Sensitivity to the customs and practices of doing business in other countries is not new, but has never been more important to American business people. These resources should help to foster the intercultural competence necessary for global trade and multinational management.
Country Background Reports
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
Type the name of the target country, limit to document title and check document type country report.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Type country in search box and limit to publication type country report
Economist Intelligence Unit
Features a single unified platform delivering country and regional reports and comparable data for over 200 countries. Politics, economics, the business environment and sector and industries are explained and forecasts presented. The data tab delivers time series on national accounts, monetary, demographic, trade, employment, debt & spending indicators to name a few.
Global Edge
Global business knowledge site providing access to authoritative data from Michigan State University.
Mergent Online Limitations on Use
Use the country insight tab.
OECD iLibrary
Provides full text access to the books, periodicals, working papers, and statistical publications produced by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) since 1998. Also contains several statistical databases including Main Economic Indicators, International Trade by Commodity Statistics, and compendia of agriculture, education, environment, and social statistics.
OxResearch (Oxford Analytica; ProQuest)
Presents brief original articles on significant economic and political developments in countries and regions around the world; the analysis focuses on the impact of these developments on the business climate. Updated daily.
Passport (Euromonitor International) Limitations on Use
Select Economies tab, drill down to type of report (business dynamics, economy finance and trade, or sustainability) and country.
Political Handbook of the World (Sage/CQ Press)
Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
The World Factbook (CIA)
Provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Type the name of the target country, limit to document title and check document type country report.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Type country in search box and limit to publication type country report
Economist Intelligence Unit
Features a single unified platform delivering country and regional reports and comparable data for over 200 countries. Politics, economics, the business environment and sector and industries are explained and forecasts presented. The data tab delivers time series on national accounts, monetary, demographic, trade, employment, debt & spending indicators to name a few.
Global Edge
Global business knowledge site providing access to authoritative data from Michigan State University.
Mergent Online Limitations on Use
Use the country insight tab.
OECD iLibrary
Provides full text access to the books, periodicals, working papers, and statistical publications produced by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) since 1998. Also contains several statistical databases including Main Economic Indicators, International Trade by Commodity Statistics, and compendia of agriculture, education, environment, and social statistics.
OxResearch (Oxford Analytica; ProQuest)
Presents brief original articles on significant economic and political developments in countries and regions around the world; the analysis focuses on the impact of these developments on the business climate. Updated daily.
Passport (Euromonitor International) Limitations on Use
Select Economies tab, drill down to type of report (business dynamics, economy finance and trade, or sustainability) and country.
Political Handbook of the World (Sage/CQ Press)
Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
The World Factbook (CIA)
Provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Doing Business Guides
Guides to doing business are distinguished from country background reports to the extent that they focus on the requirements for and limitations to commercial activity.
Doing Business Guides
A to Z International Business
Offers country guides for doing business, reference materials relevant to importing, exporting and global business, and primers for understanding a range of topics related to international business.
Country Commercial Guides.
Country Commercial Guides (CCG's) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis. The CCG's were established by recommendation of the Trade Promotion Coordinating Committee (TPCC), a multi-agency task force, to consolidate various reporting documents prepared for the U.S. business community." Site contains data published prior to 2001. For data published after 2001, please visit the US State Department
Deloitte Taxation & Investment Guides
"The Taxation and Investment Guides are a first stop for investors wishing to gain a working perspective on the operating conditions and investment climate – including the legal, accounting and taxation framework."
Economist Intelligence Unit
Open EIU Viewpoint, Reports tab, select country, scroll to Regulatory Environment report.
UHY Doing Business Guides
"Prepared by UHY’s member firms, each ‘Doing Business’ guide covers country specific business information you need to consider should you wish to pursue business interests there".
Offers country guides for doing business, reference materials relevant to importing, exporting and global business, and primers for understanding a range of topics related to international business.
Country Commercial Guides.
Country Commercial Guides (CCG's) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis. The CCG's were established by recommendation of the Trade Promotion Coordinating Committee (TPCC), a multi-agency task force, to consolidate various reporting documents prepared for the U.S. business community." Site contains data published prior to 2001. For data published after 2001, please visit the US State Department
Deloitte Taxation & Investment Guides
"The Taxation and Investment Guides are a first stop for investors wishing to gain a working perspective on the operating conditions and investment climate – including the legal, accounting and taxation framework."
