Psychological and Brain Sciences

Provides abstracts and indexing to journals, books, book chapters, technical reports and dissertations in all areas of psychology. This database is produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). International in scope; coverage is from 1887 to the present.

Offers complete full text content of every issue of every journal published by the American Psychological Association from inception to the present. Also includes journal articles from the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber.

Includes the full text of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), content from several psychiatric journals and textbooks, self-assessment tools, medication information handouts, and more. Also includes American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines in both comprehensive and quick-reference formats.

Indexes core journals in the social sciences. Provides information on citing and cited references for each article. Search by article title word, journal title, author, cited author or reference, address word (i.e., author's institution), or funding agency. Covers 1956 to the present.

Provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceeding Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. Search for scholarly articles in any discipline, or for articles that cite a known author or work. Coverage varies.

Find journals annually synthesizing current developments, advances and trends in multiple disciplines.

Annual Reviews Special Article Collections are interdisciplinary collections of articles covering diverse themes.These collections are freely available in support of the progress of science and the benefit of society.

Indexes academic journals in the life sciences and biomedical fields. Covers pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Coverage goes back to 1924. Formerly known as Biological Abstracts.

Provides access to a wide range of academic business journals and trade magazines. Topics include management, marketing, finance, economics, and management information systems. Full text access may be embargoed for up to three years. Coverage goes back to 1965.

Offers systematic reviews of healthcare interventions in support of evidence-based practice. Includes systematic reviews and methodology reviews, abstracts of reviews of effects, a central register of controlled trials, a methodology register, health technology assessments, and NHS economic evaluations.

Provides a worldwide, online community for research in all areas of cognitive science, following the model of other subject matter networks within SSRN.

Offers streaming video collections for the study of counseling, psychology, psychotherapy, and social work. Includes counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, interviews, and teaching and discussion guides.

Provides citations, abstracts, and full text, when available, of dissertations and theses from 1743 to the present.

Indexes and abstracts education journals, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, books, and Department of Education (ED) research reports. References for ED research reports often have links to the full text. Coverage goes back to 1966. The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

Indexes and abstracts academic journal and magazine articles, conference proceedings, books, and theses covering all aspects of the study of languages. Also includes works in languages other than English. Coverage extends back to the early 1970s.

Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in selected disciplines. Villanova University has access to the following bibliographies: African American Studies, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Environmental Science, Geography, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Management, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Renaissance and Reformation, and Victorian Literature.

Provides digital access in selected disciplines. Each handbook introduces and surveys the state of scholarship in a field of study through review articles written by leading subject specialists. Articles review key issues and debates and set the agenda for new research. Villanova University does not have access to the complete collection. Access print handbooks through the Library's print collection and/or interlibrary loan services.

Offers peer-reviewed topical introductions and literature reviews written by well-regarded authorities. Available in selected subject areas. New topics are regularly added.

Contains complete runs of 78 journals in psychoanalysis, plus a collection of classic books, including the standard edition of Freud's works. A three- or five-year moving wall applies to most journal content.

A free preprint service designed to facilitate rapid dissemination of psychological research; allows scholars to post pre-prints of their work at no cost.

Offers streaming video with synchronized transcripts of psychotherapy demonstrations. Sessions are unscripted and feature professional therapists working with individuals, couples, and families. A wide variety of therapy techniques are featured.

This second revised ed., 2020 guidebook provides 20 ways to use the APA PsycTherapy database, including exercises and advice on how to incorporate video into classes on psychopathology, personality theory, and psychotherapy theory, among others, as well as ways to use it in clinical supervision, empathic training, and psychotherapy researcher training.

Offers indexing of journal articles and books in all areas of biomedicine. Worldwide coverage with an emphasis on English-language peer-reviewed journals. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and currently maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Provides full text access to thousands of journals in the sciences, engineering, and the social sciences and humanities.

Provides citations and abstracts to peer-reviewed journals, books, and conference proceedings in all major disciplines. Provides information on citing and cited references for each article.

Offers abstracting and full text of working papers in a variety of social science fields. Composed of several specialized research networks, SSRN promotes rapid dissemination of early research results.

Indexes and abstracts journals in many social science fields. Provides full text access to selected titles from 1972 to the present.

Provides access to journals, books, protocols, reference works, and book series in all academic disciplines published by Springer.

Provides access to evidence-based medical information in various formats: articles, images, videos, patient information materials, education courses, and news.
This is a free, publicly available resource and does not include the Library's "Find It" link in search results. To check for full text access, use the Journal Finder link on the library homepage.

More than 25,000 authoritative entries across 90 subfields of psychology.

Contains full-text writings of eminent psychologists.Classics in the History of Psychology is an effort to make the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web. There are now over 25 books and about 200 articles and chapters on-line. CHP is no longer adding documents to the website.

Coverage encompasses the definition of creativity, the development and expression of creativity across the lifespan, the environmental conditions that encourage or discourage creativity, creativity within specific disciplines, the relationship of creativity and mental health, intelligence, and learning styles, and the process of being creative.

