Falvey Library :: Classical Studies

Basic Research Tools

Recommended Databases

Année Philologique: Bibliography of the Classical World (Brepols)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and theses relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations from 200 B.C. to roughly 800 A.D. Includes publications in many languages with abstracts in the major European languages. Coverage extends back to the early 20th century.

Bloomsbury Cultural History Collection: Antiquity
Provides access to eBook chapters, images of museum objects and other digital content. Search by keyword, use the interactive timeline, or explore the many topics covered. Such as: Social Institutions; Visual Arts and Material Culture; Religion and Belief; Literature and Performing Arts; Science, Technology and Medicine; Economics, Trade and Production; Gender and Sexuality; Politics and Conflict; Leisure and Consumption. Antiquity here is from before 500 BCE to 499.

Bryn Mawr Classical Review (Bryn Mawr College)
Provides open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of scholarly works in the field of classical studies. Coverage is from 1990 to the present.

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (Gale)
A source of wide-ranging critical opinion on early literature, this series contains excerpts from criticism through the ages on the works of philosophers, poets and playwrights, political leaders, scientists, mathematicians and writers from other genres. Students writing a term paper on an author, work, topic, theme or idea, will find this series a helpful first resource. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Entries feature biography and textual history, bibliographies of the writer's works, criticism and more. The titles of works are searchable. Reprints also available from Literature Resource Center.

Clavis Clavium (Brepols) Access Instructions
Provides essential information regarding authorship, authenticity, chronological and geographical contexts, manuscript transmission, and editorial history of early Christian, medieval, and Byzantine literature. It allows cross-searching of the Clavis Patrum Latinorum, the Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina, the Clavis Patrum Graecorum, the Bibliotheca Hagiographica Graeca, the Clavis Apocryphorum Veteris Testamenti, and the Clavis Apocryphorum Novi Testamenti. New content added when it becomes available from the publisher.

Gnomon Biblographic Database
Contains monograph studies, anthologies, articles in periodicals, reviews, and encyclopedias in various languages that can be searched with a comprehensive and multilingual thesaurus.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journals, magazines, and book reviews in the humanities and social sciences published between 1907 and 1984.

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts academic journals, magazines, and book reviews in the humanities. Includes abstracts and selected full text. Coverage extends back to 1984.

JSTOR
Provides a full text archive of academic journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. The most recent three to five years of a journal are usually not included.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Provides citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of literature, language and linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore. International in scope; coverage from 1926 to the present. Includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

Project Muse
Provides full-text access to books and journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

TOCS-IN (University of Toronto)
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies and Religion journals. Covers published works from 1992-present.

Limitations on Use:
• Users may not use or permit the use of the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (“TLG”) materials by any form of remote or telecommunications access other than that provided by the TLG and its servers. Off-campus access is permitted with VU log-in credentials.
• Users may not under any circumstances download, print, make copies of and/or distribute the TLG materials.
• Users may not make back-up or archival copies of the TLG materials.
• Users may not use robots, spiders, or intelligent agents to access, search and/or systematically download any portion of the TLG materials.
• Users may not allow use of the TLG materials by individuals who are not Villanova students, employees, or library visitors.
• Users may not modify, manipulate, or create a derivative work of the TLG materials without the prior written permission of TLG.
• Users may not use the TLG materials for commercial purposes, including but not limited to the sale of the TLG materials, fee-for service use of the TLG materials, or bulk reproduction or distribution of the TLG materials in any form.
Note: All of the above prohibitions and restrictions upon the use of the TLG materials apply equally to reformatted versions of the TLG materials whose data format has been modified to permit analyses on other data processing systems.

The TLG materials are intended for non-commercial scholarly use. Permissive use includes processing, investigation, and analysis of the TLG materials, provided such processing is not undertaken for purposes of producing a commercially published document which includes extensive portions of the TLG materials or which reproduces all or part of the TLG materials in a form differing from the original form primarily as a result of mechanical, electronic, or other manipulation.

