The novels and selected works of Mary Shelley /

Main Author: Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft, 1797-1851.
Corporate Author: Past Masters (InteLex Corporation)
Other Authors: Crook, Nora., Clemit, Pamela.
Format: Online Book
Language: English
Published: London ; Brookfield, Vt. : W. Pickering, 1996.
Series: Pickering masters.
Online Access: Online version
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Review by Choice Review

These eight impeccably edited volumes complement three other sets--Collected Tales and Stories, ed. by Charles Robinson (1976); The Letters of Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, ed. by Betty Bennett (1980-88); and the Journals of Mary Shelley, ed. by Paula Feldman and Diana Scott-Kilvert (1987)--to provide a nearly complete scholarly edition of Shelley's writings. Here are the six novels (Frankenstein, Valperga, The Last Man, Perkin Warbeck, Lodore, and Falkner), some given serious editorial treatment for the first time, along with the short fiction, travel writing, plays, reviews, and prefaces; only a few miscellaneous pieces remain uncollected. The works are thoroughly annotated with textual variants and biographical and geographical glosses. The apparatus may in fact be too much for casual readers; a reading edition would not be interrupted by textual sigla and a dozen notes per page. But Crook's work will stand for decades as the definitive scholarly edition. The only regrettable fact about it is the price, which will put it out of the reach of many libraries. Essential for graduate students and researchers. J. T. Lynch University of Pennsylvania

Copyright American Library Association, used with permission.