertations, etc.
Library CatalogThe Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
[
Details]
WorldCat (OCLC)A catalog of library holdings worldwide. WorldCat will indicate any local library holdings and also offers an inter-library loan request option.
[
Details]
North American Theatre OnlineThis resource includes more than 40,000 pages of important reference sources in electronic format, indexed and searchable along with all the other content. O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources. Also, in-depth records cover tens of thousands of plays, including many previously unpublished works by major authors—not only major and known plays, but also partial works, works that have never been performed, and works that were believed lost, providing researchers with unique and never-before-seen information. Related resources include thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera.
[
Details]
MagillOnLiterature PlusThe MagillOnLiterature Plus is comprised of approximately 30,000 records, more than 1,000 images, and has a glossary of 1,310 literary terms. MagillOnLiterature Plus contains editorially reviewed critical analyses, brief plot summaries, and extended character profiles covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. MagillOnLiterature Plus also contains over 6,500 biographical essays on more than 3,500 different authors, including up-to-date lists of each author's principal works
[
Details]
Google BooksSearch the full text of digitized books contributed by libraries and publishers. View either brief exerpts, bibliographic information or if not protected by copyright the full text.
[
Details]
MLA Literary Research GuideLearn how scholars identify and locate primary and secondary works.
[
Details]
Essay & General Literature Index (EBSCO)Indexes essays published in book collections covering philosophy, religion, social and political science, economics, law, education, linguistics, science, the various arts, literature and history.
[
Details]
Black Drama, 2nd. Ed.When completed, this database will contain the full-text of 1,200 plays, written from the mid-1800s to the present, by more than 100 playwrights worldwide including such notables as Langston Hughes and Zora Neal Hurston. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, performance information and images. The collection covers key writings from the Harlem Renaissance, the Black Arts movement from the 1960s and 1970s as well as 20th century African and Caribbean drama.
[
Details]
Play Index (EBSCO)This index provides bibliographic citations over some 30,000 plays published individually or in anthologies and collections going back to 1949.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses @ Villanova Universityservice provided to universities that actively publish their graduate student's dissertations and theses with ProQuest's Dissertation Publishing. Dissertations & Theses @ enables individual universities to access the citations and abstracts of all their student's dissertations and theses published with ProQuest, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
[
Details]
Reviews
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[
Details]
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
The Times Archives 1785-1985The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
[
Details]
North American Theatre OnlineThis resource includes more than 40,000 pages of important reference sources in electronic format, indexed and searchable along with all the other content. O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources. Also, in-depth records cover tens of thousands of plays, including many previously unpublished works by major authors—not only major and known plays, but also partial works, works that have never been performed, and works that were believed lost, providing researchers with unique and never-before-seen information. Related resources include thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera.
[
Details]
Project MuseSearchable collection of recent full-text humanities, social science and mathematics journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
[
Details]
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (EBSCO)Readers' Guide Full Text is part of the Wilson OmniFile. It provides indexing and full text articles from both the popular press and peer reviewed journals.
[
Details]
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)Provides citations to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
[
Details]
World Shakespeare Bibliography OnlineProvides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, as well as theatrical productions, reviews of productions and other material related to Shakespeare published or produced between 1968 and 2003, with coverage continuing to extend forward and backward in time.
[
Details]
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.
[
Details]
OmniFile Full Text Mega (EBSCO)Provides indexing, abstracting, and selected full text to the Wilson databases for Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, and the Social Sciences. Also includes selected full text to the Wilson databases for Art, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
America’s Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (Readex)A digital collection of early American newspapers from 1690 to 1922, that includes the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-1920.
[
Details]
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Digital ArchivePart 1: New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humor and Leisure/Sport: Chronicles the rise of modern magazine culture. Includes magazines for women such as Hearth and Home and the Women’s Penny Paper, satirical magazines such as Punch and Fun, magazines aimed at the young such as Boy’s Own Paper as well as a number of sports and leisure magazines.
Part 2: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial: Includes the complete run of 91 magazines with topics ranging from the abolition of the slave trade within the British Empire in 1807 to the first Opium Wars (1839-42) and the “scramble for Africa” in the 1880s and 1890s.
[
Details]
British Periodicals Collection I (ProQuest)The database consists of more than 160 journals spanning the late 17th through early 20th centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. This resource has facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published.
[
Details]
Poole's Plus: Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Paratext)19th Century Masterfile is a vast 'Index of Indexes', and is the largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. 19th Century Masterfile brings together over 60 subject indexes to: - Periodicals - Newspapers - Books - US Congressional Record - US and UK Government Documents - US Patents
[
Details]
Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)Indexes book reviews published in U.S., Canadian and British periodicals, covering over 7,000 adult and children's books each year. Includes English-language fiction and nonfiction.
