FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Databases A-Z

Databases A-Z

Not sure which database to select? Find subject-specific databases on the Subject Guides page.

Looking for a specific journal? Try our Journal Finder.

RefWorks - Never type a bibliography again! RefWorks will help you easily gather, manage, and store bibliographic citations for all types of information, as well as generate footnotes and bibliographies.


A
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Provides access to scholarly journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, and country-and industry-focused reports.

Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection (ProQuest)
Contains scholarly journals and other essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.

ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)
Presents a complete archive of all ACM publications including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.

Ad$pender (Kantar Media)
Creates custom reports on advertising expenditures across twelve media channels including TV, cable, magazines, newspapers, radio, outdoor and internet display on the level of industries, categories, brands, products and advertisers going back to 2007.

Advertising Age Datacenter (AdAge)
Features news, reports and statistics about the advertising industry. For off campus access follow these instructions.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (Accessible Archives)
Provides access to the major 19th century African American newspapers including The Christian Recorder (1861-1902), Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The North Star (1847-1851), and Frederick Douglass' Paper (1851-1863).

African American Studies Center (Oxford University Press)
Contains a selection of African American studies resources ranging from the authoritative Encyclopedia of African American History to the African American National Biography project. Selected primary sources, maps, images, charts, and tables round out the collection.

AGRICOLA (National Agricultural Library/USDA)
Indexes materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library including books, journals, and government documents. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.

Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)
Provides citations with selected abstracts to articles published in alternative and often marginalized journals, newspapers, and magazines. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Covers 1991 to the present.

America: History and Life (EBSCO)
Indexes the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes citations for journal and magazine articles, book reviews and dissertations. Abstracts of journal articles are included together with selected full-text. Indexing goes back to 1964.
America: History & Life is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.

American Chemical Society Publications (ACS)
Provides records for all publications of the Society. Full-text access is available for all journal articles.

American Founding Era (Rotunda)
Offers digital access to the authoritative print editions of the papers of major figures of the early republic ranging from John Adams to Andrew Jackson. New content will be added as it becomes available.

American National Biography Online (Oxford University Press)
Presents authoritative biographies of influential people who lived in what is now the United States. Covers only deceased subjects. Includes portraits, if available, and bibliographies with citations to works by and about featured individuals.

American Periodicals (ProQuest)
Provides access to the full-text of American magazines and journals published from the colonial period to the early 20th century.

American State Papers: 1789-1838 (Readex)
Contains the full-text of legislative and executive documents of the first 25 U.S. Congresses. See the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 collection for later government documents.

America’s Historical Newspapers (Readex)
Includes full-text of selected early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922. Villanova University has access to series 1 through 5 and 7.

AncestryLibrary (ProQuest)
Provides access to a range of databases with biographical information. Includes census data, vital records, directories, voter lists, immigration records, images, and more.

Art & Architecture ePortal (Yale University Press)
Provides access to ebooks and images from various university and museum presses. Includes customized course packs in the fields of art and architecture.

Art Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes the contents of academic journals and magazines in the fields of fine and decorative arts, architecture, and photography. Includes citations for dissertations, book reviews, and art reproductions published in indexed journals. Abstracts are available back to 1984 with selective full-text availability back to 1995.
Art Full Text Step-by-Step is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.

Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (EBSCO)
Indexes the contents of academic journals and magazines in the fields of fine and decorative arts, architecture, and photography. Includes citations for dissertations, book reviews, and art reproductions published in indexed journals.

ArticleFirst (OCLC)
Indexes journal articles. Coverage goes back to 1990 and is interdisciplinary.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Clarivate)
Indexes core arts and humanities journals. Provides information on who has cited indexed articles. Covers 1991 to present.

Artstor
Provides access to high-quality digital images deposited by museums, libraries, and archives and a suite of specialized tools to view, present, and manage images. Supports a variety of disciplines beyond the original art and art history focus.

ArXiv.org (Cornell University Library)
Offers open access to research papers in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics. Covers 1991 to present.

Asian & European Business Collection (ProQuest)
Provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe. Includes academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines among other sources.

Associated Press Images Collection (EBSCO)
Provides access to the Associated Press' photography archive. Includes historical images dating back to the 1800s. Also includes audio, graphics and news.

ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (EBSCO)
Indexes journals and magazines, essay collections, church documents, and electronic resources related to the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism. Covers 1981 to the present.

ATLA Historical Monographs Collection - Series 1: 1200-1893 (EBSCO)
Features digital copies of the American Theological Library Association's historical monograph collection. Covers topics such as church life, doctrinal disputes, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements and reflects religious thought and practice in the western world up to the 19th century.

ATLA Historical Monographs Collection - Series 2: 1894-1923 (EBSCO)
Features digital copies of the American Theological Library Association's historical monograph collection. Covers topics such as church life, doctrinal disputes, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements and reflects religious thought and practice in the western world from the late 19th to the early 20th century.

ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journals, magazines, books, and book reviews in all fields of religious and theological studies. Coverage goes back to the early 19th century.

Audit Analytics
Provides access to data and information about public company audits, compliance and governance.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest)
Indexes academic journals, book and exhibition reviews, interviews and obituaries in the fields of architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and archaeology. Includes abstracts of journal articles. Published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University. Covers 1934 to present.

B
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

Banking Information Source (ProQuest)
Search essential banking industry publications providing information about the financial services industry, banking, and industry trends.

BioOne Complete
Provides access to academic journals in the fields of biology, ecology, and environmental sciences. Coverage goes back to 2000.

BioRxiv (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory)
Offers free access to unpublished preprints in the life sciences. Pronounced "bio-archive." Articles are not peer-reviewed and edited before being posted online. An article may be posted prior to, or concurrently with, submission to a journal but should not be posted if it has already been published.

BIOSIS Citation Index (Clarivate)
Indexes academic journals in the life sciences and biomedical fields. Covers pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Formerly known as Biological Abstracts.Coverage goes back to 1924.

Birds of North America (CornellLab of Ornithology)
Features life histories of North American birds. Includes image and video and audio files. Contents are updated frequently, with contributions from researchers, citizen scientists, designated reviewers and editors.

Bizminer
Offers Sole Proprietor and Start-Up and Industry Financial Reports with average income statements, cash flows, balance sheet and financial ratios for benchmarking and projections for smaller private enterprises. Includes industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. It is searchable by keyword, SIC code or industry cluster.