Economist Intelligence Unit
Open EIU Viewpoint, Reports tab, select country, scroll to Regulatory Environment report.
UHY Doing Business Guides
"Prepared by UHY’s member firms, each ‘Doing Business’ guide covers country specific business information you need to consider should you wish to pursue business interests there".
Business Etiquette and Communication
These digital sources are compendiums on cross cultural business communication.
- Sage Handbook of Contemporary Cross Cultural Management
- HBR's 10 Must Reads on Managing Across Cultures
- Hofstede Country Comparisons
- Kwintessential
To find books in the Falvey Library collection search the following subject terms in our Catalog and combine them with your target country. Most current books are digital.
business etiquette, intercultural communication, communication in management, business communication, negotiation in business, corporate culture.
News
In addition to the databases listed below, use the Bloomberg terminals in the Gemlich Lab for Financial Market or Falvey Library.
EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research, and analytics for developing markets.
[Details]
[Details]
Factiva (Dow Jones)Provides access to international, national and local news sources. Many different news media such as newspapers, magazines, wires, blogs and transcripts are aggregated in English and foreign languages. The content is current and archival. Industry, company and market profiles are also provided.
Financial Times Limitations on Use Access InstructionsProvides full access to the web edition which features the same content found in the print edition plus additional multimedia features, company tear sheets, interactive charting, a dictionary of financial terms, and recruitment tools. Digital access to the print edition is available via ABI/Inform and Nexis Uni.
Subscription courtesy of Villanova School of Business.
Subscription courtesy of Villanova School of Business.
Nexis Uni Limitations on UseFormerly known as LexisNexis Academic. Provides full text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies.
Latin America AdvisorThis daily new services offers summaries of political and economic developments of interest to firms operating in Latin America.
Access World News (NewsBank) TutorialProvides full text access to national and international newspaper articles and radio and television news transcripts. Many newspapers, including the Philadelphia Inquirer, offer full-image “page view” format. Includes user-friendly subject browse feature, as well as full text searchability. Coverage varies.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) Access InstructionsOffers access to all sections of the NYTimes.com website without monthly limits. Coverage from 1851 to present, with limited availability of articles from 1923-1980. For full text access to all NYT content except the most recent five years, use ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Subscription courtesy of the Provost's Office and Falvey Library.
Subscription courtesy of the Provost's Office and Falvey Library.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)Provides access to scholarly journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, and country- and industry-focused reports.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Provides access to a wide range of academic business journals and trade magazines. Topics include management, marketing, finance, economics, and management information systems. Full text access may be embargoed for up to three years. Coverage goes back to 1965.
Wall Street Journal Limitations on Use Access InstructionsOffers full access to all sections of the newspaper and WSJ.com website.
Access courtesy of the Villanova School of Business.
Access courtesy of the Villanova School of Business.
Foreign Industry Reports
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)Search by subject keyword or phrase or drill down to relevant NAICS or classification codes. Use the location field to identify the target market. Use the document type check off to limit to industry reports, market reports and market research. Offers reports published by BMI, Euromonitor and others.
D&B HooversOffers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor, and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles, and analyst reports.
EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research, and analytics for developing markets.
IBISWorldGlobal & China reports
Passport (Euromonitor International) Limitations on UseStart at the Industries tab, choose the relevant consumer product or service category, use the search tree to drill down to the specific category and select the geography. Categories are relatively narrowly defined, but limited to consumer goods and services.
StatistaProvides a portal to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Topics covered include industries, media, companies, product categories, and countries.
Trade
FITA - Federation of International Trade Associations
"The FITA Global Trade Portal, is the source for international import export trade leads, events, and links to 8,000 international trade (export import) related Websites."
Global Trade Alert
Monitors and reports on state actions impacting trade and foreign commerce.
IMF Direction of Trade
Provides statistics on trade flows.
UN Comtrade
Offers detailed global trade data.
World Trade Organization
Homepage of the World Trade Organization
"The FITA Global Trade Portal, is the source for international import export trade leads, events, and links to 8,000 international trade (export import) related Websites."
Global Trade Alert
Monitors and reports on state actions impacting trade and foreign commerce.
IMF Direction of Trade
Provides statistics on trade flows.
UN Comtrade
Offers detailed global trade data.
World Trade Organization
Homepage of the World Trade Organization