[
Details]
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (EBSCO)This database covers some 300,000 books, citing more than 1.5 million book reviews. Master records for each book include the title's essentials (author, descriptive summary, publisher, publication year, page count, ISBN, indicator of illustrations, and more) plus links to review excerpts and review citations. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, presenting the most evaluative passages of the review, and most have at least two. These excerpts, together with the descriptive summaries of the books, deliver a complete picture of how the book was received at the time it was published.
[
Details]
Newspapers
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
Philadelphia InquirerContains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
[
Details]
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
The Times Archives 1785-1985The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
[
Details]
America’s Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (Readex)A digital collection of early American newspapers from 1690 to 1922, that includes the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-1920.
[
Details]
Burney Collection Newspapers: Seventeenth-Eighteenth CenturyExplore the early history of the English newspaper. Learn about the English Civil War, the Restoration and 18th century political and cultural developments.“The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of ‘news’ and ‘newspapers’ and the “free press,” totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
Images
ARTstorARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields.
[
Details]
AP Images (AP)The Associated Press, is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP's mission is to be the essential global news network, providing distinctive news services of the highest quality, reliability and objectivity with reports that are accurate, balanced and informed. For more than a century, AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment.
[
Details]
North American Theatre OnlineThis resource includes more than 40,000 pages of important reference sources in electronic format, indexed and searchable along with all the other content. O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources. Also, in-depth records cover tens of thousands of plays, including many previously unpublished works by major authors—not only major and known plays, but also partial works, works that have never been performed, and works that were believed lost, providing researchers with unique and never-before-seen information. Related resources include thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera.
[
Details]
Fashion Plate CollectionMany of these plates are from some of the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century: Belle assemblée; Le bon ton; Le Follet, courrier des salons; Journal des dames and des modes; Godey's lady's book and magazine, and others. They are primarily hand-colored engravings although some of the plates after 1885 are colored lithographs. A project was undertaken by the Digital Initiatives Program, University Libraries, University of Washington, to digitize and provide online access to selections from this collection.
[
Details]
Black Drama, 2nd. Ed.When completed, this database will contain the full-text of 1,200 plays, written from the mid-1800s to the present, by more than 100 playwrights worldwide including such notables as Langston Hughes and Zora Neal Hurston. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, performance information and images. The collection covers key writings from the Harlem Renaissance, the Black Arts movement from the 1960s and 1970s as well as 20th century African and Caribbean drama.
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
The Times Archives 1785-1985The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
[
Details]
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.
[
Details]
Web Sites
Dictionaries, etc.
Johns Hopkins Guide To Literary Theory & CriticismAn alphabetical arrangement on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats figures and kinds of inquiry from other fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism as well as figures, who did not explicitly deal with, but who still deeply affected, literature, literary theory or literary criticism.
[
Details]
Oxford English DictionaryThe world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150. Based on the 1989 2nd edition, a 20-volume set, with additions from 1993-1997 and the 3rd edition (in progress) from 2000-. Approximately 1,000 new and revised entries will be released quarterly online.
[
Details]
International Dictionary of Theatre
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & PerformanceThis encyclopedia provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.
[
Details]
MLA Literary Research GuideA selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics. Fifth edition. By James L. Harner
[
Details]
Concise Oxford Companion to the TheatreThis concise version covers all aspects of theatre worldwide and throughout the ages. It contains entries on a vast range of theatrical styles, dramatists, performers, and directors, as well as information on theatres, festivals, and such technical topics as lighting, sound, and method acting.
[
Details]
Oxford Companion to ShakespeareThis book provides a lucid, stimulating, and authoritative guide to Shakespeare's plays and poems, and their interpretation around the world over the last four centuries.
[
Details]
A Dictionary of ShakespeareCompiled by one of the best-known authorities on the Bard's works, this dictionary offers up-to-date information on all aspects of Shakespeare in his own time and on his impact and influence on later ages.
[
Details]
Stage Writers Handbook : A Complete Business Guide for Playwrights, Composers, Lyricists, and LibrettistsThe book sets out clearly and straightforwardly what to expect, what your responsibilities are, what your rights are, how much to charge for your services and how to protect yourself as a professional theater writer today.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Fashion, Costume & Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations & Footwear through the Ages
The Oxford Companion to British HistoryThe Oxford Companion to British History covers all aspects of the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present day.
[
Details]
African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)The database provides students, scholars and librarians with online access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, AASC features the new
Encyclopedia of African American History: 1619-1895,
Black Women in America, the highly acclaimed
Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience, and the
African American National Biography project (estimated at 8 volumes). In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the
Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature and selected articles from other reference works.
[
Details]
Oxford Encyclopedia of American LiteratureThe database includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, themes and encompasses the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day.
[
Details]
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete OnlineThe Dictionary of Literary Biography print series has been a favorite with students and scholars for many years, often the first place to go to find authoritative biographical and critical essays on “the world’s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.”
[
Details]
MLA Periodicals Directory“(Go to the MLA International Bibliography for literary scholarship.) Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Contains information available on the journals and series that are covered in the MLA International Bibliography database... Over 5,800 titles are included; of these, over 4,400 are currently indexed. The records consist of editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, submission guidelines, and information on whether or not journals are peer reviewed. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.”