Black Abolitionist Papers (ProQuest)
Features newspapers articles, manuscripts, letters, pamphlets, proceedings, and books written by African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.

Black Authors, 1556-1922 (Readex)
Provides online access to the print archives of the Library Company of Philadelphia. Features works by authors of African or African-American descent.

Black Drama, 2nd Edition (Alexander Street Press)
Contains the full text of works by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries together with detailed information about productions, theaters, production companies, and other ephemera related to the plays. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Includes a large number of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Derek Walcott, Alice Childress, Amiri Baraka, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. Coverage goes back to the middle of the 19th century.

Black Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Offers access to the the major African American newspapers of the 20th century: the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), the Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991), the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), the Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003), the Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), and the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).

BoardEx
Contains biographical information on board members and senior executives around the world from 1999-2015. Current Villanova faculty, students and staff contact linda.hauck@villanova.edu for access.

Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)
Indexes reviews of fiction and nonfiction English-language books. Reviews are selected from academic journals and library review journals. Includes selected full-text. Covers reviews back to the early 1980s.

Book Review Digest Retrospective, 1903-1982 (EBSCO)
Indexes reviews of fiction and nonfiction English-language books. Reviews are selected from academic journals, magazines, and library review journals. Covers reviews published between 1903 and 1982.

Book Review Index Plus (Gale)
Indexes reviews of fiction and nonfiction English-language books. Reviews are selected from academic journals, magazines, and library review journals. Includes selected full-text. Covers reviews back to the early 1965.

Books 24x7
Features e-book collections in the fields of information technology and engineering.

British Periodicals (ProQuest)
Provides access to British periodicals ranging from the 17th through the early 20th centuries with the majority of content from the 19th century. Covers a broad range of topics.

BrowZine
Offers a visual browsing interface for the Library's journal subscriptions.

Burney Collection Newspapers, 17th-18th Century (Gale)
Features the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), representing the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.

Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes business magazines and scholarly journals. Includes abstracts and selected full-text. Coverage goes back to 1995.

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Provides access to a wide range of academic business journals and trade magazines. Topics include management, marketing, accounting, finance, economics, international business, operations management and management information systems. Full-text access may be embargoed for up to three years. Coverage goes back to 1965.

C
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

Cabell’s Scholarly Analytics
Helps researchers to identify journals for manuscript submission. Provides journal overviews, metrics, and manuscript guidelines. Includes acceptance rates, journal impact factors and altmetrics where available. Also features a blacklist that identifies predatory journals. Formerly known as Cabell’s Directories of Publishing Opportunities. Villanova researchers have access to journal information in the fields of health, education, business, psychology, and psychiatry.

Cairn.info
Indexes French-language academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. Villanova researchers have full-text access to current content of humanities journals. Offers open access to its archive. Supported by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France and the Centre National du Livre.

Cambridge Companions Online (Cambridge University Press)
Provides access to the complete collection of Cambridge Companions, a series of authoritative guides to subject or theme based essay collections, written by leading experts. Areas covered include literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music.

Cambridge Histories Online (Cambridge University Press)
Provides online access to most Cambridge history volumes published to date. Written by experts, subject matter ranges widely across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (ProQuest)
Indexes selected Canadian academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other media. Covers current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles, all with a Canadian focus. Includes some full-text.

Career and Technical Education Database (ProQuest)
Indexes vocational and technical journals, magazines, and other media. Includes abstract and selected full-text. Coverage goes back to the early 1950s.

Catholic News Archive (Catholic Research Resources Alliance)
Provides open access to selected U.S. Catholic newspapers from the early 19th century to the late 20th century.

China Data Online (China Marketing Research Co.)
Provides national, provincial, city and regional data series including national accounts, prices, employment, income, industry, foreign trade, agriculture, construction, transportation, telecommunication, and education in monthly and annual time series.

Chronicle of Higher Education
Provides online access to current issues and archives back to 1989. Includes daily news, advice columns, current job listings, and discussion forums. The Chronicle is the leading weekly newspaper in higher education.

Chronicle of Philanthropy
Provides news and information for executives of tax-exempt organizations as well as fund raisers, professional employees of foundations, institutional investors, corporate grant makers, and charity donors. Along with news, it offers such service features as lists of grants, fundraising ideas and techniques, statistics, and reports on tax and court rulings. Coverage goes back to 2015.

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journals, standards of practice, trade magazines, continuing education units, dissertations, and more in the fields of nursing and allied health. Includes abstracts and selected full-text. Coverage goes back to 1981. Click for downloadable search guide. Watch a 5-min. video demo.

Civil Engineering Database (American Society of Civil Engineers)
Indexes all publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers including journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Includes abstracts. Covers 1970 to present.

Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (Accessible Archives)
Provides access to Northern and Southern newspapers published during the American Civil War. Includes news coverage, eye-witness accounts, official reports of battles, editorials, advertisements, biographies, battlefield maps, and illustrations.

Cochrane Library
Offers systematic reviews of healthcare interventions in support of evidence based practice. Includes systematic reviews and methodology reviews, abstracts of reviews of effects, a central register of controlled trials, a methodology register, health technology assessments, and NHS economic evaluations.

Columbia International Affairs Online - CIAO (Columbia University Press)
Aggregates research in international affairs. Includes journal articles, country data and maps, working papers, conference proceedings, and policy briefs together with a small selection of books and streaming video content.

ComAbstracts (CIOS)
Indexes academic journals and books in the fields of communication and journalism. Includes abstracts. Coverage extends back to the early 20th century. Complements ComIndex.

ComIndex (CIOS)
Indexes academic journals in the fields of communication and journalism. Coverage extends back to the early 20th century. Complements ComAbstracts.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journals, magazines, books and book reviews in the fields of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields. Includes abstracts and full-text for selected journals. Coverage goes back to the early 20th century.

Communication Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journals, magazines, books and book reviews in the fields of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields. Includes abstracts for journals, magazines, and books as well as full-text for selected journals and magazines. Coverage goes back to the early 20th century.

Community Health Data Base (Pennsylvania Household Health Survey)
Provides access to local health-related data at the census tract, ZIP code, county and regional level. Includes information about health status, personal health behaviors and access to and utilization of area health services. Data collected through the Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey which surveys Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia counties every other year.
Only available to the Villanova community; For ID and password information access this document.
Complete data sets of the Survey for the following years are available for download in SPSS format. Villanova ID and password required: HHS2008; HHS2010; HHS2012; HHS2015

Compendex (Engineering Village / Elsevier)
Indexes academic journals, conference proceedings, and dissertations in the fields of engineering and applied sciences. Includes abstracts. Coverage dates back to 1969.

