Books

Falvey Library Catalog
The Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Presents a combined catalog of the catalogs of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. WorldCat highlights publications available at Villanova University. Other items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)
Indexes print and electronic journal articles, books, essays, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.

Oxford Bibliographies (Oxford University Press)  Tutorial
Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in selected disciplines including art history.

E-ZBorrow and Interlibrary Loan
Use E-ZBorrow or interlibrary loan to request delivery of books not available at Falvey. Expect to wait for about a week.

Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
Over 2.4 million dissertations and theses.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

Articles

Art Full Text (EBSCO)
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.

JSTOR
Provides a full text archive of academic journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. The most recent three to five years of a journal are usually not included.

Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (EBSCO)
Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984 indexes art, art history and architecture journals published between 1929 and 1984.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest)
The single most important bibliographical research tool for research in architecture, urban design, historic preservation and urban planning history.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)
Indexes journal articles, books, essays, conference proceedings and exhibition cataloges. Covers European art from Late Antiquity to the present, American art from the European arrival to the present, and Christian and European art in Africa, Asia and Australia.

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers almost 700 journals in archaeology, art , classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.

Biographies

American National Biography Online (Oxford University Press)
Biographical resource on more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford University Press)
A reference work providing almost 60,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2009.

Dictionary of Women Artists

Who Was Who in American Art, 1564-1975

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects

Encyclopedias, Companions, Handbooks

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd ed.)
Features articles on major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts written by subject experts.

Grove Encyclopedia of American Art
Includes articles on all subject areas in American fine art including biographies of major artists, architects and patrons, architecture, painting, new media, photography, sculpture, installation art, performance art, new media art, art education, and more.

WikiArt: A Visual Art Encyclopedia
Features artworks by 3,000 artists grouped by movement, school, genre, medium, time period, nationality, and more. Includes related Wikipedia articles.

Oxford Bibliographies (Oxford University Press)  Tutorial
Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in selected disciplines including art history.

Visual Arts Research: A Handbook

Dictionary of Art

Art Museums of the World

Encyclopedia of Sculpture

Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering & Construction.

Images

Artstor (ITHAKA)  Tutorial  Access Instructions
ARTstor is a non-profit digital image library with high quality image files.

Getty Open Content Program
Features over 100,000 digital images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute.

Arts & Culture (Google)
Features online access to the world’s art and culture in collaboration with cultural institutions and artist from around the world. Explores individual artists, art movements, and much more.

WikiArt: A Visual Art Encyclopedia
Features artworks by 3,000 artists grouped by movement, school, genre, medium, time period, nationality, and more. Includes related Wikipedia articles.

Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed images, sound and video clips.

Museums

Metropolitan Museum of Art
Over two million works from ancient through contemporary works.

MoMA: The Museum of Modern Art
Exhibits modern art.

Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, NY.

Guggenheim Museum, New York, NY.

Philadelphia Museum of Art
Houses a world-renowned art collection. Features an online collection database with images of artwork from the collection.

Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts (PAFA)
Founded in 1805, the Academy is America's first school and museum of fine arts with a world-class collection of American art. A catalog of the collection with images of selected artwork is available online.

Penn Museum
Focuses on works from the ancient world (Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, and Rome). Includes artifacts from Meso-America, Polynesia, and Africa.

Brandywine River Museum, Chaddsford, PA.

Delaware Art Museum, Wilmington, DE.

Michener Museum, Doylestown, PA.

National Gallery of Art (Washington, D.C.)
Chronologically arranged collections of more than 110,000 works from the Middle Ages until the present.

Smithsonian, Washington, DC.
Smithsonian Museums include African Art Museum, American Art Museum, Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, Freer and Sackler Galleries, Hirshorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, and National Portrait Gallery.

Vatican Museums
Offers virtual tours and serves as the gateway to the Vatican's many museums including the Sistine Chapel.

Louvre, Paris, France

International Center of Photography (ICP), New York, NY.