[
Details]
Primary Sources
Literature Online (Chadwyck)A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
The Times Archives 1785-1985The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
[
Details]
North American Theatre OnlineThis resource includes more than 40,000 pages of important reference sources in electronic format, indexed and searchable along with all the other content. O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources. Also, in-depth records cover tens of thousands of plays, including many previously unpublished works by major authors—not only major and known plays, but also partial works, works that have never been performed, and works that were believed lost, providing researchers with unique and never-before-seen information. Related resources include thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera.
[
Details]
Play Index (EBSCO)This index provides bibliographic citations over some 30,000 plays published individually or in anthologies and collections going back to 1949.
[
Details]
Black Drama, 2nd. Ed.When completed, this database will contain the full-text of 1,200 plays, written from the mid-1800s to the present, by more than 100 playwrights worldwide including such notables as Langston Hughes and Zora Neal Hurston. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, performance information and images. The collection covers key writings from the Harlem Renaissance, the Black Arts movement from the 1960s and 1970s as well as 20th century African and Caribbean drama.
[
Details]
American Periodicals Series - APS Online (ProQuest)Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
[
Details]
Early American Imprints, Series I Evans (1639-1800)Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides. It includes information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
[
Details]
America’s Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (Readex)A digital collection of early American newspapers from 1690 to 1922, that includes the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-1920.
[
Details]
Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection NewspapersExplore the early history of the English newspaper. Learn about the English Civil War, the Restoration and 18th century political and cultural developments.“The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of ‘news’ and ‘newspapers’ and the “free press,” totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable.
[
Details]
British Periodicals Collection I (ProQuest)The database consists of more than 160 journals spanning the late 17th through early 20th centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. This resource has facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published.
[
Details]
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Digital ArchivePart 1: New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humor and Leisure/Sport: Chronicles the rise of modern magazine culture. Includes magazines for women such as Hearth and Home and the Women’s Penny Paper, satirical magazines such as Punch and Fun, magazines aimed at the young such as Boy’s Own Paper as well as a number of sports and leisure magazines.
Part 2: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial: Includes the complete run of 91 magazines with topics ranging from the abolition of the slave trade within the British Empire in 1807 to the first Opium Wars (1839-42) and the “scramble for Africa” in the 1880s and 1890s.
[
Details]
Poole's Plus: Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Paratext)19th Century Masterfile is a vast 'Index of Indexes', and is the largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. 19th Century Masterfile brings together over 60 subject indexes to: - Periodicals - Newspapers - Books - US Congressional Record - US and UK Government Documents - US Patents
[
Details]
Biographies
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete OnlineThe Dictionary of Literary Biography print series has been a favorite with students and scholars for many years, often the first place to go to find authoritative biographical and critical essays on “the world’s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.”
[
Details]
Literature Resource Center (Gale)Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors.In-depth coverage of the most studied authors. Cross searching capability between LRC and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
[
Details]
Literature Online (Chadwyck)A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
[
Details]
Biography in Context (Gale)A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people from around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas and throughout history. Access to more than 330,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles available from more than 250 magazines as well as more than 20,000 images, and in-depth coverage of key events.
[
Details]
MagillOnLiterature PlusThe MagillOnLiterature Plus is comprised of approximately 30,000 records, more than 1,000 images, and has a glossary of 1,310 literary terms. MagillOnLiterature Plus contains editorially reviewed critical analyses, brief plot summaries, and extended character profiles covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. MagillOnLiterature Plus also contains over 6,500 biographical essays on more than 3,500 different authors, including up-to-date lists of each author's principal works
[
Details]
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography OnlineA reference work providing 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.
[
Details]
American National Biography OnlineBiographical resource on more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. All articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates.
[
Details]
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)LCO is an extensive compilation of literary commentary reaching back 30 years and cover centuries of critiques on authors and their works that span all time periods, types of literature and regions. The cross searchable collection brings together the most acclaimed literary series
Drama Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism providing criticism on the major authors, dramatists and poets. The database includes
Shakespearean Literature Criticism with a comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of his plays and poetry.
[
Details]
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale)Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works, that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
[
Details]
African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)The database provides students, scholars and librarians with online access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, AASC features the new
Encyclopedia of African American History: 1619-1895,
Black Women in America, the highly acclaimed
Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience, and the
African American National Biography project (estimated at 8 volumes). In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the
Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature and selected articles from other reference works.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of World Biography (Gale)Includes entries of approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.
[
Details]
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)Includes full-text profiles of persons, living and deceased, and prominent in many professions including literature, art, music, film, politics, education and history. The up-to-date bibliographies include links to book and articles about the person and in some citations there is a photograph of the person.
[
Details]
Irish Playwrights, 1880-1995: A Research and Production Sourcebook4th floor, Falvey Library
PR8789.I67 1997
[
Details]
Course Resources
Last Modified: Wednesday, March 27th, 2013