Compendium of Renaissance Drama
Indexes every play performed on the English stage between 1486 and 1642. Includes information about playhouses, companies, and playwrights. Also indexes actors, characters, and place names. Offers interactive maps.

Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio
Includes economic indicator data sets and global macroeconomic time series for economists as well as reports, interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for management and HRD professionals. Coverage varies.

Congressional Publications (ProQuest)
Provides comprehensive indexing of United States legislative information: hearings transcripts and submitted testimony, committee reports, bills, public laws, congressional member public interest group ratings, selected committee prints, congressional documents, the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the U.S. Code. Includes abstracts. Some of the indexes go back to the late 18th century.

Corpus Augustinianum Gissense (CAG-online, version 3.0)
Provides digital access to all known works of Augustine of Hippo (354-430) in the original Latin. Includes a bibliographic database of references to secondary literature on Augustine's life and works.

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Offers streaming video collections for the study of counseling, psychology, psychotherapy and social work. Includes counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, interviews and teaching and discussion guides.

CQ Press Library (CQ Press)
Provides combined search interface and access to various CQ Press collections including the CQ Almanac (1945-), the Political Handbook of the World (2005-), the Supreme Court Yearbook (1989-), and more. Includes links to CQ Press collections on the Sage Knowledge platform: Congress and the Nation (1945-2004), Historic Documents Series (1972-), Vital Statistics on American Politics, Washington Information Directory, and more.

CQ Researcher (CQ Press)
Features in-depth reports of political and social issues, including health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Reports include overview, background, current situation, pro/con views, chronology, and a bibliography. The issue tracker links to related reports. Coverage goes back to 1923.

CQ Voting & Elections Collection (CQ Press)
Offers data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical research on the American voter, political parties, campaigns, and elections. Includes candidate and office histories, seat status and competition, special elections, maps, bibliographies, chronology, and web links. Coverage goes back to 1789.

Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journals, magazines, and books in criminology and related fields. Includes abstracts and selected full-text. Coverage goes back to the middle of the 18th century.

Current Index to Statistics
Indexes the contents of academic journals and books in statistics and related fields. Covers 1975 to present.

D
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

D&B Global Business Browser
Offers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles and analyst reports. Formerly known as Onesource/Avention.

Data Citation Index (Clarivate)
Indexes data sets from a wide range of international data repositories and connects them with the scholarly literature to track data citations. Covers all disciplines from 1900 to present.

Data-Planet (Sage)
Provides access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators including data sets from the U.S. government, the International Monetary Fund, the World Trade Organization, the OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations, the world’s stock exchanges, and Zillow. Offers customized graphing and mapping.

Dialnet (Universidad de La Rioja)
Indexes journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, dissertations and other documents in the social sciences and the humanities published mostly in Spain and to a lesser extent in Latin America. Much of the content in available in full-text.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale)
Provides full-text access to biographical and critical essays on important literary figures from all eras, genres, and geographic areas. Many essays include manuscript pages, portraits, excerpts of criticism, bibliographies, and more. Electronic access extends back to 1978.

Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation (Alexander Street Press)
Offers full-text access to a collection of primarily 16th- and 17th-century Latin texts including Catholic papal and synodal decrees, catechisms and inquisitorial manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises and systems, liturgical writings, saints' lives and devotional works.

Digital Theatre Plus
Provides online access to a streaming video collection of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources featuring detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, relationship maps, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.

Digital Transgender Archive (College of the Holy Cross)
Features direct access and links to primary source materials from over thirty institutions including the GLBT Historical Society, the NYC Trans Oral History Project, and numerous University Archives.

Dissertations and Theses @ Villanova University (ProQuest)
Provides citations, abstracts, and full-text, when available, of Villanova University dissertations and theses submitted to and published by ProQuest. Coverage goes back to 1969.

Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
Provides citations, abstracts, and full-text, when available, of dissertations and theses from 1743 to the present.

E
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 (Readex)
Features most of the books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America between 1639 and 1800. Titles were selected based on Charles Evans’ American Bibliography.

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 (Readex)
Features most of the books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1801 through 1819. Contains many state papers and government reports. Titles were selected based on Ralph Shaw’s and Richard H. Shoemaker’s American Bibliography.

Early English Books Online (Chadwyck-Healy)
Provides access to digital page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Includes books, pamphlets, manuscripts and newspapers. For searchable text of selected titles see Early English Books Online -Text Creation Partnership.

Early English Books Online - Text Creation Partnership
Provides access to fully searchable texts of a subset of Early English Books Online.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection
Features a collection of current electronic books covering a wide range of subjects.

EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, working papers and dissertations in the field of economics based on the Journal of Economic Literature's subject classification. Provides access to the full-text of selected journals including all American Economic Association journals. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory, labor economics, international, regional and urban economics. Coverage goes back to 1886.

Economist Intelligence Unit
Features commerce reports, country reports and market indicators and forecasts with monthly and annual in-depth analysis, data and ratings. Covers infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns of over 200 countries.

Education Administration Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts journals in the fields of educational administration. Topics include educational leadership, educational management, and educational research. Coverage goes back to 1966.

Education Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, monographs, and yearbooks in the fields of education. Provides full-text access to selected education journals from 1994 to the present. Indexing goes back to 1983.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)
Offers full-text access to every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.

Eighteenth Century Journals (Adam Matthew Digital)
Features journals and newspapers published between 1685 and 1815 in England, Scotland, Ireland, Jamaica, and British India. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
This database and the information in it is protected by copyright. (1) Authorised Users must comply with all applicable laws in using the Licensed Materials; (2) the Licensed Materials being supplied are only for the Authorised User's personal use; (3) reproduction or distribution of Licensed Materials that violates applicable law is prohibited (4) all Intellectual Property and other rights in the Licensed Materials is retained by the licensor.

Electronic Enlightenment (Oxford University Press)
Provides access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.

eMarketer
Offers data and reports related to digital marketing. Topics include advertising spending, digital marketing, social media, media usage, e-commerce, e-mail marketing, and device usage. Coverage is global.

Emerald Insight
Includes academic journals in the fields of management, economics, information services, engineering, applied science, and technology. Villanova University access is limited to a subset of the collection. Coverage extends back to 2004.

EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research and analytics for developing markets.

ERIC (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts education journals, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, books, and Department of Education research reports. Many ED research reports have full-text links. Coverage goes back to 1966. The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

ERIC (ProQuest)
Indexes and abstracts education journals, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, books, and Department of Education research reports. Many ED research reports have full-text links. Coverage goes back to 1966. The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

ESRI Business Analyst Online
Provides geographic analysis tools. Includes demographic, consumer spending, and business data.
For username & password contact linda.hauck@villanova.edu. Look for an email from ArcGIS Notification to confirm the invitation (check your junk folder). Account administration may take up to 3 days.
Access courtesy of the Department of Geography & the Environment.

Essay & General Literature Index (EBSCO)
Indexes essay collections with emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Offers access to full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. While most of the content is in English, significant Spanish and other language content is included. Coverage for most newspapers and magazines goes back to the early 1990s, but earlier content is also available.

F
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Indexes and selectively abstracts journal articles, book reviews, and book chapters about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journal, popular magazines, and books in the fields of film and television. Includes abstracts for scholarly journal articles. Topics range from film & television theory, to preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, and technical aspects. Coverage goes back to the early 20th century and encompasses foreign language publications.

Financial Times
A UK-based daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news. The web edition provides access to the same reporting found in the print edition plus additional content such as multimedia features, company tear sheets, interactive charting, a dictionary of financial terms, and recruitment tools. Digital access to the print edition is available via ABI/Inform and Nexis Uni.
Register with your Villanova email address. For mobile access via iPad or iPhone visit app.ft.com. For mobile access via Android devices visit m.ft.com.
Subscription courtesy of Villanova School of Business.

First Research Industry Profiles (ABI/Inform Collection - ProQuest)
Provides industry profiles with critical analysis, statistics, and forecasts. Coverage extends back to 2009.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1974- 1996 (Readex)
Features full-text translations of foreign radio and television broadcasts as well as selected foreign news, periodical articles and government statements selected by the C.I.A. for distribution to U.S. policymakers and security analysts.

Foundation Directory Online Professional (Foundation Center)
Offers information on foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant making charities. Grantmaker profiles include private and independent foundations, corporate foundations, U.S. federal funders, public charities, and international foundations.

G
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

Gale Directory Library
Presents a collection of directories including Business Rankings Annual, Market Share Reporter, Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S., and Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media.

Gale NewsVault
Provides a cross-searching platform for Gale’s historical news sources available to the Villanova University community: Times Digital Archive 1785-1985; 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century UK Periodicals.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Offers access to a collection of digital encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories in the arts, social sciences, business, and sciences.
A self-paced interactive tutorial is available for those new to this resource.

Gartner
Features analyses, forecasts, and market statistics on IT products and services.
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff. Subscription courtesy of Villanova UNIT.

Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journals and popular magazines, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and newspapers in the fields of gender studies. Includes abstracts for most citations. Coverage goes back to the early seventies.

GenderWatch (ProQuest)
Indexes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports in the fields of gender studies. Provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and changes in gender roles. Includes perspectives typically not represented in the mainstream media. Includes abstracts and full-text for most citations. Coverage extends back to 1970.

GeoRef (EBSCO)
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, books, and maps in the geosciences. Includes selected abstracts. Coverage is international and extends back to the 17th century.

Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (ProQuest)
Features digital copies of books, pamphlets and periodicals related to women’s history in general and the movement for women’s rights in particular. Coverage is international and extends from the middle of the 15th century to the middle of the 20th century.

Global Financial Data
Features historical data on worldwide stock exchanges, bond indices, intraday data, futures, interest rates, population, and much more. All data is clearly defined, easy to read, and readily downloadable into Excel.
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.

Global New Products Database (Mintel)
Monitors new product activity in consumer packaged goods markets worldwide.
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.

Godey’s Lady’s Book (Accessible Archives)
Presents full-text access to the complete run of the magazine from 1830 to 1898. Also published as Godey’s Magazine and Lady’s Book. Includes all color plates as they originally appeared in the magazine.

GuideStar Pro
Provides detailed information about nonprofit organizations including IRS Form 990 with financial statements. Also offers self-reported information about programs and activities.
Partially funded by Villanova School of Business.

H
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

Hathi Trust Digital Library
Provides full-text access to digital copies of books, pamphlets, and journals available in the public domain. Most of the freely available texts are pre-1923 imprints and government documents. Full-text access to all other publications is limited to identified member institutions. The collection largely mirrors the contents of Google Books, which makes pdf files of works from the public domain freely available.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCO)
Indexes measurement instruments including information about questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques and tests in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Coverage extends back to 1985.

HeinOnline
Provides full-text access to legal periodicals, books, government documents, legal texts and other primary source collections in the legal field.
Subscription courtesy of Charles Widger School of Law.

Historic Documents (SAGE)
Offers full-text access to a compilation of excerpts from key historic documents. Documents selected range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Short introductions provide historical and intellectual context. Includes references to the full documents. Coverage extends back to 1972.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journals, magazines, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present, excluding North American history which is covered in the companion index: America: History and Life. Includes abstracts for academic journal articles and selective full-text content. Coverage extends back to 1953.
A Short Introduction to Historical Abstracts is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Offers full-text access to a selection of newspapers available on the ProQuest platform: the New York Times (1851-), the Washington Post (1877-), the Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette‎ (1786-2003), and the major African American newspapers of the 20th century, including the Chicago Defender.

HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies)
Indexes books, articles, and a variety of other materials related to Latin American studies. Includes short annotations. Coverage goes back to 1935.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journals, magazines, and book reviews in the humanities and social sciences published between 1907 and 1984.

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts academic journals, magazines, and book reviews in the humanities. Includes abstracts and selected full-text. Coverage extends back to 1984.

I
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

IBISWorld
Provides access to U.S. and global industry market research reports.

ICPSR (Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan)
Provides access to archived social science data. Includes information about the Consortium's (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) resources and services including data management and curation services for member institutions and data-driven learning guides designed for the classroom.
A free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created on-campus.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
Indexes and abstracts academic journals, magazines, conference proceedings and transactions, technical standards, books, and online courses in electrical engineering and computer science. Includes full-text for much of the indexed content.

iGLibrary Plus (Business Expert Press)
Features ebooks and insights articles in the field of business. Topics include management, economics, marketing, finance, accounting, and human resources.

