Accounting Standards
FASB Financial Accounting Standards Board
Offers basic access to standards codifications with many other updates & exposure drafts
[Details]
FASB Accounting Standards Codification Professional View
Student access to the professional view with enhanced search and cross reference features is managed by the Accounting Dept. "The Codification is the single source of authoritative nongovernmental U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (US GAAP)."
[Details]
GASB Governmental Accounting Standards Board
Register for access to the Government Accounting Research System. Summary and status of GASB Statements, Concept Statements and Interpretations with full text of Exposure Drafts for comment.
[Details]
International Accounting Standards Board
Summaries of Standards and Interpretations (International Financial Reporting Standards/IFRS) issued by the IASB available here.
[Details]
Public Company Accounting Oversight Board
"The PCAOB is a private sector, non-profit corporation, created by the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 to oversee the auditors of public companies in order to protect the interests of investors and further the public interest in the preparation of informative, fair and independent audit reports."
[Details]
RIA Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters) Limitations on Use Access Instructions
Includes federal, state, local, and international tax codes, regulations, cases, and administrative rulings with explanations and commentary. Also offers news alerts and a tax thesaurus.
[Details]
SEC
Securities & Exchange Commission accounting releases include Staff Accounting Bulletins on disclosure for public companies, Accounting and Auditing Enforcement Releases (also called Litigation Releases).
[Details]
The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)
A resource dedicated to the accounting profession. Some features are restricted to members. Professional Resources tab provides links to the text of AICPA accounting and auditing standards as well as a wealth of additional professional information.
[Details]
Offers basic access to standards codifications with many other updates & exposure drafts
[Details]
FASB Accounting Standards Codification Professional View
Student access to the professional view with enhanced search and cross reference features is managed by the Accounting Dept. "The Codification is the single source of authoritative nongovernmental U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (US GAAP)."
[Details]
GASB Governmental Accounting Standards Board
Register for access to the Government Accounting Research System. Summary and status of GASB Statements, Concept Statements and Interpretations with full text of Exposure Drafts for comment.
[Details]
International Accounting Standards Board
Summaries of Standards and Interpretations (International Financial Reporting Standards/IFRS) issued by the IASB available here.
[Details]
Public Company Accounting Oversight Board
"The PCAOB is a private sector, non-profit corporation, created by the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 to oversee the auditors of public companies in order to protect the interests of investors and further the public interest in the preparation of informative, fair and independent audit reports."
[Details]
RIA Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters) Limitations on Use Access Instructions
Includes federal, state, local, and international tax codes, regulations, cases, and administrative rulings with explanations and commentary. Also offers news alerts and a tax thesaurus.
[Details]
SEC
Securities & Exchange Commission accounting releases include Staff Accounting Bulletins on disclosure for public companies, Accounting and Auditing Enforcement Releases (also called Litigation Releases).
[Details]
The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)
A resource dedicated to the accounting profession. Some features are restricted to members. Professional Resources tab provides links to the text of AICPA accounting and auditing standards as well as a wealth of additional professional information.
[Details]
Articles
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) Business Source Premier (EBSCO) International Accounting Bulletin Nexis Uni Limitations on Use RIA Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters) Limitations on Use Access Instructions Scopus (Elsevier) Web of Science (Clarivate) Tutorial Video
HSTalks: The Business & Management Collection LinkedIn Learning O'Reilly for Higher Education Tutorial Access Instructions Books
Falvey Library Catalog (Books & Media)Use the online check off to limit to ebooks.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)Find books held in research collections around the word.
Creating Citations
Academic integrity guidelines mandate the attribution of sources used in written work. Commonly scholarly academic writers use the American Psychological Association (APA). The complete APA Style Manual is not available online, but you can link to reliable aids listed below.
The citation management softwares listed below help you generate and organize references, but are not a substitute for knowing the style. When you use them, verify the accuracy of the citations created. Databases such as ABI Inform have handy citation generation tools, but you should check their accuracy too.
APA Style Guide to Electronic ReferencesHow to cite electronic references according to APA 6th Style.
Purdue OWL: APA ZoteroFree Citation management tool supported by the Library
Company and Industry Databases
Audit Analytics Access Instructions
Provides access to data and information about public company audits, compliance, and governance.
D&B Hoovers
Offers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor, and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles, and analyst reports.
EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research, and analytics for developing markets.
GuideStar Pro
Provides detailed information about nonprofit organizations including IRS Form 990 with financial statements. Also offers self-reported information about programs and activities.
Partially funded by Villanova School of Business.
IBISWorld
Provides access to U.S. and global industry market research reports.
MarketLine Company Profiles (EBSCO)
Cover both U.S. and foreign companies in a wide range of industries. Typically reports are 15-20 pages and provide a description of the business, company history, key personnel, products and services and competitors.
Mergent Online Limitations on Use
Provides 15 years of detailed financial statements for international and U.S. companies. LIMITED TO 4 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.