The Encyclopedia is designed to be an introduction to the topics of I/O psychology for an audience including undergraduate students, beginning graduate students of I/O psychology and related disciplines, lay audiences seeking a nontechnical description of the field and its practices, practitioners wishing to stay abreast of the changes and updates in the field, and even the PhD-level academic seeking a portal into a new specialty area. It should also be noted that although the Encyclopedia is designed to be comprehensive in its coverage of topics, it is not meant to provide comprehensive treatments of any given topic.

This surveys the entire range of thinking in psychology from ancient times to the present, encompassing philosophies and theories of mind that pre-date our modern conception of psychology as a science, and extending to the current findings of neuroscience.

Covers cognitive, biological, social and emotional aspects of human change across the life span. The chapters written by scholars range from the development of mental processing to developing civic engagement within a civic context.

This interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia an invaluable resource not only for linguistics but also for scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.

26 volumes
1st floor, Falvey Library: H41.I58 2001

Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in selected disciplines. Villanova University has access to the following bibliographies: African American Studies, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Environmental Science, Geography, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Management, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Renaissance and Reformation, and Victorian Literature.

Provides digital access in selected disciplines. Each handbook introduces and surveys the state of scholarship in a field of study through review articles written by leading subject specialists. Articles review key issues and debates and set the agenda for new research. Villanova University does not have access to the complete collection. Access print handbooks through the Library's print collection and/or interlibrary loan services.

Peer-reviewed and regularly updated, this encyclopedia is part of the larger collection of selected Oxford Research Encyclopedias (Oxford University Press) subscriptions at Falvey Library - http://ezproxy.villanova.edu/login?URL=http://oxfordre.com/

Peer-reviewed and regularly updated, this encyclopedia is part of the larger collection of selected Oxford Research Encyclopedias (Oxford University Press) subscriptions at Falvey Library - http://ezproxy.villanova.edu/login?URL=http://oxfordre.com/

Peer-reviewed and regularly updated, this encyclopedia is part of the larger collection of selected Oxford Research Encyclopedias (Oxford University Press) subscriptions at Falvey Library - http://ezproxy.villanova.edu/login?URL=http://oxfordre.com/

Offers peer-reviewed topical introductions and literature reviews written by well-regarded authorities. Available in selected subject areas. New topics are regularly added.

Includes the full text of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), content from several psychiatric journals and textbooks, self-assessment tools, medication information handouts, and more. Also includes American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines in both comprehensive and quick-reference formats.

Provides full text access to encyclopedias and handbooks in the social sciences, as well as selected ebooks. All content is published by SAGE Publications.

Provides digital access in selected disciplines. Each handbook introduces and surveys the state of scholarship in a field of study through review articles written by leading subject specialists. Articles review key issues and debates and set the agenda for new research. Villanova University does not have access to the complete collection. Access print handbooks through the Library's print collection and/or interlibrary loan services.

Presents a combined catalog of the catalogs of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. WorldCat highlights publications available at Villanova University. Other items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.

Offers evaluations of tests and assessments in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling, and management. In addition to test reviews, descriptions are provided of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author, and publisher for listed tests.

Indexes measurement instruments including information about questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, and tests in the health fields, psycho-social sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Coverage extends back to 1985.

GEM is an interactive website containing behavioral, social science, and other scientific measures organized by theoretical constructs. GEM enables researchers to collaborate with others, encourages the use of common measures, and facilitates the sharing of harmonized data.

Provides citations, abstracts, and full text, when available, of dissertations and theses from 1743 to the present.

An index to tests and measurement tools used in psychology, sociology, health, marketing, management, and so on, that may be found in one or more reference resources. This index was originally created to help students who are writing academic papers. Each entry contains: test title, test acronym, copyright or publication date(s), author(s), and source citation. Copyright permission is NOT provided for use or reproduction of the instruments, neither here nor usually in the print resource. Contact the copyright holder of the measure for these permissions.

Literature reviews are data-gathering activities leading to a final synthesis of results. You may need to conduct a literature review to:

• Justify funding or identify funding sources
• Degree requirements
• Describe and explain current knowledge to guide professional practice
• Identify effective and development methods
• Identify experts in the field or new sources of information
• Personal research

Adapted from: Fink, A. (2014). Conducting research literature reviews: From the Internet to paper (4^th ed.). Los Angeles, CA: SAGE.

The Literature Review: A Few Tips on Conducting It - the University of Toronto offers its best advice to students and writers. (PDF guide)

APA style & grammar guidelines, not a complete manual.

This guide is designed to provide you with assistance in citing sources when writing an academic paper. There are several different styles which format information differently. The citation style generally depends on the academic discipline involved.

The Villanova Writing Center provides a comfortable atmosphere for your one-to-one session with a qualified tutor. Bring your paper, assignment, and an open mind and we'll do our best to help you improve your writing. Feel free to use our online resources, writing guide or 30-Minute Workshop handouts. The Writing Center is located in room 210 Falvey Library, and you can book an appointment using our appointment scheduler.