Index of Medieval Art (Princeton University)
Indexes, describes, and selectively presents medieval art objects with a focus on Christian iconography. Also includes Jewish, Islamic, and non-ecclesiastical subjects. Records include descriptive information, provenance, location and ownership information, bibliographical references, and, when available, a photographic reproduction of the work of art. Formerly known as Index of Christian Art.

Index Religiosus (Brepols)
Indexes academic journals, books, and book reviews in the fields of theology, religious sciences, and Church history. Covers publications written in the major European languages.

International Medieval Bibliography (Brepols)
Indexes and abstracts articles, book reviews, and book chapters. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

International Philosophical Bibliography (Peeters)
Indexes academic journals, books, and book reviews in philosophy. Covers publications in the major European languages as well as classical Greek and Latin. Coverage extends back to the early 20th century. Use the International Philosophical Bibliography Retrospective file for pre-1997 publications.

Internet Archive
Provides digital access to books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Most of the freely available files are books published prior to 1923 and government documents.

ISA (International Strategic Analysis)
Features country reports that cover politics, economics, demographics & the environment. Includes research briefs on timely and important economic issues.

Iter Bibliography (University of Toronto)
Indexes academic journals, book, book chapters, book reviews and dissertations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Covers the years 400 to 1700. Includes publications in the major European languages from the middle of the 19th century to the present.

Iter Italicum (University of Toronto)
Indexes Renaissance manuscripts found in libraries and collections worldwide. Originally published in print in by Paul Oskar Kristeller between 1963 and 1992.

J
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

Johns Hopkins Guide To Literary Theory & Criticism (Johns Hopkins University Press)
Provides access to the full-text of essays on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Each entry includes selected primary and secondary sources.

Journal Citation Reports (Clarivate Analytics)
Presents academic journal analytics that evaluate, rank, and compare journals using citation data drawn from core journals in the sciences, technology, and social sciences. Facilitates the identification of highly ranked journals for publication.

JSTOR
Provides a full-text archive of academic journals and books in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics. The most recent three to five years of a journal are usually not included.

L
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

L'Année philologique: Bibliography of the Classical World (Brepols)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and theses relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations from 200 B.C. to roughly 800 A.D. Includes publications in many languages with abstracts in the major European languages. Coverage extends back to the early 20th century.

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (EBSCO)
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, and more. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980.

Library of Latin Texts - Series A (Brepols)
Contains full-text of almost all the items in the Corpus Christianorum Series Latina and Continuatio Medievalis. It also contains text from the beginning of Latin literature through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). Included are the main works of Thomas Aquinas and certain Latin works of Descartes. (Database was formerly CETEDOC.)

Library of Latin Texts - Series B (Brepols)
The Library of Latin Texts - Series B gathers Latin texts of all genres and all periods. The data will therefore be very diverse, and will include genres as varied as chronicles, medieval saints' lives and travel narratives, legal texts, and theological, philosophical and scientific treatises from the early-modern period. Above all, the emphasis will be on the online availability of large corpora of texts. (Database was formerly CETEDOC.)

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
Provides compilations of literary criticism. Includes the complete runs of Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.

Literature Online (Chadwyck-Healey)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 382 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Cross-searching capability between Literature Resource Center (LRC) and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Loeb Classical Library
A digital version of all 520+ volumes in Harvard University Press' series of Greek and Latin texts. English translations appear on facing pages, following the format of the print editions, and the full collection is searchable in English or in the original language. Also available in print.

M
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

MagillOnLiterature Plus (EBSCO)
MagillOnLiterature Plus is comprised of approximately 35,000 records, more than 5,000 images, and has a glossary of 1,100 literary terms. Provides access to editorially reviewed critical analyses, brief plot summaries, and extended character profiles covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. MagillOnLiterature Plus also contains over 15,000 biographical essays on more than 2,500 different authors, including up-to-date lists of each author's principal works

Making of the Modern World
The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850 provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.

MarketLine Company Profiles
Cover both U.S. and foreign companies in a wide range of industries. Typically reports are 15-20 pages and provide a description of the business, company history, key personnel, products and services and competitors. Marketline industry reports are available from D&B Global Business Browser.

MarketResearch
Provides marketing reports for many industries and demographic reports on a variety of age groups. Documents are formatted as Adobe Acrobat or PowerPoint files.  Licensed for academic uses only.  May not be used for commercial uses.

MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society)
The best database of mathematical literature. Start here unless your topic is about mathematics education.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO)
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) covers more than 2,200 commercially-available tests from Volume 1 to the present in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, educational, speech & hearing, and sensory motor. Tests in Print (TIP) provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).

Mergent Online
Provides 15 years of detailed financial statements for international and U.S. companies. Enables customized viewing and output to retrieve company reports and financials into software applications such as Word, Excel or Adobe, and enables accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables. Also provides access industry and country profiles.  LIMITED TO 4 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.

Mergent WebReports
Features the full text of all of Mergent / Moody's Corporate Manuals from 1909 to the present. Once you enter the database select the option for "Corporate Manuals" and begin your search. Access to current reports for 24 broadly defined industries. Portal for quick access to annual reports.

Middle English Dictionary
The print MED's 15,000 pages offer a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500, based on the analysis of a collection of over three million citation slips, the largest collection of this kind available. This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED, but goes far beyond this, by converting its contents into an enormous database, searchable in ways impossible within any print dictionary.

Middle English Dictionary (Alternative Search)
This is an alternative search engine for the University of Michigan's electronic Middle English Dictionary. Unlike the Dictionary's native search engine, this engine supports fuzzy queries (e.g., a search for abayen returns abāten, abaien, abeien, etc.).

Mintel Reports
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.  Mintel's published market research has been helping leading businesses achieve their goals for over 30 years. As a globally recognised market analyst, Mintel produces hundreds of reports into European, UK-specific and US consumer markets every year. Each report that Mintel publishes provides a unique overview of a market's dynamics and prospects, giving you the knowledge to devise informed and profitable marketing strategy.  DO NOT USE IE6

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to articles from over 4,400 journals and series published internationally, as well as monographs, collections, and various types of reference works. Subscription to the MLA International Bibliography also includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Best known for performance and financial data on mutual funds, Morningstar Investment Research Center is also a great source for company data and analyst reports.

N
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Contains summaries of more than 215,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research. Topic coverage includes corrections, courts, crime, crime prevention, drugs, justice system, juvenile justice, law enforcement, victims, and more.

