Catechism of the Catholic Church & Compendium onlinevia the official Vatican web site
[
Details]
Corpus Augustinianum Gissense (CAG 2)The CAG 2 database contains all known works by Saint Augustine in the best available critical editions. CAG 2 also includes a bibliographic database of more than 27,000 references to secondary literature on Augustine's life and works. Available at
http://citrixweb.villanova.edu. A CAG 2 user manual in pdf format is also on Citrixweb. (Collection of the Augustinian Institute, Falvey Memorial Library)
[
Details]
Digital Karl Barth LibraryOnline compilation of the works of theologian Karl Barth (1886-1968) including: The Church Dogmatics in English with the original Die kirchliche Dogmatik; the 43 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe; some additional works in German; and English translations of specific texts, with new content added quarterly.
[
Details]
Digital Library of the Catholic ReformationA searchable database of primarily sixteenth and seventeenth century Latin texts it is a collection of original language writings from the 14th to the 19th century by Catholic authors on a wide variety of topics relating to the Reformation of the Catholic Church in the early modern era, the Counter-Reformation and the Council of Trent specifically.
[
Details]
Early American Imprints, Series I Evans (1639-1800)Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides. It includes information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
[
Details]
Early American Imprints. Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. Based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items.
[
Details]
Early English Books Online (EEBO)Full-text page images of over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, and Thomason Tracts which cover titles printed in English between 1473-1700. For searchable text of selected titles see Early English Books Online -Text Creation Partnership
[
Details]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
[
Details]
Library of Latin Texts - Series AContains full-text of almost all the items in the Corpus Christianorum Series Latina and Continuatio Medievalis. It also contains text from the beginning of Latin literature through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). Included are the main works of Thomas Aquinas and certain Latin works of Descartes. (formerly CETEDOC).
[
Details]
Library of Latin Texts - Series BThe Library of Latin Texts - Series B (gathers Latin texts of all genres and all periods. The data will therefore be very diverse, and will include genres as varied as chronicles, medieval saints' lives and travel narratives, legal texts, and theological, philosophical and scientific treatises from the early-modern period. Above all, the emphasis will be on the online availability of large corpora of texts. (formerly CETEDOC).
[
Details]
Medieval Sources Online (Manchester Univ. Press)This database contains full-text translations of primary sources from AD 640-1600. There are over three thousand pages of medieval sources annotated and edited to the high standard expected of a university press with over a century of experience.
[
Details]
Past Masters (Intelex)Contains full-text of scholarly editions of many philosophers, theologians and literary writers: Anselm, Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine, Austen, Chesterton, Descartes, Dewey, Feuerbach, Fichte, Foucault, Francis of Assisi, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Kierkegaard, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Marx and Engels, Merleau-Ponty, Newman, Nietzsche, Ockham, Pascal, Pierce, Plato, Poinsot, Royce, Santayana, Schopenhauer, Shelley, Spinoza, Synge, Wittgenstein and Wollestonecraf, as well as collections for British Philosophy 1600-1900, The Continental Rationalists, The Latin Background: 1100-1550, and The Romantic Age.
[
Details]
Patrologia LatinaA complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina. Covers the history of Latin Christianity until AD 1216.
[
Details]
Patrologiae GraecaeA complete electronic version of Jean-Paul Migne’s Patrologiae Graecae. PG contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
[
Details]
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale)Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
[
Details]
Summa Theologica of St. Thomas Aquinas in Englishvia the New Advent Catholic library Web Site
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
Arts & Letters Dailya service of the Chronicle of Higher Education
[
Details]
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current two years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.
[
Details]
Internet Public Library NewspapersOnline newspapers from around the world.
[
Details]
Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
[
Details]
New York TimesNote: The library has subscribes to the full-text database
New York Times * [1851 - up to but not including the last 2 years] Also available from
Lexis-Nexis *
[
Details]
OpinionArchivesProvides an accessible and invaluable source of information of electronic archives to leading journals of opinion. Search the full text of over 740 years of archives including
Harpers Magazine, The New Republic, The Nation, Commentary, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, National Review and
The New York Review of Books. An invaluable resource, providing in-depth analysis of topics such as the cold war, the Arab-Israeli conflict, American foreign policy, defense, the Supreme Court, affirmative action, welfare, crime, immigration, religion, education, art, literature, militarism, human rights violations, environmental destruction, classical music, and much more.
[
Details]
Opposing Viewpoints Resources in Context (Gale)Access information on social issues through viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
[
Details]
Philadelphia InquirerContains the complete text of articles covered beginning with 1981. It DOES NOT include advertising, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather, weddings, engagements and puzzles.
[
Details]
ProQuest NewspapersIncludes coverage of 27 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.
[
Details]
A Dictionary of Creation Myths
Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Encyclopedia of BioethicsCovers a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment. This work helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and PhilosophyExamines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim WorldThis encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Philosophy 2nd ed.The Encyclopedia contains more than 2,100 entries including 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought throughout history.. Among the many topics covered are African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more.
[
Details]
Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development
Encyclopedia of World Poverty
Human Rights Encyclopedia
Modern Encyclopedia of Religions in Russia and Eurasiaedited by Paul D. Steeves, Professor of History, Stetson University
[
Details]
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Oxford Companion to Archaeology
Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
Oxford Companion to Cosmology
Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Oxford Companion to World Mythology
Oxford Dictionary of ByzantiumWith more than 5,000 entries by an international group of eminent historians, this is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history. Exhaustive in its coverage, entries on patriarchy and emperors coexist with entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread, bringing to life this vastly important culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th.
