ACS courses will often introduce you to a wide variety of new ideas, concepts, events, beliefs and cultures. To gain a more thorough understanding of these new subjects, it is useful to consult a reference book such as a dictionary, encyclopedia, almanac, atlas, etc. Below is a list of the most comprehensive online reference resources available here at Falvey Library.

Reference Resources

Gale Virtual Reference Library  Tutorial
Offers access to a collection of digital encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories in the arts, social sciences, business, and sciences.

Oxford English Dictionary (Oxford University Press)
Contains the complete text of the second edition of the 20-volume Dictionary. Presents authoritative information on words in the English language, including their form, definition, history, pronunciation, and etymology. Approximately 1,000 new and revised entries are added on a quarterly basis.

Encyclopedia of religion
Second edition

Augustine Through the Ages: An Encyclopedia

All Things Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia of Shakespeare's World
2 volumes
4th floor, Falvey Library

Oxford Guide to People & Places of the Bible

New Catholic Encyclopedia (Gale)
Second edition + supplements

Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Gale)
The Encyclopedia contains more than 2,100 entries including 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought throughout history.. Among the many topics covered are African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more.