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's, Capital IQ)
Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industry trends, corporate activities, and investments. For non-business students, the service includes a Financial Education section with tools for understanding personal finance.

New Testament Abstracts (EBSCO)
A research and bibliographic aid of the New Testament and its historical milieu. It contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.

New York Times: 1851- (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides full-text access to the complete New York Times archive except for the most current three years. Use Nexis-Uni or ABI/Inform for access to current content.

Nexis Uni
Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. Provides full-text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies.
LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Gale)
Access the enormous range of nineteenth-century periodical literature (1800-1900). Of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions, in short, of all aspects of nineteenth-century life that the press encompassed.

North American Theatre Online (Alexander Street Press)
Includes more than 40,000 pages of important reference sources in electronic format, indexed and searchable along with all the other content. O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources. Also, in-depth records cover tens of thousands of plays, including many previously unpublished works by major authors—not only major and known plays, but also partial works, works that have never been performed, and works that were believed lost, providing researchers with unique and never-before-seen information. Related resources include thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera.

O
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

OECD iLibrary
Full text access to all of the books, periodicals, statistics and working papers produced by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development since 1998. Statistics are available via pdf files or via interactive databases with downloadable Excel or comma delimited text. Metadata is easily accessible. Books, periodicals and working papers may be searched by title or subject fields or in full text. Browsing by publication type or thematic subject is also available. SourceOECD comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing all our monographs and reports; 24 periodicals; a reference title; and the OECD statistical databases.

Old Testament Abstracts (EBSCO)
Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs,multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.

OmniFile Full Text Mega (EBSCO)
Provides indexing, abstracting, and selected full text to the Wilson databases for Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, and the Social Sciences. Also includes selected full text to the Wilson databases for Art, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science.

OpinionArchives
Features electronic archives for selected journals of opinion, including Harpers Magazine, The New Republic, The Nation, Commentary, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, National Review and The New York Review of Books.

Opposing Viewpoints Resources in Context (Gale)
Access information on social issues through viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Orlando: Women's Writing in The British Isles
provides entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies.

Oxford Bibliographies (Oxford University Press)
Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in selected disciplines. Villanova University has access to the following bibliographies: Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Communication, Criminology, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Management, Medieval Studies, Political Science, and Psychology.
Tutorial available at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qSFUHnQ1UE.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford University Press)
Presents authoritative biographies of influential people who lived in Britain. Covers only deceased subjects. Includes portraits, if available, and bibliographies with citations to works by and about featured individuals.

Oxford English Dictionary
The world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150. Based on the 1989 2nd edition, a 20-volume set, with additions from 1993-1997 and the 3rd edition (in progress) from 2000-. Approximately 1,000 new and revised entries will be released quarterly online.

Oxford Handbooks Online (Oxford University Press)
Provides digital access in selected disciplines. Each handbook introduces and surveys the state of scholarship in a field of study through review articles written by leading subject specialists. Articles review key issues and debates and set the agenda for new research. Villanova University does not have access to the complete collection. Try access through the Library’s print collection and/or interlibrary loan services.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Offers unrivaled online access to the history and culture of Islam and provides full-text access to great Oxford reference and scholarly works, including The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, two classic interpretations of the Qur'an, a Concordance of the Qur'an, and What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam.

OxResearch
"A first draft of history, OxResearch® delivers succinct articles analyzing economic and political developments worldwide, and evaluates issues within a coherent political, social, and economic framework....Created by Oxford Analytica, this powerful multi-disciplinary database helps students research and analyze the impact of probable developments on the business climate."

P
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

PAIS International (ProQuest)
The Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) database contains references for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. 

PapersFirst (OCLC)
Almost seven (7) million papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium and meeting received at The British Library.

Passport (Euromonitor International)
Provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts for selected countries. Includes 6-year historic market size data for selected consumer products plus 5-year forecasts.
Authorized access (on- and off-campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.

Past Masters (InteLex)
Contains full-text of scholarly editions of many philosophers, theologians and literary writers: Anselm, Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine, Austen, Chesterton, Descartes, Dewey, Feuerbach, Fichte, Foucault, Francis of Assisi, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Kierkegaard, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Marx and Engels, Merleau-Ponty, Newman, Nietzsche, Ockham, Pascal, Pierce, Plato, Poinsot, Royce, Santayana, Schopenhauer, Shelley, Spinoza, Synge, Wittgenstein and Wollestonecraft, as well as collections for British Philosophy 1600-1900, The Continental Rationalists, The Latin Background: 1100-1550, and The Romantic Age.

Patrologia Graeca (Religion and Technology Center, Inc.)
A complete electronic version of Jean-Paul Migne’s Patrologiae Graecae. PG contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.

Patrologia Latina (ProQuest)
A complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina. Covers the history of Latin Christianity until AD 1216.

PBS Video Collection
The PBS Video Collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
**May work best in Google Chrome or Internet Explorer browsers.**

Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County (Accessible Archives)
Offers access to a small collection of 19th century Delaware County newspapers.

Pharmaceutical News Index (ProQuest)
Search the definitive database of pharmacological news, research, and regulatory information. Covers the most important specialized publications in the pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industries.

Philadelphia Business Journal (American City Business Journals)
Searchable full text access to Philadelphia Business Journal and their Book of Lists with a 10 year archive of content.  With 39 additional cities covered in the Business Journals, this is a great source for intelligence about local business conditions and trends.

Philadelphia Inquirer, 1860-2009 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides full-text access to the complete Philadelphia Inquirer archive up to 2009: the Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-1934), the Philadelphia Inquirer Public Ledger (1934-1969), and the Philadelphia Inquirer (1969-2009). Use Philadelphia Inquirer (NewsBank) for access to current content.

Philadelphia Inquirer, 1981- (NewsBank)
Provides full-text access to articles published since 1981. Does not include ads, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather forecasts, and puzzles.

Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews in 39 languages. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 1,400 journals from more than 80 countries and is updated quarterly. Extensive indexing includes personal and proper names along with subject terms; there is also the capability to search for the authors of book reviews.

Philosophy Documentation Center Collection (POIESIS)
Provides searchable full-text online access to over 60 scholarly philosophy journals. Additional journals are indexed in the database.

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

Play Index (EBSCO)
Play Index searches over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title, author, subject, style, genre, or cast type.