Free Citation management tool supported by the Library

ZoteroBib is a website where you can create a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.

Provides an infrastructure for the promotion of open-science workflows and the sharing of neuroscience data.

OpenNeuro provides a free open source platform for storing and sharing neuroimaging data.

Offers systematic reviews of healthcare interventions in support of evidence-based practice. Includes systematic reviews and methodology reviews, abstracts of reviews of effects, a central register of controlled trials, a methodology register, health technology assessments, and NHS economic evaluations.

Provides access to evidence-based medical information in various formats: articles, images, videos, patient information materials, education courses, and news.
This is a free, publicly available resource and does not include the Library's "Find It" link in search results. To check for full text access, use the Journal Finder link on the library homepage.

Representing a variety of fields related to sound the Society's purpose is to generate, disseminate, and promote the knowledge and practical applications of acoustics.

The Association's purpose is to promote the understanding and prevention of suicide and support those who have been affected by it.

APA aspires to excel as a valuable, effective and influential organization advancing psychology as a science. The core values that guide our mission include pursuit of excellence, knowledge, diversity and ethical action.

A national organization comprised of educators, students, doctors, politicians, scientists, health and social workers, activists - anyone who shares humanistic values and wants to make a difference.

APS seeks to promote, protect, and advance the interests of scientifically oriented psychology in research, application, teaching, and the improvement of human welfare.

AWP is a diverse feminist community of psychologists and allied professionals invested in the integration of personal, professional, and political power in the service of social justice.  They challenge unexamined privilege and dominant discourses that marginalize and oppress within psychology and the wider society. AWP accomplishes this by promoting feminist scholarship, teaching, practice, and networking, and through mentoring, activism, and influencing public policy.

ABPsi sees its mission and destiny as the liberation of the African Mind, empowerment of the African Character, and enlivenment and illumination of the African Spirit.

The Canadian Psychological Association (CPA) is the national association for the science, practice and education of psychology in Canada and is Canada's largest association for psychology.

CMPS has as its mission to establish a psychoanalytic training institute, develop standards for psychoanalytic education, promote and advance psychoanalysis, maintain a center for psychoanalytic research, publish modern psychoanalytic writing and research, develop advanced programs of study in psychoanalysis, and provide an ongoing faculty development program.

Located at the University of Akron, the Center, cares for, provides access to, and interprets the historical record of psychology and related human sciences. It is also home to the Archives of the History of American Psychology - comprised of artifacts, media and documents, including the personal papers of many important psychologists.

Formed to encourage research and education in the field of behavioral neuroscience IBNS consists of scientists, clinicians, teachers, and others with a background and interest in the relationship between brain and behavior.

Named in honor of the Swiss developmentalist, Jean Piaget, the Society's aim is to provide an open forum, through symposia, books, their journal, and other publications, for the presentation and discussion of scholarly work on issues related to human knowledge and its development.

Membership organization of professional social workers that works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance sound social policies.

More than 25,000 authoritative entries across 90 subfields of psychology.

The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.

Contains full-text writings of eminent psychologists.Classics in the History of Psychology is an effort to make the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web. There are now over 25 books and about 200 articles and chapters on-line. CHP is no longer adding documents to the website.

Provides a worldwide, online community for research in all areas of cognitive science, following the model of other subject matter networks within SSRN.

From the CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) and the NCHS (National Center for Health Statistics), FastStats provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

The physical collection, consisting in its entirety of 48,600 items, is located in the Library of Congress Manuscript Division and is organized in ten series. The collection material is mostly in German, with some English and French.

Ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults, conducted at the University of Michigan.

Blog by Dr. Victoria Williamson is an authority on the psychology of music; how music is processed by the brain and the ways in which music impacts on our minds and behaviours. She is a Lecturer in Music Psychology at the University of Sheffield (UK) and author of ‘You Are The Music' (Icon Books).

One of the 27 units making up the National Institute of Health, the federal government's principal biomedical and behavioral research agency. Among its areas of interest are aging, autism, child abuse and neglect and women's mental health.

Provides links to psychology and social science journals on the web.

"This web site is designed to assist researchers and students who want an easy way to perform random sampling or assign participants to experimental conditions. Research Randomizer can be used in a wide variety of situations, including psychological experimentation, medical trials, and survey research."

"The agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation." Includes topics, data and some publications.

Indexes the reviews of tests from the various editions of the Mental Measurements Yearbook (call number REF Z5814.P8B932)

This is an information resource for central nervous system imaging which integrates clinical information with magnetic resonance (MR), x-ray computed tomography (CT), and nuclear medicine images.

Interlibrary loans are only available for books and journals which are not owned by Falvey. The EZBorrow service can be used for books which the library owns, but which are currently checked out. EZBorrow books are provided by a local library network and tend to arrive faster than interlibrary loans.

Use this link to locate journals or specific articles that may be available via Falvey Library.