[
Details]
Oxford Dictionary of Islam
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Oxford Dictionary of Popes
Oxford Dictionary of Saints
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt600 original articles written by leading scholars cover the ancient Egyptian civilization, from the pre-dynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Topic covered include art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court.Published in 2001.Available online.[
Details]
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeOffers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world -- Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman -- from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
[
Details]
Oxford Encyclopedia of the ReformationA definitive source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.
[
Details]
Oxford dictionary of Buddhism
The Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyAn open-access encyclopedia started by the Stanford University Philosophy Department in 1997. The peer-reviewed entries are continually updated and contain bibliographies.
[
Details]
Academic OneFile (Gale)A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects,
Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the
New York Times back to 1995.
[
Details]
America: History and Life (Ebsco)A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
[
Details]
Art Full Text (EBSCO)Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
[
Details]
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (EBSCO)Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984 cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
[
Details]
ArticleFirst (OCLC)Indexes journal articles in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities and popular culture
[
Details]
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)Provides quick, powerful access to bibliographic and citation information you need to find research data, and analyze trends, journals, and researchers from over 1,395 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. The database provides user ability to track prior research and monitor current developments, see who is citing their work, measure the influence of colleagues' work, and follow the path of today's hottest ideas. Coverage begins 1991 to present.
[
Details]
ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (EBSCO)The ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (formerly the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index) is the product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Library Association. The database covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.
[
Details]
ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)ATLA Religion Database is the leading international database indexing citations in all scholarly fields of religion. ATLA Religion Database includes over 350,000 article citations from 1,400 journals, over 150,000 essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and over 350,000 book review citations
[
Details]
Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)Indexes book reviews published in U.S., Canadian and British periodicals, covering over 7,000 adult and children's books each year. Includes English-language fiction and nonfiction.
[
Details]
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (EBSCO)This database covers some 300,000 books, citing more than 1.5 million book reviews. Master records for each book include the title's essentials (author, descriptive summary, publisher, publication year, page count, ISBN, indicator of illustrations, and more) plus links to review excerpts and review citations. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, presenting the most evaluative passages of the review, and most have at least two. These excerpts, together with the descriptive summaries of the books, deliver a complete picture of how the book was received at the time it was published.
[
Details]
Book Review Index OnlineA comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
[
Details]
ChoiceReview OnlineReviews scholarly publications suitable for university library collections. The reviews are arranged by academic department and the “reviewers are primarily teaching faculty… selected for their subject expertise.” More than 22,000 print and electronic publications are examined each year, of which about 30% are reviewed.
[
Details]
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
[
Details]
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)An annotated reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes journal articles, book reviews and dissertations.
[
Details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)This is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
[
Details]
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.
[
Details]
Index of Christian Art (Princeton)The
Index of Christian Art is the largest archive of Medieval art. It traces the history and evolution of iconographic themes and concepts in early Christian and Medieval art in all media and in all geographic areas. The electronic version of the
Index of Christian Art contains approximately 20-25% of the contents of the print archive. Some records have links to images at the bottom of the record, only those listed as "public images" can be accessed.
[
Details]
JSTORA searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
[
Details]
L'Annee PhilologiqueComprehensive bibliography of journal articles, books and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings and essay collections) on Greek and Roman antiquity. Indexing lags 3 years behind the current date and goes back to 1924.
[
Details]
Media/Culture ReviewsFrom the University of Queensland, Brisbane, a online publication devoted to analysing and critiquing media and culture.
[
Details]
OmniFile Full Text Mega (EBSCO)Provides indexing, abstracting, and selected full text to the Wilson databases for Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, and the Social Sciences. Also includes selected full text to the Wilson databases for Art, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science.
[
Details]
OpinionArchivesProvides an accessible and invaluable source of information of electronic archives to leading journals of opinion. Search the full text of over 740 years of archives including
Harpers Magazine, The New Republic, The Nation, Commentary, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, National Review and
The New York Review of Books. An invaluable resource, providing in-depth analysis of topics such as the cold war, the Arab-Israeli conflict, American foreign policy, defense, the Supreme Court, affirmative action, welfare, crime, immigration, religion, education, art, literature, militarism, human rights violations, environmental destruction, classical music, and much more.
[
Details]
Opposing Viewpoints Resources in Context (Gale)Access information on social issues through viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
[
Details]
Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews in 37 languages. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 1,400 journals from more than 80 countries and is updated quarterly. Extensive indexing includes personal and proper names along with subject terms; there is also the capability to search for the authors of book reviews.
[
Details]
Philosophy Documentation Center Collection (POIESIS)Provides searchable full-text online access to over 60 scholarly philosophy journals. Additional journals are indexed in the database.
[
Details]
Project MuseSearchable collection of recent full-text humanities, social science and mathematics journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
[
Details]
ProQuest ReligionCovers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.
[
Details]
Rambi: The Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesA selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Coverage includes important articles published througout the world in the field of Judaica, mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, and offprints of articles from journals or collections in the library. Rambi also lists articles from secondary sources.
[
Details]
Religious and Theological AbstractsAn English language index of periodical literature produced with summaries of articles of various languages from scholarly journals in the fields of theology and religion covering Christianity, Judaism, and other world religions. Biblical, systematic, historical, and practical theology are some of the specific areas included.
[
Details]
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (ProQuest)An international database of music scholarship covering all areas of music including interdisciplinary studies of music, dance and music therapy. The database indexes articles, books, bibliographies, films and videos, and book, record and concert reviews.
[
Details]
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
[
Details]