Polling the Nations
The database includes 18,000 surveys and 600,000 questions on more than 7,000 topics. Scope is international, from the United States to more than 100 other countries.

Population Index [1986-2000]
A searchable and browsable annotated bibliography database of books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics.

ProceedingsFirst (OCLC)
Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exhibition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.

Project Muse
Searchable collection of recent full-text humanities, social science and mathematics journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

ProQuest Asian Business & Reference
Find the latest business and financial news from the Eastern Hemisphere. Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and many more.

ProQuest Central
Vast aggregated full-text database

ProQuest Ebook Central
E-books covering a wide range of subjects.

ProQuest European Business
Find the latest European business and financial information. Includes quality resources such as The Economist, Fortune, European Business Journal, and many more.

ProQuest Newsstream
Includes access to the full text of over 1,300 newspapers, news websites and blogs including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.

ProQuest Psychology Journals
Provides full text for hundreds of psychology related journals.

PRS International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) Tables
Reseacher Dataset Table 3B.  PRS ratings for 146 countries in a time series from 1985-2015 covering government stability, socioeconomic conditions, investment profile, internal conflict, external conflict, corruption, military in politics, religious tension, ethnic tension, democratic accountability, and bureaucracy quality.

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

PsychiatryOnline
Includes the full text of all editions of the DSM-V, full text articles of some psychiatric journals as well as a few psychiatric textbooks, self-assessment tools, medication information handouts, and more. American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines in both comprehensive and quick-reference formats are searchable also.

PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, dissertations and some books in the fields of personality psychology, social psychology, educational psychology and more.
Practice advanced search features with the interactive PsycINFO Tutorial.

PsycTHERAPY
PsycTHERAPY is a database of streaming psychotherapy demonstrations featuring some of the most renowned therapists in North America working with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. PsycTHERAPY’s powerful search and personal playlist capabilities make it a rich resource for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice and for education about psychology.

PubMed
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers. Click for downloadable instructions.

R
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

RAMBI (The National Library of Israel)
Indexes journal and magazine articles related to the various fields of Jewish studies. Covers articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and the major European languages.

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (EBSCO)
Includes indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles from over 250 journals as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes antiques, arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film & television, gardening, health & medicine, history, home improvement, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, travel and much more.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Subject coverage includes arts, business, computers, crafts, dance, drama, education, entertainment, fashion, film & television, food, gardening, health and medicine, home improvement, literature, news and current events, photography, popular and classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, sports and fitness, technology, transportation, travel and more.

Reaxys
Reaxys is a database of chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to the journal and patent literature of chemistry. This database combines the content formerly found in Beilstein and Gmelin.

ReferenceUSA
Directory with US private and public company reports. Also includes household data.

RefWorks
Never type a bibliography again! RefWorks will help you easily gather, manage, and store bibliographic citations for all types of information, as well as generate footnotes and bibliographies. Learn more here.

Regional Business News (EBSCO)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 80 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Religious and Theological Abstracts
An English language index of periodical literature produced with summaries of articles of various languages from scholarly journals in the fields of theology and religion covering Christianity, Judaism, and other world religions. Biblical, systematic, historical, and practical theology are some of the specific areas included.

RIA Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters)
RIA has federal, state and international tax codes, regulations, cases, and administrative rulings with explanations and commentary. Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.  Individual registration required for Villanova community members

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
The Roper Center is to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data; to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and around the world.

S
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale)
Offers digital access to books, pamphlets, serials, and other sources documenting the history of the Americas published worldwide from 1500 to the early 20th century. Titles were selected based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

Sage Business Cases
Peer reviewed Sage Business Cases are designed to bring business to like in the classroom. They are searchable by topic, keywords, publishing partner and academic level. Many include teaching notes available to faculty. Scholarly sharing and interlibrary loan not permitted. Faculty contact linda.hauck@villanova.edu for Teaching Notes access.

SAGE Journals
SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 700 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 298 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.

SAGE Knowledge
SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. Hosting more than 2,700 titles, it includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including reference works, handbooks and more. The platform allows researchers to cross-search and seamlessly access a wide breadth of must-have SAGE book and reference content from one source.

Science Citation Index now Web of Science Core (Clarivate)
Do geneaology searches forwards and backwards for cited references. Subject searching also on Web of Knowledge. Coverage begins 1945 to present. Click for downloadable guide to cited reference searching.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Provides full-text access to roughly 4000 journals. (Includes access to Elsevier's book series, Progress in Brain Research)

SciFinder
Searches Chemical Abstracts PLUS (1907 - updated daily), CASREACT, REGISTRY files from Chemical Abstract Service and MEDLINE. You must create a personal login. Email Alfred Fry if you have problems.

Scopus (Elsevier)
Provides abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals in all major disciplines. Offers comprehensive coverage of the scientific, technical, medical, geographic and social sciences (including arts and humanities). Includes complete contents of GEOBASE multidisciplinary database.

Shakespeare in Performance: Prompt Books from the Folger Shakespeare Library
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries. (1) Authorised Users must comply with all applicable laws in using the Licensed Materials; (2) the Licensed Materials being supplied are only for the Authorised User's personal use; (3) reproduction or distribution of Licensed Materials that violates applicable law is prohibited (4) all Intellectual Property and other rights in the Licensed Materials is retained by the licensor

Short Story Index (EBSCO)
Provides a practical way to locate full-text short stories of all genres online. Short story collections and anthologies are indexed and made searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, date, literary technique, and source, or any combination thereof. Coverage is retrospective back to 1984.

Social Explorer
Create maps and download tables of U.S. Census & American Community Survey data from 1790 through the most recent available data. Social Explorer also offers access to a variety of other data sets, including U.S. election, health, crime, religion, & environmental data; UK Census 2011; Canadian Census 2011; selected Eurostat data (1990- 2014); and World Development Indicators (1960- 2013) from the World Bank.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, including the legal research network and political science network. You must have permission or rights to post content to SSRN

Social Sciences Citation Index/Web of Science
Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from the journal literature in the physical and social sciences. Search by article title word, journal title, author, cited author or reference, or address word (e.g. author's institution). Coverage begins 1956 to present.

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
Index to international, English language journals in psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.

Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
ProQuest Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Covers sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Journals published by sociological associations, groups, faculties and institutes, and periodicals containing the term "sociology" in their titles are abstracted fully.

Sports Market Analytics (formerly Sports Business Research Network)
Statistics, articles and reports on sporting goods, participation, fans and facilities.

