Research Literature
Some of the major subjects subsumed under the ESG umbrella include corporte governance, business ethics, social responsibility of business, risk managment, impact investing, stakeholder engagment, business & the environment, corporate sustainability, ethical investments, sustainable investing,
Sustainable Finance by Matthew Archer in Oxford Bibliographies
Nice introduction to the literature on ESG finance with links to primary sources.
Books & Media
Search for print and ebooks in our collection related to ESG
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Provides access to a wide range of academic business journals and trade magazines. Topics include sustainability, environmental performance and governance.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
Provides access to business scholarly & trade journals including ESG topics
Scopus (Elsevier)
Provides citations and abstracts to peer-reviewed journals, books, and conference proceedings in all major disciplines. Provides information on citing and cited references for each article.
Web of Science (Clarivate) Tutorial
Provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceeding Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. Search for scholarly articles in any discipline, or for articles that cite a known author or work. Coverage varies.
Reporting standards & Frameworks
ICMA (International Capital Markets Association)
Provides framework for sustainable bonds via their Green Bond Principles, Sustainability Bond Guidelines, Social Bond Principles and Sustainability Linked Bond Principles. Features a global database of sustainable bonds.
Value Reporting Foundation
Promulgates frameworks and standards for reporting on ESG for investors. Formed by a merger of the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) and International Integrated Reporting Council (IIRC).
GRI (Global Reporting Initiative)
Publishes global sustainability standards. Hosts a repository of sustainability reports from 1999-2020.
CDSB (Climate Disclosure Standards Board)
Publish a framework facilitating the incorporation of environmental information in financial reports.
DATA
Bloomberg Terminals in the Gmelich Lab for Financial Markets support screening for equities and news with the ESG function. Historical data available.
ISS (Institutional Shareholder Services) on WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) provides historical data on governance, and shareholder proposals.
Factset access via user name and password managed by the Gmetlich Lab for Financial Markets. See Activism/Governance tab, by Screening and Company/Screening. SASB dimensions and Truvalue Labs reported ESG by equity, but are not screenable factors.
sustainability investing
ISS (Institutional Shareholder Services) ESG offers granular screening for a wide range of factors from emissions to benefits and safety. Current, but not historical, scores related to ESG provided. Contact Linda.Hauck@villanova.edu or the Gmelich Lab for Financial Markets for access, seats limited.
Morningstar Investing Center
Includes articles and reports following trends in ESG investing. ETFs, mutual funds and equities assigned sustainability ratings and carbon metrics. Screening by ratings and metrics not offered.
ESG and Impact Investing Dossier (Statista)
Statistical summary of the ESG investing activity