Examples of permitted use are the following: searches for words and phrases; statistical analyses; the production of indices and concordances intended for use as intermediate tools by the scholar or scholarly team engaged in research into the data and not intended for wider distribution; and all other text processing and text manipulation activities which are clearly identifiable as scholarly research. Examples of uses which are not permitted are the publication of a Greek text from materials supplied by TLG if such text does not reflect the addition of significant value by the editor, the downloading and reformatting of the texts for redistribution, or the production of scholarly tools which consist primarily of a mechanical, electronic or other similar rearrangement of text and are intended for commercial publication and distribution.

Users are not restricted from publishing the results of scholarly investigation and analysis of the TLG materials. In any publication arising from the use of TLG materials, the author(s) shall acknowledge the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae as the source of the material which assisted the author(s)’s investigations and shall indicate that such material is copyrighted by TLG and the Regents of the University of California.

Maps & Greography Aids

Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (Harvard University)

Encyclopedia of Ancient History - Maps of the Ancient World (Wiley-Blackwell)

Fasti Online: Database of Archaeological Conservation

Fasti Online: Database of Archaeological Excavations

Fasti Online: Database of Archaeological Field Surveys

Historical Atlas of the Ancient World

Pleiades: Gazetteer of Ancient Places

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites via Perseus Project

Selected Videos

Ancient Arabia

Carthage and the Phoenicians

Cities Of Vesuvius: Pompeii & Herculaneum

Colosseum - Roman Death Trap

Excavating Pompeii and Herculaneum

Greek Art in the Vatican Museums

Herculaneum Uncovered, with Professor Wallace-Hadrill

Investigating The Past: Pompeii & Herculaneum

Pompeii: The Mystery of the People Frozen in Time

Roman Art in the Vatican Museums

Roman City by David Macaulay

The Etruscan Museum

The Hidden History of Rome

The Minoans

The Mycenaeans

Thera Santorini

Troy and Pergamum

Recomended E-Book Collections

Aufstieg und Niedergang der Römischen Welt (De Gruyter)
Aufstieg und Niedergang der römischen Welt (ANRW) / Rise and Decline of the Roman World is a 90 volume work of international cooperation in the field of historical scholarship. Organized as a handbook, ANRW is a survey of Roman Studies in the broadest sense, and includes the history of the reception and influence of Roman Culture up to the present time. Essays are in various languages. The work is divided into three parts: I. From the Origins of Rome to the End of the Republic II. The Principate III. Late Antiquity Each part consists of six systematic sections, which occasionally overlap: 1. Political History, 2. Law, 3. Religion, 4. Language and Literature, 5. Philosophy and the Sciences, 6. The Arts.

Brill's Companions to Classical Studies (Brill)
The companions cover a wide variety of subjects and persons from Classical Antiquity, and their reception in European culture. Each volume synthesizes the state of scholarship and introduces the reader to the sources. While most companions are available online, some are only available in print including the volume on Writings in Imperial Rome which features chapters on Vergil's geopolitics and Senecan political strategies.

Cambridge Companions Online (Cambridge University Press)
Provides access to the complete collection of Cambridge Companions, a series of authoritative guides to subject- or theme-based essay collections, written by leading experts. Areas covered include literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music.

Oxford Handbooks Online (Oxford University Press)
Provides digital access in selected disciplines. Each handbook introduces and surveys the state of scholarship in a field of study through review articles written by leading subject specialists. Articles review key issues and debates and set the agenda for new research. Villanova University does not have access to the complete collection. Access print handbooks through the Library's print collection and/or interlibrary loan services.

Religions of the Graeco-Roman World Online (Brill)
Provides access to content from a growing list of books in RGRW series. Also includes volumes from Studies in Greek and Roman Religion and Études Préliminaires aux Religions Orientales dans l'Empire Romain (EPRO).

Very Short Introductions (Oxford University Press)
Introduces a wide range of arts and humanities, STEM, and social sciences subjects. Written by experts for a general audience, each volume outlines key concepts and new research directions. Includes references and recommended readings.

Wiley Online Library
Provides full text access to Wiley publications covering life, health, and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.

Jump To

Classical Studies

Basic Research Tools

Recommended Databases

Selected Reference Resources

Lexicons, Vocabulary Tools & Grammar Aids

Primary Text Collections

Maps & Greography Aids

Selected Videos

Recomended E-Book Collections

Falvey's Classical Studies Journals List