Mergent Archives (Moody's Manuals, Annual Reports, SEC & Commodity Research Bureau)
Features the full text of all of Mergent / Moody\'s Corporate Manuals from 1909 to the present. Once you enter the database select the option for \"Corporate Manuals\" and begin your search. Access to current reports for 24 broadly defined industries. Portal for quick access to annual reports.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Contains information on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. Provides independent analysis, industry information, stock charts, portfolio building tools, and web-based educational tutorials.
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's Capital IQ)
Standard & Poor%u2019s NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industry trends, corporate activities, and investments.
Nexis Uni Limitations on Use
Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. Provides full text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies.
Plunkett's Industry Almanacs
Statista
Provides a portal to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Topics covered include industries, media, companies, product categories, and countries.
Value Line Investment Survey
Provides information for investors on individual stocks and companies. Offers forecasting and historical information, as well as detailed financials, charts, and reports. Includes sorting, filtering (screening), graphing, and reporting functions.
Provides access to data and information about public company audits, compliance, and governance.
D&B Hoovers
Offers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor, and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles, and analyst reports.
EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research, and analytics for developing markets.
GuideStar Pro
Provides detailed information about nonprofit organizations including IRS Form 990 with financial statements. Also offers self-reported information about programs and activities.
Partially funded by Villanova School of Business.
IBISWorld
Provides access to U.S. and global industry market research reports.
MarketLine Company Profiles (EBSCO)
Cover both U.S. and foreign companies in a wide range of industries. Typically reports are 15-20 pages and provide a description of the business, company history, key personnel, products and services and competitors.
Mergent Online Limitations on Use
Provides 15 years of detailed financial statements for international and U.S. companies. LIMITED TO 4 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.
Mergent Archives (Moody's Manuals, Annual Reports, SEC & Commodity Research Bureau)
Features the full text of all of Mergent / Moody\'s Corporate Manuals from 1909 to the present. Once you enter the database select the option for \"Corporate Manuals\" and begin your search. Access to current reports for 24 broadly defined industries. Portal for quick access to annual reports.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Contains information on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. Provides independent analysis, industry information, stock charts, portfolio building tools, and web-based educational tutorials.
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's Capital IQ)
Standard & Poor%u2019s NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industry trends, corporate activities, and investments.
Nexis Uni Limitations on Use
Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. Provides full text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies.
Plunkett's Industry Almanacs
Statista
Provides a portal to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Topics covered include industries, media, companies, product categories, and countries.
Value Line Investment Survey
Provides information for investors on individual stocks and companies. Offers forecasting and historical information, as well as detailed financials, charts, and reports. Includes sorting, filtering (screening), graphing, and reporting functions.
Laws
HeinOnlineFederal legislative histories and current regulations
[Details]
[Details]
Nexis Uni Limitations on UseFormerly known as LexisNexis Academic. Provides full text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies.
[Details]
[Details]
RIA Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters) Limitations on Use Access InstructionsIncludes federal, state, local, and international tax codes, regulations, cases, and administrative rulings with explanations and commentary. Also offers news alerts and a tax thesaurus.
[Details]
[Details]
Financial Statements & Norms
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios REF HF5681.R25 T68
[Details]
Annual Statement Studies REF HF5681.B2R6
[Details]
Audit Analytics Access Instructions
Provides access to data and information about public company audits, compliance, and governance.
[Details]
D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios REF HF5681.R25 I533
[Details]
Mergent Online Limitations on Use
Provides detailed financial statements for U.S. and international public and private companies, including SEC filings and current and historical annual reports for U.S. and international public companies. Data can be downloaded in a variety of formats. Also includes country profiles.
[Details]
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Contains information on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. Provides independent analysis, industry information, stock charts, portfolio building tools, and web-based educational tutorials.
[Details]
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's Capital IQ)
Offers market information, company quotes, equity index information, industry information (including the S&P Industry Surveys), and economic data.
[Details]
D&B Hoovers
Offers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor, and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles, and analyst reports.
[Details]
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) Limitations on Use Access Instructions
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff. Access and registration approved by James Jablonski of the Finance Lab. Data research platform for AuditAnalytics, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CBOE, Option Metrics, Risk Metrics,
[Details]
[Details]
Annual Statement Studies REF HF5681.B2R6
[Details]
Audit Analytics Access Instructions
Provides access to data and information about public company audits, compliance, and governance.
[Details]
D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios REF HF5681.R25 I533
[Details]
Mergent Online Limitations on Use
Provides detailed financial statements for U.S. and international public and private companies, including SEC filings and current and historical annual reports for U.S. and international public companies. Data can be downloaded in a variety of formats. Also includes country profiles.
[Details]
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Contains information on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. Provides independent analysis, industry information, stock charts, portfolio building tools, and web-based educational tutorials.
[Details]
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's Capital IQ)
Offers market information, company quotes, equity index information, industry information (including the S&P Industry Surveys), and economic data.
[Details]
D&B Hoovers
Offers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor, and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles, and analyst reports.
[Details]
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) Limitations on Use Access Instructions
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff. Access and registration approved by James Jablonski of the Finance Lab. Data research platform for AuditAnalytics, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CBOE, Option Metrics, Risk Metrics,
[Details]