Below are listed resources for locating academic and non-academic articles. Since ACS is a very interdisciplinary course covering a wide range of subjects such as philosophy, history, and literature, the databases below are large multi-disciplinary databases. For more focused, subject specific databases, look at the subject guides page on the library's website.

For detailed instruction on how to search the library's search engine for articles watch the video Falvey Memorial Library's Search Engine, Pt. 2 located on the bottom half of our search page.

ACS Interdisciplinary Databases

JSTOR
Provides a full text archive of academic journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. The most recent three to five years of a journal are usually not included.

ProQuest Central
Provides indexing and full text for thousands of scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and business information sources. Multidisciplinary in scope.

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
Provides citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of literature, language and linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore. International in scope; coverage from 1926 to the present. Includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)
Provides indexing and abstracts to the scholarly literature in philosophy. Includes citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and contributions to anthologies. International and interdisciplinary in scope; coverage is from 1940 to the present.