SpringerLink
An integrated database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. Villanova has full-text access to more than 2,500 fully peer-reviewed journals and some books, including the Lecture Notes in Mathematics and Lecture Notes in Computer Science Series.

Stalin Digital Archive (Yale University Press)
Provides digital access to a selection of documents from the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History including Stalin's personal papers. Also features the complete Annals of Communism series published by Yale University Press. Scholars can create personalized workspaces, compare documents, save searches and documents, and define tags.

Statista
Portal for statistics and reports on countries, industries and product categories.

Statistical Insight (ProQuest)
Indexing and abstracting (with select full text from 2007) of statistical resources from U.S. state government, business and research institute statistical publications. Tables for U.S. government and business reports.

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
Offers short ebooks that synthesize information on important research or development topics in engineering and computer science. Villanova users have access to Collection One and Collection Two; if you browse by series you will see a green checkmark next to the titles you can access. These titles are also accessible via the library catalog.

T
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

Taylor & Francis ebooks
Offers full-text e-books in a variety of disciplines. To limit your search results to items that are available to the Villanova community, click "Show content I have access to" from your search results screen.

The Times Digital Archive 1785-2012 (Gale)
Provides a full-text, full-image, fully searchable facsimile of every page of the Times of London from its inception through about five years ago. The Times is the world's oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (University of California, Irvine)
Includes most literary texts written in Greek from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Byzantium (1453 AD). Users must create a profile in order to use the database. Click on the "register" link on the upper right to do so.

Translated Texts for Historians E-Library (Liverpool University)
Provides full-text English translations of historical sources from A.D. 300-800. Sources include histories, letters, annals, speeches, poems, church records, Christian treatises, and lives of saints. Volumes 1-64 are available online. Most titles are also available in print.

TRID Online (Transportation Research Board)
Offers references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings and journal articles in the area of transportation research. This is a free, publicly available resource, and does not include the library's "Find It" link in search results. To check for full-text access, use the Journal Finder link on the library homepage.

Trip Database
Provides access to evidence-based medical information in various formats: articles, images, videos, patient information materials, education courses, and news. This is a free, publicly available resource, and does not include the library's "Find It" link in search results. To check for full-text access, use the Journal Finder link on the library homepage.

U
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

U.S. Congressional Serial Set: 1817–1994 (Readex)
Provides full-text of all reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817-1994 (15th through 103rd Congresses). Documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses can be found in the American State Papers collection.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online (Gale)
Provides full-text access to formerly U.S. government classified documents from agencies including the CIA, FBI, Department of State, National Security Council, White House, and Department of Defense. Documents are added as they are declassified. Covers 1900-present.

United Nations Official Document System
Offers full-text access to born-digital United Nations documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries. Also contains selected scanned UN documents published between 1946 and 1993.

United States Bureau of Investigation Case Files (Ancestry.com)
Provides full-text access to case files from the U.S. government agency later known as the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) covering espionage during World War I, case files from German aliens who were politically suspect, and records pertaining to Mexican neutrality. Covers 1908-1922.

UpToDate
Offers evidence-based medical treatment guidelines, clinical images, calculators, drug information, and patient information sheets. All content is physician-authored. Instructions for installing UpToDate Anywhere on mobile devices.

V
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides information for investors on individual stocks and companies. Offers forecasting and historical information, as well as detailed financials, charts, and reports. Includes sorting, filtering (screening), graphing, and reporting functions.

Vault
Offers career, school, and industry guides; internship information and reviews; company rankings and profiles; and job search advice. (Previous title: Vault Online Career Library) Provided by the Villanova Career Center.

Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms (Grey House Publishing)
Presents an international directory of venture capital and private equity firms. Profiles include information about each firm's mission, industry and geographic preferences, portfolio companies, and more; also includes background information about each firm's executives.

Vetus Latina Database (Brepols)
Provides access to citations in patristic writings to the Old Latin (pre-Vulgate) versions of the Bible, searchable by biblical book, chapter, and verse. Includes images of the index cards on which Abbot Joseph Denk collected these citations in the late 19th century. Collected by the Vetus Latina Institut in Beuron, Germany.

Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository
Contains journal articles, research reports, datasets, dissertations, conference papers, and learning objects covering all areas of nursing. Works included are both published and unpublished. Open access; provided by the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International.

W
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (ProQuest)
Provides access to the Wall Street Journal via the ABI/INFORM Complete database (1984-present). The WSJ is also distributed in print during the school year in Bartley Hall. For access to WSJ.com VSB (only) students may register for access via the Clay Center (kathy.mongiello@villanova.edu) or VSB Graduate Programs (mailto:VSBgradstudents@villanova.edu).

WARC
Offers information on global advertising and marketing trends including case studies, articles, reports, opinion pieces, and expenditure data. (Previous title: World Advertising Research Center)

Washington Post Historical: 1877- (ProQuest)
Contains the full text of all Washington Post and Washington Post/Times-Herald title variations, from 1877 until seventeen years ago. For more recent Washington Post articles, see Nexis Uni (1977 - present).

Web of Science (Clarivate)
Provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceeding Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. Search for scholarly articles in any discipline, or for articles that cite a known author or work. Coverage varies.

Wiley Online Library
Provides access to Wiley publications covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Villanova has full-text access to many of the journals.

Women Writers Online (Northeastern University - Women Writers Project)
Offers a full-text collection of works in English by pre-Victorian women writers. Covers a variety of genres and topics. All texts were originally published between 1526 and 1850.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online (Johns Hopkins)
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, as well as theatrical productions, reviews of productions and other material related to Shakespeare published or produced from 1960 to the present, with coverage continuing to extend forward and backward in time.

WorldCat (OCLC)
Presents a combined catalog of the catalogs of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. WorldCat highlights publications available at Villanova University. Other items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form. WorldCat Step-by-Step is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
Offers a data research platform for business datasets including AuditAnalytics, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CBOE, Option Metrics, Risk Metrics, TAQ, TRACE, and Thomson Reuters 13f. Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff. Access and registration approved by James Jablonski of the Finance Lab.

Z
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | Top

Zoological Record (Clarivate)
Indexes the international literature of animal biology and biodiversity. Also provides an authoritative record of taxonomy; use it to trace taxonomic names and changes to names and classification. Covers 1864 to the present. Clarivate offers a User Guide and tutorial videos for this resource.

 


Last Modified: 2017-07-26 15:04:14